We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“northside bistro - diner food”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Northside Bistro

Northside Bistro
Ranked #102 of 262 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“northside bistro - diner food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

long drive, had their famous prime rib - disappointed, calamari was ok presentation was poor -thrown together price medium - better places to go

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank strum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    31
    6
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gales Ferry
Level Contributor
201 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were finishing the Tree Limin Zipline tour and I asked one of the guides if there was a good place to eat nearby. He gave us this recommendation. He told us it was a casual local place. It was so much more. They have an extensive wine cellar and he even a small brewery on site. The ambience was just lovely. The food was very good. My daughter and I shared a crab cake appetizer, my wife had the potato crusted grouper, I had the almondine grouper special, and my daughter the cordon bleu. We all enjoyed our dinners. The portions were plentiful, so much so that we had to pass on the wonderful looking desserts. All in all a nice gem on the north side of St. Thomas.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DWS177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“"Disappointing"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We went to this restaurant for Valentine's Day with all intentions of having an awesome experience, however we were sorely disappointed. First, no mention was made when we were making reservations that a set menu would be set for Valentine's Day. We were not allowed to order from the regular menu. Disappoinment #1. And that would have been ok, IF the set menu was good, however the choices left much to be desired.
Disappointment #2! AND the dessert ( the main part of the meal) was a brownie with whipped cream (which was not enjoyed either). For $140- this meal was very disappointing!!!

Perhaps next Valentines Day, the restaurant will consider having two menus! the regular menu and the set menu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pauline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gem on the north side”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had a spectacular dinner here after a day of riding the nearby Ziplines, and quickly fell in love with this unassuming, out-of-the-way gem near Hull Bay. The service was excellent, the food fantastic, and the view amazing. Where else can you watch surfers coming in at sunset from atop a mountain while enjoying great cocktails, and extensive wine list, and a wide-ranging menu that runs from seafood to pasta to beef and poultry. This is one you need to try out if you are on St Thomas. It's a bit of a drive from the places closer to downtown and the port, but it's well worth the trouble--and the drive is beautiful anyway. Be sure to get there during daylight so you can take in the views.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank svanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best dinner on St Thomas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had 5 dinners on St Thomas and this was bar far the best food. I has duck Breast with risotto my wife had Grouper. We both had homemade blueberry cobbler for dessert. It was all excellent

The setting was incredible. It was high on a ridge overlooking the sea with view of numerous islands. Unfortunately it was overcast the night we were there so we didn't have the best sunset. We ate on tHeir screened porch and listened to the frogs and night birds singing

All told it was a wonderful evening

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northside Bistro also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Northside Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing