We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“C31 Crystal Cove on Sapphire Beach...Truly lived up to it's name!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Three of my grandchildren's other grandmother is a travel nurse in the VI for 13 weeks this summer. She invited me to fly down with my grandkids and spend 10 days with them at Crystal Cove. The facility was perfectly suited to our needs. While it's a bit older, the rooms were clean and towels were fresh and white. Beach towels were also provided for the guests, along with lovely beach chairs anytime we ventured to the shoreline. The kitchen is galley style with room for only one cook at a time, but certainly workable. There is an open porch where we sat to drink coffee every morning while we watched the sun come up over the crystal blue water. We were exactly 69 steps to the beach and less to the salt water pool which was maintained well and always clean with sparkling water. The beach staff was more than friendly as they set up our chairs and fetched food and drinks from the nearby stand. We had 2 flat screen TVs and wireless internet which could be sketchy at times, but was adequate for our needs. There were plenty of additional sheets for the murphy bed, the futon and the kingsize bed in the one private bedroom. Being in a secure gated community was a must with our 3 children, ages 4, 11 and 13. There was plenty of privacy with a fenced back yard and access to the parking lot. A laundry room was located almost directly behind our condo (C31) that was clean and we had no problems with the washers/dryers. You have to buy tokens, but the office staff was available during regular business hours for that purchase. Be prepared for the regular sightings of iguanas! They are around the lovely pond and manicured grounds as well as frequent visitors at the beach. We had no problems leaving them to their business and they left us to ours! Great photo ops everywhere we turned and we took full advantage of them. I would recommend this property to anyone with a family that is looking to have the vacation of a lifetime. It's a short walk to the dock where we took a boat out for a dinner cruise on July 4th to view the fantastic firework display and another boat that took us parasailing. Please make this a serious consideration if your travel plans take you to this beautiful part of the world!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Suzann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 363 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here a few days last week with a dear friend. The resort is well maintained, the beach is lovely. They rake the beach every morning and the staff is always working on the grounds and gardens. There is a pool and tennis court although we did not use either.

These are privately held condos and there is no place to eat at the resort or nearby. You have to catch a cab into Red Hook for that. We did not rent a car, the cab fare from the airport was around $15 each. It was $5 to get a cab to Red Hook or $1 on the dollar taxi (local transportation). Red Hook is convenient if you want to catch a ferry to St John or Tortola. There are also some nice restaurants and bars. You will have to take a cab (or drive) to find a grocery store if you plan to eat in.

We purchased our reservation through Social Living and so unit selection was limited and determined by management. Unit B19 had a nice porch and a good view. The unit was clean, the kitchen well equipped. It had a large king bed and two twin murphy beds. Linens were in good shape. We could not get any signal on the TV (not that we really cared but just an issue if you are a TV person). It appeared the latch to the stackable washer was broken (or locked?) so we did not force things. Regardless, it beats a hotel.

Room Tip: all the rooms/units face a large green area with flowers and trees. A few units did not appear to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana78131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

It was our first time in St. Thomas and our first time staying in a condo during a vacation (we usually stay at hotels). What a wonderful time we had! When we first arrived, we were taken back by the view. It was absolutely beautiful! And we were so lucky to wake up to it every morning!

The grounds of the complex are kept impeccably clean. The staff was always trimming the plants/trees and cleaning up. Amber not only helps with the beach chairs but also cleans the seaweed on the beach in the early morning.

My family and I are so happy that we chose C 28 (vrbo 74814). It was clean and very well maintained. The whole condo was completely renovated. New floor, kitchen, and bathrooms. Helpful hint, many condos will say they are renovated but they still keep the old, original floors of the condos (red tiles). There were plenty of towels and extra sheets. The condo had 2 flat screen tv's connected to cable (one in the bedroom and one in the living room). Wireless internet is available for an additional fee. Since the complex practically sits on Sapphire beach, its location is priceless. We LOVED walking out and right onto the beach each morning. It took me less than 1 minute to experience tranquility each and every morning during our stay.

The owner, Karen was extremely easy to work with and was always reachable to answer any questions we had before our arrival. During our stay, Norma, the housekeeper, was available if we needed anything. A very important request we had was a crib for our daughter. Not only was a crib in the condo when we arrived, but Norma also had a high chair and pack and play waiting there for our use. Beach and pool toys were also in the condo for our daughter to use during our stay.

Thank you Karen and Norma! C28 was wonderful and Sapphire beach is unforgettable!!!

Room Tip: If you choose to stay at Crystal Cove, contact the owners directly through vrbo or homeaway. Don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DKofNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This was our first visit to the Virgin Islands and our first time renting from an owner. I've heard great things about Sapphire Beach and renting your accommodations from an owner, I thought I would give it a shot. Steve made everything very easy for me. He walked me through the process of renting from him and gave me tons of information about the island. I thoroughly reviewed his condo on both websites: VRBO number (768146) and HomeAway number (245229) to make sure the reviews were great. The reviewers had everything right on the money. The condo was everything they said and more! The beds were very comfortable, loved the king in the master. The bathrooms and kitchen were very clean and well stocked with anything we could ever desire. Husband really loved the "biggest TV" ever in the living room. I am so glad I didn't need to buy a bag of coffee filters because I only needed 5 filters.

My favorite thing about B-11 was the sound of a gentle rain during the night. Actually, it was the palm branches rustling outside in the wind, but it was a very relaxing way to fall back to sleep!! We had back door parking and a front door ocean. Very easy to get around this beautiful area. The pool is just across the parking lot and it is also very nice.

Steve and Honey thought of everything when they stocked this unit. I felt very safe with security walking around and Steve's extra locks he added to the front and back door.

They even had beach bags we could use to carry all the towels and snorkeling equipment they provided. They had boogie boards, life jackets, air mattresses and anything else you need to enjoy yourself at the beach.

My kids really enjoyed the wi fi. I enjoyed that it was free! We truly had all the comforts of home in B-11 and would recommend it to all our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed in B 17 for 3 nights too long. Area rug in living room stained & filthy. Drapery hanging half off. Washer & dryer not working. Towels were nasty looking. Very little in kitchen. Old sheets. Shower too small for anyone. ATTITUDE FROM WOMAN AT FRONT DESK !! Place needs gutted ! Waste of money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank PittsburghTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We've stayed here multiple times. We have friends that live on the island and they sent us here after we had stayed at other locations on previous trips. boy are we glad they did! We make regular trips to St Thomas and St John and there are only a few places we stay on a regular basis. This property is older but much more relaxed and the unit is huge. Most places are small rooms or small suites. Not this one! Everyone has plenty of room to spread out and it's such a short, short stroll to the beach. It's not the fanciest but it was tastefully decorated, extremely clean and we all enjoyed bung able to spread out and not constantly trip over each other.

The water is beautiful. The beach is always immaculate and you're close to anything you need. If you don't want to stroll back to your unit, there are a couple of options right on he beach for drinks, snacks, etc.

This is one we will still return to time and again. If you want total relaxation, comfort and not need for anything . . . this is the one. There are plenty of good restaurants within a short drive and you will not want for anything other than more time here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just to set the tone of this review, our stay at SBCW was fabulous!

First the information provided about the unit and St. Thomas by the owners is extensive and valuable for 1st time travelers to the area. Its is incredible how much is provided for guests to use at B-11...so much that it actually felt good to leave things for the next lucky folks! Also, security was never a worry as the condos are gated and grounds are amazingly well cared for and guarded.

As for the beach, it is literally 150 steps to paradise! It is a beautiful spot with great snorkeling and amazing, changeable views of St. John and the BVIs. The sunrises are breathtaking!
We made very good use of a Toyota Yaris from Budget... I wouldn't have wanted anything bigger than that! Red Hook is a very short drive and is a small but busy little place with a lot of action. A well stocked supermarket is just outside of town. The Tutu Mall is just 10 minutes away and has everything, including a great place to park the car and ride the safari taxi into Charllotte Amalie as parking there is scarce.A drive to Drakes Seat, Megans Bay and Mountain Top is a "must"...wow!

Coral World and Coki Beach were fabulous! Just a few minutes from B-11, you should get there early to use the Coral World parking lot...it just felt like a better place to leave the car for the day. We also took the car over to St. John for a day of beach hopping and sightseeing. The snorkeling at Trunk Bay is not to be missed...just amazing!

Other than the high food prices in the markets, we're having a difficult time finding any negative aspects to B-11, St. Thomas or St. John. We be back, mon!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
8  Thank jjuliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Thomas
7.8 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
638 reviews
5.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
575 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#4 of 5 in East End
712 reviews
7.4 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,816 reviews
3.5 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay

Address: Estate Smith Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in St. Thomas
Price Range: $199 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Cove Beach Resort On Sapphire Bay Hotel St. Thomas
Crystal Cove Beach St Thomas
Crystal Cove Condominiums
Crystal Cove Condos St Thomas
Crystal Cove Beach Resort On Sapphire Bay St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing