We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great happy hour specials”
Review of Coco Blue - CLOSED

Coco Blue
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Creative Island-Inspired Cuisine. Fresh Local Seafood.COCO BLUE is passionate cuisine. That is how owners Nicole and Eric Horstmeyer describe the cutting-edge creations. The former Manhattanites decided their new home in the Islands could use a few restaurants that would make fellow foodies proud. Along with St. Thomas native co-owner Zack Zoller, they have done just that and then some.COCO BLUE delivers a total night-out package they like to call, "Experiental Dining." The sights, sounds, ambience, aromas, and marina front setting are chic, topped only by some of the most creative dishes on any island. If life is lived in the details, then long live COCO BLUE!“You only live once, but if you dine well, once is all you need.”
Rapid City
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great happy hour specials”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We stopped to have dinner at Coco Blue tonight but decided to sit outside and enjoy the happy hour specials instead. We ordered two drinks, a maki roll, calamari, ceviche, and the BLT roll and the bill came to $50 which is a bargain, especially for the quality of food. The atmosphere is very hip and elegant. My only complaint was that service was slow but in a way that is good. We are here on vacation, so what is the hurry!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank scullson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Coco Blue, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
It sounds like you really got the most out of our Happy Hour specials, and we appreciate you spending an evening with us here at COCO BLUE! Excellent choices and we're glad you loved the atmosphere. We apologize if the service seemed a bit slow, but we like your approach to vacation. Hopefully you thoroughly enjoyed your visit in St. Thomas, and we'd love to see you come by again should you ever return. Thank you for the great review!

Take care,

COCO BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    51
    23
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Coco Blue was delicious”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Our dinner at coco Blue was very delicious. We were hesitant at first but when we entered the doors we knew we were going to get great service. They were very attentive and knew what they were serving. The sushi was AWESOME! We also had the chicken and shrimp dish. The best meal of the week. The atmosphere was very elligant. Our waitress was very nice and answered all our questions. Thanks for the great experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kendra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Coco Blue, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We're glad you ignored whatever predispositions you had and decided to come in to see us, Kendra! We pride ourselves on making our guests feel completely welcome at COCO BLUE. It's flattering to hear that we served up your best meal on the island, and that's compliment we don't take lightly. We hope to see you again next time you're in St. Thomas. Thank you again for the excellent review!

All the best,

COCO BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“one of the best”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

i really enjoyed this restaurant. the waitress was sweet and very professional. she did an outstanding job! our food was amazing! our only complaint was the really rude group that was sitting close by. they were extremely rude to the friendly staff and acted like they were royalty. its amazing how some folks behave these days. anyway, this was a great place to wine and dine. make sure you stop at coco blue! we loved it so much we went twice!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank easyriderfm1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Coco Blue, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We can hardly ask for a better compliment than a return visit. Thank you so much for sharing that! It's great to know that you fully enjoyed your experiences here at COCO BLUE, and we'll always make sure that you do. Come back to see us again whenever you're in St. Thomas. We'll be happy to serve up another great experience.

Best regards,

COCO BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aspen
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Interesting Decor/ awesome vitals”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

In Red Hook, in the Mall, a small but interesting place, owned by Havana Blue, so if you go there first, you'lll get a coupon for 20% off. They have sushi that's out of this world, but other fish dishes are excellent. The quality and delivery is exquisite, you won't be disappointed. It's cold inside so bring a sweater. There are no views, no windows. But it is one of the best places in Red Hook

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Coco Blue, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thanks for checking out both of our locations, Jan! We appreciate you pointing out the discount we provide for doing so, and it's great to hear how much you enjoyed coming in to COCO BLUE. Providing the freshest fish is something we pride ourselves on, and it's wonderful to hear that it shows. See you next time you're in St. Thomas!

Take care,

COCO BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Beach, OR
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Slow, cold and expensive.”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Just returned from Coco Blue. Arrived at our 6:30 reservation. Left the establishment at 9:30. Pathetic. The fish must have been old because it was strong. The shrimp was excellent but the mahi mahi and sea bass were foul. By the time it arrived at the table we were in no mood to wait another 1.5 hours for them to replace it so we ate what we could. The desserts were actually outstanding so I give credit where credit is due. That was the only part of the meal that was acceptable. Hot tea was tepid, coffee cold and service was some of the worst I have encountered. If you want to waste a BIG bunch of money on an inferior meal, this is the place you need to go. There are many nice places to eat on St. Thomas so go somewhere else.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SBTraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Coco Blue, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
We'd like to first apologize that you didn't have the exceptional experience we're known for here. Please be assured that the fish we serve is as fresh as it can be, and we'd never serve anything less to our guests. In fact, we have a company wide policy that our fish is NEVER frozen. When our manager came out to your table, you told her everything was fine. Had you expressed your concern to her, she'd have done what she could to make this right for you—though we understand you didn't want to wait for replacements. We also spoke to your server about this. Had you mentioned that your tea and coffee were not as hot as they should be, we'd have gladly replaced them without question. This kind of experience is very rare for us, and we never want our guests to leave feeling like they wasted their time or money. If there's anything we can do to make this right for you, please don't hesitate to let us know. Our apologies.

Sincerely,

COCO BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coco Blue also viewed

 
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
 
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
Bolongo Bay, St. Thomas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing