We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Jamaican”

Trenchtown Rock Jamaican Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #65 of 269 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Trenchtownrock Jamaican Bar and RestaurantHere is a place were locals and visitors alike can get a little taste of Jamaica in St Thomas. With dishes like Ackee & Salt Fish , Curry Chicken, Curry Goat , Jerk Chicken ,Jerk Pork and their amazing combination platters , like Jamaica Nice and thee Kingston Hot are delicious and fulling. With drink specials like the " Dutty Watta" , ice, gold and green Stop Light Shots, and Trenchtown Sunset, makes a must visit. Located downtown on backstreetHours : Mon-Thurs 11am-6pmFri-Sat 11am-8pmPhone 1 340 774 1996
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Real Jamaican”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This authentic place, just a few blocks back of the heavy tourist area of St. Thomas but well worth the search, is terrific. It has all the expected local delicacies (goat, chicken, salt fish, oxtail...) with the usual choice of side dishes. But what's unique about it is that as you sit there over lunch (not usually in a crowded restaurant) lots of local people are coming and going as they fetch their take-out food. Apparently, this is one of the prime local hangouts for really good meals. The booze was cheap, the food was less than half the price of the big tourist rip-off joints nearby, and the service was friendly and hospitable. As I think about it...I can taste those braised goat chunks in curry...

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank squash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    39
    7
    0
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty good, but wimpy jerk and slow service”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We had a chicken patty, and split a sampler with jerk chicken, jerk pork, saltfish and ackee, potato stuffing, peas and rice and sweet potatoes. I also had a Dutty Wata to drink- it may be my new favorite cocktail!

The patty was great. The jerk had no heat, which was disappointing, but the meat was good and well seasoned, even if not spicy. The rice and peas were the most flavorful we had on the islands, and I'm not sure whether it was the potato stuffing or the sweet potatoes, but they were basically rum raisin sweet potatoes. It was very tasty.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cocontom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend the jerk chicken wings. I had the platter and added rice and peas, mac 'n cheese and plantains. Friendly staff and delicious food!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
516 reviews
353 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 612 helpful votes
“Great Local Find!”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Just finishing our lunch and I wanted to write how much we enjoyed Trenchtown. I don't understand the handful of negative review that said the food was flavorless. They must have eaten at a different restaurant than us. We had conch fritters for an appetizer and they were very good! My wife had the whole fish fried (snapper) and I had the curry shrimp. For sides we had things like fungi (not mushrooms), plantains, and potato stuffing. They were all delicious, but I highly recommend trying the fungi and potato stuffing. Damion was our waiter and he was very friendly and helpful. A couple blocks off Main St, find it and give it a try!

Helpful?
1 Thank REVoigt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yummy Authentic Jamaican Cuisine in St. Thomas”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This was a delicious break from our hotel stay. We had the best rum punches...very comparable to those that I had in Jamaica. I had the curried goat, rice and peas, mac & cheese, and cabbage. Soooooo delicious!!! A must visit when visiting St. Thomas.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seaboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trenchtown Rock Jamaican Bar & Restaurant also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to Trenchtown Rock Jamaican Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing