We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow, cold and expensive.”
Review of Coco Blue - CLOSED

Coco Blue
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Creative Island-Inspired Cuisine. Fresh Local Seafood.COCO BLUE is passionate cuisine. That is how owners Nicole and Eric Horstmeyer describe the cutting-edge creations. The former Manhattanites decided their new home in the Islands could use a few restaurants that would make fellow foodies proud. Along with St. Thomas native co-owner Zack Zoller, they have done just that and then some.COCO BLUE delivers a total night-out package they like to call, "Experiental Dining." The sights, sounds, ambience, aromas, and marina front setting are chic, topped only by some of the most creative dishes on any island. If life is lived in the details, then long live COCO BLUE!“You only live once, but if you dine well, once is all you need.”
South Beach, OR
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Slow, cold and expensive.”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Just returned from Coco Blue. Arrived at our 6:30 reservation. Left the establishment at 9:30. Pathetic. The fish must have been old because it was strong. The shrimp was excellent but the mahi mahi and sea bass were foul. By the time it arrived at the table we were in no mood to wait another 1.5 hours for them to replace it so we ate what we could. The desserts were actually outstanding so I give credit where credit is due. That was the only part of the meal that was acceptable. Hot tea was tepid, coffee cold and service was some of the worst I have encountered. If you want to waste a BIG bunch of money on an inferior meal, this is the place you need to go. There are many nice places to eat on St. Thomas so go somewhere else.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SBTraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Coco Blue, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
We'd like to first apologize that you didn't have the exceptional experience we're known for here. Please be assured that the fish we serve is as fresh as it can be, and we'd never serve anything less to our guests. In fact, we have a company wide policy that our fish is NEVER frozen. When our manager came out to your table, you told her everything was fine. Had you expressed your concern to her, she'd have done what she could to make this right for you—though we understand you didn't want to wait for replacements. We also spoke to your server about this. Had you mentioned that your tea and coffee were not as hot as they should be, we'd have gladly replaced them without question. This kind of experience is very rare for us, and we never want our guests to leave feeling like they wasted their time or money. If there's anything we can do to make this right for you, please don't hesitate to let us know. Our apologies.

Sincerely,

COCO BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    51
    23
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cody, Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner menu”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I have been here about 5 or 6 times for happy hour before trying the dinner menu. Was so happy when i did! I had the sea bass and it was fantastic! I think it was the best meal i have ever had in a restaurant.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TombRaider25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Coco Blue, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thanks for spending many lovely evenings with us! It's great to hear that our Happy Hour specials encouraged you to finally give COCO BLUE a try for dinner. You certainly can't go wrong with the Sea Bass, and we're flattered that it was the best meal you've had from a restaurant! We hope you'll continue to visit us, either way. Thanks for the excellent review!

Best,

COCO BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Excellent and interesting. Also a fun place to dine nice servers. Easy trip from the Ritz. Best to enjoy the Ritz but dine elsewhere

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank liketoeatWestchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Coco Blue, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
It sounds like you figured out the perfect plan! Thanks for making the trip from the Ritz to visit us here at COCO BLUE. Providing a unique and memorable dining experience for you is a primary focus here, and it's fantastic to hear that we were successful. Come back to see us again for another enjoyable time should you return to St. Thomas. Thanks for your review!

All the best,

COCO BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unique, delicious food”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We went to Coco Blue to grab a light snack after a catamaran trip that served heavy appetizers. But the menu looked so good that we ended up ordering several things, and they were all great! We loved the flavor combinations and thought everything was delicious. Very unique menu and a much appreciated break from the norm of the island.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Coco Blue, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thanks for following a day on the water with a visit to COCO BLUE, Lauren! It's quite a compliment that our delicious options ended up encouraging you to order more than you expected. We're glad you loved everything. We'll be happy to provide an escape from normalcy any time you need it. We hope you find yourself back in St. Thomas again soon!

All the best,

COCO BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“I'm Cuckoo for Coco Blue!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

This was our second trip to Coco Blue, and it has officially become a part of our St. Thomas vacation itinerary. We had the sushi and the coconut chicken stuffed with plantains. The food was succulent. The presentation was impressive, and the flavor was outstanding. Our server was friendly, and the decor of the restaurant was clean, cool, and refined. The shades of blue, candles, starfish, video screens depicting turquoise waters meeting white sandy beaches, and Asian-style room partitions created a hip atmosphere that felt like part beach destination and part night club. There were indoor and outdoor eating options and a bar area in addition to the dining room. This is one of the gems of St. Thomas's Red Hook area. Give Coco Blue a try, and you, too, will want to return again and again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BaltoCityGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Coco Blue, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Love that review title. Top 5 titles of all time, for sure! Thanks for making it back to see us again. We're thrilled to hear that COCO BLUE is officially now on your St. Thomas itinerary. That's the kind of place we like to be. You completely encapsulate the feel of our atmosphere in your review, and we thank you for taking the time to share it with everyone. Here's to many more wonderful future visits!

Best,

COCO BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coco Blue also viewed

North Side, St. Thomas
Bolongo Bay, St. Thomas
 
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
 
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing