We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute place for drinks, don't eat here...not for families.”
Review of Big Bamboo Seafood Shack - CLOSED

Big Bamboo Seafood Shack
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cute place for drinks, don't eat here...not for families.”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This place looks cute...tiki bar right near the water. However the place was not very clean and the food was just average, the fish tacos were very good but the fish and chips were way too battered and fried in oil that tasted old. I ordered a mango mojito which cost $11 and was good but not worth the price..basically a regular mojito with a couple mango chunks thrown in served in a plastic solo cup. The atmosphere should have been nice but we felt like there were some sketchy transactions going on in plain view of the restaurant along the back boardwalk. The same guys were hanging around the whole time we were there. We wanted to go check out the view and the boats after dinner but ended up leaving quickly after we paid our overpriced bill.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    75
    20
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best made RUM drinks in Red Hook”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Ate here for dinner. Top notch rum drinks! I recommend the fish tacos and Conch fritters. Service was quick and atmosphere is fun!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would recommend”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The food was fantastic. I had the fish and chips and it was cooked perfectly. My daughter had the surf and turf and the steak had such a terrific flavor. Our waiter did a great job taking care of us and the view was awesome.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Psk88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Fun night”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We spent one evening here and had a fun night. The food was good and the drinks even better. Our waiter was hysterical. He made the average food seem much better!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sugarmag13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DETROIT, MI
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Should stop by for lunch!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stopped here randomly as we cruises around St. Thomas. It was so cute and I can never say no to a Tiki Bar, especially with food! The drinks were great and the burgers were delicious. We sat right at the bar and had a great time. The burgers were really delicious and the coleslaw was amazing! Yum!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuxeTraveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Bamboo Seafood Shack also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
North Side, St. Thomas
 
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing