We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No local cooperation”
Review of Shipwreck Tavern - CLOSED

Shipwreck Tavern
Price range: $8 - $39
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Shipwreck has a friendly, casual atmosphere and great food. Offering great burgers, appetizers, salad and seafood. We offer daily specials, homemade soup and drink and shot specials. Something's always going on at the Shipwreck! Monday night is "pong for pooches" where we play beer pong to benefit the Humane Society of St Thomas...2 for Tuesdays Drinks and App specials, Thursday is 1/2 price burgers 'til 8 then Country Western Night so throw on your gear and come in for some boot scooting boogie! Friday is musician jam night--You never know who may show up! Saturday is $14 Steak and Fries all day and night then karaoke starting later on. We have multiple TV's to watch sporting events and usually plan something fun to go along with them.
St. Thomas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No local cooperation”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We are a local company, live, work and support the local business here.We just spent $385 with Octoberfest...asked for a " Stein" glass for free for our company shelf as we did our season kick off meeting..The manager denied and wanted to charge us $35 for the "Stein" after spending that amount of money...Been there numerous times, also support Mojo's with my team!
Looks like you guys turn into a real tourists trap, not appreciating local business...Not happy with the way the manager handled the situation. Looks like local business does not count here anymore.


.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    98
    50
    16
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Fun bar with very friendly staff. Yummy German food and other local fare (seafood). Bathroom was a little sketchy, but after a few cocktails you don't mind it so much.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Burgers!!!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Great huge burgers! Good wings. Overall Nice bar. A few TVs, Pool tables, a few slots. From the inside you didn't know you were in St Thomas. And I don't mean that in a bad way.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good place for a beer and sandwich”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was the first place I ate at on the island. It's a typical "island tavern" offering a bar like atmosphere with food.

Food was good, beer was cold and not too expensive.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ronin308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great burger”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Admittedly, we traveled during the off season and most restaurants were closed; but, this was our best meal on the island. We had lunch--just burgers, but they were quite good.

Service was very good; but, they weren't exactly swamped when we visited. The only hiccup in service would have been when I informed the diet coke tasted odd, he stated "it just different on the island." Obviously, it doesn't or at least it didn't anywhere else. Even after not drinking anymore of the cola, I was still charged for it.

The turtle cheesecake was quite excellent. I wouldn't hesitate to eat there again. I'll just be smart enough to not order a diet coke again!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JWD915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shipwreck Tavern also viewed

Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
North Side, St. Thomas
 
Bolongo Bay, St. Thomas
 
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing