We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better places in St Thomas”
Review of Coco Blue - CLOSED

Coco Blue
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Creative Island-Inspired Cuisine. Fresh Local Seafood.COCO BLUE is passionate cuisine. That is how owners Nicole and Eric Horstmeyer describe the cutting-edge creations. The former Manhattanites decided their new home in the Islands could use a few restaurants that would make fellow foodies proud. Along with St. Thomas native co-owner Zack Zoller, they have done just that and then some.COCO BLUE delivers a total night-out package they like to call, "Experiental Dining." The sights, sounds, ambience, aromas, and marina front setting are chic, topped only by some of the most creative dishes on any island. If life is lived in the details, then long live COCO BLUE!“You only live once, but if you dine well, once is all you need.”
Oakland, California
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“There are better places in St Thomas”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Coco Blue is in a funky shopping center in American Harbor. The decor and tables and chairs are low end. The outdoor dining is on a walkway that is part of the shopping center. The food was average.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank erich802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Coco Blue, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We're really sorry to hear your description of our restaurant. This is quite a far cry from what we're used to hearing from our guests, and not at all the experience we try to create. We do welcome feedback from everyone, so if you'd like to provide more information to us, we'd be happy to hear what you feel we could improve. You can send us an email by going to: http://cocobluerestaurant.com/touch.html We welcome the opportunity to further discuss this with you. Our apologies if we disappointed you.

Sincerely,

COCO BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    51
    23
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Red Hook restaurant!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This was our first trip back to St Thomas after a 6 yr hiatus. The number of good restaurants at Red Hook has increased dramatically which means you don't have to do windy roads after a good bottle of wine when staying in the area. Christina is the go to server! Had skirt steak w/green chile mac and cheese the first time and the lobster w/green chile mac and cheese the 2nd time. Get the mac and cheese - you can switch out veggies.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank restonlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Coco Blue, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
A belated "Welcome back" to St. Thomas from us here at COCO BLUE! We're glad you chose us for a delightful dinner twice during your stay. It sounds like you made some great choices on both visits, and we'll pass your compliments on to Christina for taking excellent care of you. We hope to see you again, hopefully in less than 6 years!

Kindest regards,

COCO BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Around the corner from the Ritz, perfect place for Dinner + happy hour deals until 7pm”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My fiance' and I had dinner at CoCo Blue and found both the food and service exceptional. We started out at the bar and was having such a great time with the new bar tender from St. Louis, we decided have our meal there. She is really an asset to this restaurant!

Food ---> Must get the Sea Bass. Oh my, it was sooooo good.
We also did a few rolls and higher suggest the Happy deals until 7pm but the Sea bass was amazing! Also, the fried cheesecake was a sinful delight not to be missed.

Drinks --> Just have fun and trust the bar tender. Everything she made us was fantastic! They have many signature drinks including a blueberry mohito that are all great!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jasonf1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Coco Blue, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
It's great to hear that the service you received from our bartender encouraged you to stay for dinner! Thanks for checking us out and writing an excellent review. It sounds like you really took advantage of what we have to offer here at COCO BLUE, and we're glad you loved every bit of it (especially our Sea Bass!). Come back again any time you're in St. Thomas. We'll be happy to see you.

Kindest regards,

COCO BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Seaford By The Seashore”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at COCO Blue on our last night on St. Thomas (2/10/13). Friendly service by smiling, attentive and attractive waitresses. The mostly seafood menu items were prepared with a welcomed twist and tasty. Swordfish, fish tacos, whole crispy fish, seafood eggrolls, all good. I will return when next in St. Thomas or nearby St. Johns.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Coco Blue, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thanks for making sure you didn't leave the island without coming to see us, Steven! We're happy to hear that the service was top notch and that you enjoyed the unique COCO BLUE twists we add to our menu. We'd be thrilled to see you again any time you're back in St. Thomas or St. John. Thanks for the fantastic review!

Best regards,

COCO BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Last night in Paradise”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner here on our last night in St. Thomas. The drinks during happy hour were great (blueberry mojitos & coco loco). We had the very fresh serviche, swordfish, red snapper, fish tacos and stuffed chicken breast. The garlic spinach was good. And the Mac and cheese delicious. Desserts were amazing....pineapple upside down cake and the banana cheesecake were to die for......the only downside was no coffee :(
Service was very good. A great gastronomic experience!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OnTheRoad1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Coco Blue, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We're glad you made it in to see us before you left St. Thomas! Thanks for letting us know how much you enjoyed the experience here at COCO BLUE. You really gave our menu a solid sampling, and we're happy to have satisfied your sweet tooth, as well. Sorry about not having coffee, but rest assured we are addressing this right now and will have fabulous coffee to serve upon your next visit!
We're glad you still enjoyed everything, and we hope to see you again some time.

Kindest regards,

COCO BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coco Blue also viewed

 
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
 
Bolongo Bay, St. Thomas
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing