We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great time was had by all in B-11” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
East Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great time was had by all in B-11”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Had a wonderful time at Crystal Cove. My wife especially enjoyed the water aerobics class. This condo has all the amenities needed for a great time from the location near the beach, to the washer and dryer, to the large nicely furnished condo. Can't wait to go back next year and many years to come.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raymond E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    71
    17
    16
    14
See reviews for
96
142
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Walton Beach, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We spent 10 days in D28 at Crystal Cove. I called Sherri, the owner, prior to booking, and talked to her at length about what we were looking for during our vacation there. Sherri was fabulous and everything she told us was completely true! We loved her condo... Crystal Cove itself is in a fantastic location, so really, there are no bad locations within the condos. We loved D28 though because it was on the top floor, facing the pond/water. Just perfect. Furnished in a simple and lovely style, all the appliances/accessories we needed, quiet (other than the sound of the waves), and just wonderful. I highly recommend D28 and Crystal Cove! (As a side, we spent most of our nights in Red Hook - Must Dos: Duffy's Love Shack, The Big Bamboo, XO Bistro, Coco Blue, and Fish Tails.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank paulapie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We rented a studio unit in the "A" building. I thought the complex at crystal cove was a bit dated but clean and nice. Our unit was clean and met our needs just fine but I also thought it was in need of updating. The beach is spectacular!! We did not rent a car and found the dollar bus easy to navigate. We would often take the dollar bus to Red Hook and take a cab back at night. I wished we could have walked as it's not that far but the road just isn't safe. After seeing both the Crystal Cove and Sapphire Beach Resort properties I believe Sapphire Beach resort is nicer. Their pool is really nice and right on the ocean.. Yes the bar is closed but the space is beautiful. The pool at CC is in the back of the complex and not as nice. There is a bar/restaurant up the hill (sapphire grill) that had decent food and live music. Also dont miss the food truck - Off the Grid at the top of the hill - amazing BBQ. My understanding is each condo unit varies so do your research. We rented through VRBO and had no issues. Norma and her staff at Crystal Cove were top notch. I would not hesitate to stay in this area again but might explore options at Sapphire Beach resort just because the location and pool are better.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spparkgrls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

This is the second year in a row we returned to crystal cove and unit B11. This year, we had the added perspective of traveling with 3 other couples who all booked different condos at crystal cove. All 4 of our condos were in excellent condition, well maintained, and very clean. All of our friends preferred B11, however, as their condos were not stocked, not even close to the way B11 is. Almost immediately our friends had to go to the store for basic necessities, I.e. toilet paper, paper towels, etc... B11 is so well stocked that we could have postponed our grocery store trip indefinitely! The owners, Steve and Honey are so easy to deal with and B 11 and crystal cove are so great that as soon as we got home, we began emailing Steve to return again next year! It really is the best place on the island to stay. Great restaurants in nearby Red Hook, easy access to by 15 minute ferry to St. John (the ferry leaves from Red Hook). The marina at sapphire beach at crystal cove (best beach on the island, and I used to live there, been to all of them) is walking distance so there is easy access to any number of day sails and boat trips to the BVI. Easy access to dollar taxis and 'real' taxis. Although, I suggest renting a car. If possible, even more fun this year than last! Can't wait to return, and we'll probably always stay in B11!!! Book on vrbo.com or homeaway.com. It seems like the only people on here that had difficulty booked on some other travel site. Seriously, Steve is so responsive, he will ge back to you almost immediately. Seriously, B11 and crystal cove are so great my husband and really are talking about buying there someday!
VRBO#168746

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank carolmarraccini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

B-11 condo is pure heaven it is very clean, large, well stocked, it has everything you need I mean everything!!!, ground level no stairs to climb, steps from the beach, palm trees out the door, beautiful view, 10 minutes from the food center, and working with Steve and Honey is just excellent, Steve is very very fast at communicating with you, my wife and I stayed in Jan. 2013, we will be back to B-11, also the condo staff are so wonderful and nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The people are so, so nice here! Beach is just beautiful, and so clean! We stayed in Unit D2 which is fixed up nicely. This complex was built in 1969 and the outside badly needs renovating and the landscaping is "blah". The pool area also needs updating. But we loved it anyway - the unit was nice and clean, and the beach so gorgeous that we couldn't help but have a great time.
We love this location - so close to Red Hook, restaurants and ferry to St John, - we would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Unit D2 - it is upstairs but nice and clean and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BethWeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, CO
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I hope you learn from us (learn from our mistake):
Results will vary depending on how you book i.e. which condo you get. Book from vrbo or homeaway or other similar site so you know what you're getting. My best friend told me to book crystal cove and it was great advise but incomplete. They have probably the best setting on the island. Most hotels are more away from the water and the beach they have isn't as good (boats, views, noise). You're also on the east side (locals call it "the country" - it is much less inhabited (safer). Sticker shock - almost everything on the island is about 50% higher than stateside. Fish dishes should be be reasonable like the Yucatan but they are typically the most expensive. Circumstances had it where we didn't rent a car and as it turned out, we didn't need it as we took the safari (buck per person cab that runs in two loops on the island).

Our room C-6 had 5 star views and that's it. Space was 4 stars 15' x 60' and two bathrooms. Now the marginal and bad. Old flippable queen mattress - we flipped it 1/2 way thru our stay - it was a little better. Bring a thermarest. BTW, bring a headlamp and earplugs - always a good idea. Everything worked or barely worked (eg screw missing on sliding glass door so you have to use two hands so it doesn't rotate on you. Toilets are flush and hold the button down so it actually flushes. Furnishings were all old. The range still had pilot lights glowing. Signs everywhere to conserve water but they have 5 gallon tank toilets. No contact information once we arrived. You're on your own. We had every-other day towel service and they did very minor cleanup (dishes, swept floor) but i would not call it cleaning. We asked around and were able to go and view 3 different rooms that were on vrbo (or homeaway) and they were all hands down superior rooms. All 3 had nice king beds, decorated nicely and had a new feeling not a worn out feeling. You know who to contact if there's a problem and you have all the befefits of the complex which is basically easy access to the beach and use of the beach furniture. All beaches on St Thomas are public but access to them is a challenge. Parking is challenge all over the island so we liked not having a car. Ironically, we have 3 vrbos ourselves but didn't know to book one here at a "resort". If you want further info, you can always find us with the oldest vrbo in Evergreen, Colorado. There is no restaurant in the area because the neighboring complex is in chaos (nice because its quiet). Red Hook is a 1 dollar safari ride and we walked back (precarious but doable). We like fish tails and the Chinese place the best. Plaza xtra and k-mart on the same dollar loop (1 dollar there, dollar back). Cheapest stuff was there. That's also where you get off the country safari and get on the city (west) safari. Essentially, its a free stop if you're going to Charlotte Amalie. PS you cant take the safari with luggage - they will just drive by. 15 cab rid two from the airport. BTW, we went to the Elysian and viewed a room. Small but nice as the nicer rooms at Cove. Big complex, not condo's wyndom resort. average beach, congested and busy views. More likely need a car there but hard to take it anywhere. Also visited Point pleasant and they are condos so again, lots of variety. We views one vrbo there - beautiful but very tiny studio. Not as nice an area because adjacent complex is abandoned and its a getto across water bay (next to coki) beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
27 Thank KB80439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Thomas hotels
1.2 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
5.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#2 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 stars 490 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 stars 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 stars 490 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
4.0 of 5 stars 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay

Property: Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
Address: Estate Smith Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St. Thomas
#11 On the Beach Hotel in St. Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Cove Beach Resort On Sapphire Bay Hotel St. Thomas
Crystal Cove Beach St Thomas
Crystal Cove Condominiums
Crystal Cove Condos St Thomas
Crystal Cove Beach Resort On Sapphire Bay St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing