We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Little Place with A Great View”
Review of Latitude 18

Latitude 18
Ranked #41 of 267 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Latitude 18 is one of the last remaining true island, open air restaurant in St. Thomas. Come experience the rustic charm of this 25 year old landmark! The road is bumpy but would you rather go to a bad bar at the end of a good road or a GREAT bar at the end of a bad road? Latitude 18 sits on the edge of the azure ocean. We serve Caribbean and American cuisine! And the FAMOUS "Shark & Bake" Sandwich which was featured on the Food Network and is available ONLY at Latitude 18. Renowned for LIVE ENTERTAINMENT there's live music and dancing EVERY NIGHT OF THE WEEK! Latitude 18, THE LIVE MUSIC CAPITAL OF ST. THOMAS Latitude 18.....Great Food.....Live Music!!
Massillon, Ohio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun Little Place with A Great View”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

First let me start off by saying if you plan to go here, do not let the road (if you want to call it that) scare you off. I think it is part of the charm once you pull in and a nice story to tell your friends. The view is really nice and the food was pretty good. The Pain Killers were tasty and the place was fun. There was a band the night we went, can not remember their name, but they were ok. I really did not like the fact that they pulled a little girl from the audience and made her follow him around the patrons while he played a horn with her carrying a tip jar behind him. But it is the islands. This is a place you can go and just relax and not get dressed up. Lots of locals. I would go back again on my next visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HotWeatherGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jillian S, Owner at Latitude 18, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are happy you had a good time at Latitude 18 as we are working hard to keep improving. The band the night you visited was a state side band on a short Caribbean tour and the little girl was the band leader's daughter. She was helping her dad while enjoying a short tropical vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    162
    50
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Thomas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Caribbean-est bar/restaurant in the Caribbean”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Getting there is the best part. Unexpectedly great food. Great Shark Bite appetizers, Mahi Mahi Creole, and burgers. also some of the best plantains on the island. Amazing live music every single night (check out Flipswitch every Saturday).
Skip the touristy parking lot bars (Duffys?Ick) and try the real thing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob_K_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Off the road less traveled to a wonderful evening”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

What a breath of fresh air amidsts St. Thomas' same old Red Hook bar scene. A girlfriend and I visited Latitude bc we wanted to do something different than go to bars like we normally do- such a delight! Our server Amy was a total sweet heart, the escargot with blue cheese was a perfect starter, and the ribs were nice for 2 girls to split- garlic potatoes were a little dry, and ribs not super juicy but definitely tasty! Great ambiance and dining atmosphere outside! Do yourself a favor and stop by!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelberine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WOW !!!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Best place I've been in a long time... The food .... top notch. from the appetizers shark bites to the main course. sesame crusted tuna cooked to perfection. The live music what a bonus. Now how about the drinks?? AMAZING and with the best bartender TATTOO Rick the pain killer wizard. Well worth looking for

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buddy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Hands down favorite for live entertainment!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Went to Latitude 18 for drinks, dinner, and live entertainment by the Barefoot Davis Band last night. Whenever we are on island Latitude is the one place we must go! We chose last night becausethe band is a favorite of ours when on island, but entertainment any night is likely to be enjoyable. It truly has that laid back island vibe and the crowd is a fun mix of locals, boaters, and tourists. The food is very good and the latest owners are doing the best job we've seen over the years. Some nice improvements have been made to the space of late, but it still retains that quirky, funky, island vibe we enjoy so much. I enjoyed the yellowfin tuna I ordered, but the ribs on my husband's plate were lip smackin' good as well! Go to Latitude and you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhillyBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Latitude 18 also viewed

 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Latitude 18? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing