We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Happy Hour deals”
Review of Amigos Dockside Cantina - CLOSED

Amigos Dockside Cantina
Price range: $7 - $17
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
green ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good Happy Hour deals”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We went to Amigos twice during the week of Sept. 14 to Sept. 21. First time ordered from Happy Hour menu. $3.00 tacos (very good fish tacos) and $4.00 margaritas. (also very good). The second time we went my husband got beef burrito, he said it was good. It came with rice and a black bean salad. I had grilled chicken enchiladas with the same sides. They were also good. Prices were fair for St. Thomas where everything is more than the U.S. This restaurant has a few outside tables and some inside. It is not air conditioned. They also gave you chips and salsa.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clsGreenOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    24
    20
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hit or miss on this one...”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Been here a few times to eat and had both good and bad experiences. The food is either great or terrible. However, I've never had a bad drink or bad service here. The bartenders and servers are always super friendly, so even though eating here can be a disappointment, I'll keep coming back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Solange G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lantana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bartender Magic at Amigo's”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Service and food were both very good. We visited several times during our last trip. Happy hour drink and food specials were good. $3 tacos are hard to beat. They were very good. Bill makes the place enjoyable and is the reason we kept going back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Service and food were both very good. We visited twice during our last trip. Happy hour drink and food specials were good. $3 tacos are hard to beat. They were very good. On our first visit, we were well past 6 pm and the waitress still honored happy hour prices. The beef tacos were quite spicy, which was cool for me but it would have been nice if the server had given us a heads up when my kids ordered them.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Livinlikepirates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“To say that the service was bad would be very kind.”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Walked in to amigos and quickly grabbed a seat with a great view! After sitting for 15 minutes without even being acknowledged, we finally were given menus by a guy wearing sunglasses indoors (a rather pungent smell coming from him that suggested why he was wearing the sunglasses). We were told he would be right back to take our order. He then proceeded to chat with another couple for another 15 minutes who he seemed to know as another couple came in and sat down. At this point I started chatting with the other couple. After 10 more minutes of still being ignored and after several attempts to get the attention of the long haired sunglass wearing waiter we all decided to find a better place to eat. The worst service I have ever experienced in a restaurant!!! I hope the management can remedy the problem because the view and breeze was amazing. The only good thing that came out of our experience there was we met a really great couple who left with us and hung out with for the rest of our vacation. Carl and Maria we miss you!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amigos Dockside Cantina also viewed

 
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
 
Bolongo Bay, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing