We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another day in Paradise with Capt. Alex”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sun Sea Charters

Sun Sea Charters
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: For 10 years Sunsea Charters has been specializing in private excursions throughout the US and British Virgin Islands. Whether your idea of fun is snorkeling, island hopping, tubing, surfing, or even cliffdiving, Sunsea has the most experienced, local captains to make the most memorable day of your vacation.
Ridgewood, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another day in Paradise with Capt. Alex”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We just got back from our fantastic day out on the water with Captain Alex. It was our 3rd trip with SunSea and as always we had a great day in the BVI. Alex makes the trip fun for both adults and kids. The ride on the tube is always a highlight for our girls! We managed to visit the soggy dollar bar and Foxys this trip and had a great lunch at Sydneys peace and love. Once again Alex made the trip different from the last and just as much fun. Alex and sunsea are a must do while in the USVI or BVl.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Haascrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    1
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Do this instead of a cruise line excursion!”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

This was the highlight of our cruise with two other couples. We've been on lots of cruises and usually go on cruseline sponsered shore excursions but haveing been to St. Thomas before really wanted to see more of the islands. Capt. Alex' has a fast motor boat (twin 300 hp) that he pilots expertly through the island waters where he grew up. Although sailing is great if you're limited by the time constraints of a cruise and you want to see the VI and BVI this is the only way to go. Capt. Alex knows the islands intimately, considered the time we had and put together a great day. He took us to several fantastic isolated beaches, snorking spots, and renowned island bars. He had all the equipment we needed for floatation and snorkling (in good condition) and supplied all the beer/soda and cocktails we could handle, all we needed to bring was our towels and cameras. He handled the boat perfectly (no sea sickness) and even managed to get us back to th cruise pier in time for our friend's bridge tour.
Thank You Capt. Alex! Everyone in our group agreed we would do this again in a heartbeat!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Extremely satisfying private tour of the Vigrin Islands”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

This was my 3rd trip with Alex and SunSea Charters and I've seen something new and breath taking with each tour. Alex grew up in St Thomas so he is no stranger to the Islands and the many beautiful hidden gems that surround the area.

The boat is well stocked for an entire day in the sun. There is plenty of snokel gear on board, a large cooler full of refreshments or you can bring your own. He has a sound system on the boat and is able to hook up any music you would like to listen on your ipod if you'd prefer.

Alex was a great tour guide and I highly recommend SunSea Charters for a private tour of many of the amazing sites the islands have to see!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tami R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery Bay, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Day in Paradise”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We were introduced to Alex by one of our friends who ives on the island. We gave Alex a call and told him what we wanted to do and told him since there were only two of us, if he had any other couples that wanted to go along that day for a trip to the BVI's that we would be flexible if they could work into the things we wanted to do as well.
Alex was able to set us up with a great couple staying on Jost. We met Alex at his dock in red hook at around 7:30 and were off to Jost to pick up our 'mates'. Ale cleared customs for us while we strolled along the beach in Jost.

Alex was great, having grown up in the VI's, he knew all the great spots and we rarely ran into anyone. It was like we had the place all to ourselves. The bar onboard was fully stocked when we boarded, but was quite low by the time we got off. We went to Sandy Spit, Tortola, Jost vanDyke, Virgin Gorda, The Willy T and a few others I won't mention just to make you want to go and see what he can show you.

We were treated to our very own sunset cruise as we headed back to Red Hook where he let us off after about an 11 hour trip. No getting lost and seeing some of the most beautiful places on earth.
We will definitely be looking Alex up on each of our annual trips back.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank DiscoveryBayCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Alex continues to impress!”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Another great day! This was our second trip with Alex and our day on the boat was once again the highlight of our vacation! Seeing Alex again was like visiting an old friend and he made our group of 4 feel like the islands were our own private paradise. Our full day excursion primarily consisted of snorkeling pristine coral reefs filled with abundant marine life - Alex taught us some great breathing techniques and depressurization methods that allowed us to free-dive caves and ledges we had never seen before. In between stops visiting beautiful secluded beaches, we had a great lunch (with some jumping) on the “Willie” T” and finished the day lounging at the Soggy Dollar Bar. Alex has a vast knowledge of the islands (both above and below the water) and knows the all the right spots to make the “day on the boat” just what you expect it to be. The cooler was stocked, the boat was clean, and our second trip with Alex has raised the bar for the “best day ever”! Can’t wait till next trip!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Sea Charters also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Sun Sea Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing