We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Its not a resort or hotel - individually owned condos so....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
Evergreen, CO
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Its not a resort or hotel - individually owned condos so....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I hope you learn from us (learn from our mistake):
Results will vary depending on how you book i.e. which condo you get. Book from vrbo or homeaway or other similar site so you know what you're getting. My best friend told me to book crystal cove and it was great advise but incomplete. They have probably the best setting on the island. Most hotels are more away from the water and the beach they have isn't as good (boats, views, noise). You're also on the east side (locals call it "the country" - it is much less inhabited (safer). Sticker shock - almost everything on the island is about 50% higher than stateside. Fish dishes should be be reasonable like the Yucatan but they are typically the most expensive. Circumstances had it where we didn't rent a car and as it turned out, we didn't need it as we took the safari (buck per person cab that runs in two loops on the island).

Our room C-6 had 5 star views and that's it. Space was 4 stars 15' x 60' and two bathrooms. Now the marginal and bad. Old flippable queen mattress - we flipped it 1/2 way thru our stay - it was a little better. Bring a thermarest. BTW, bring a headlamp and earplugs - always a good idea. Everything worked or barely worked (eg screw missing on sliding glass door so you have to use two hands so it doesn't rotate on you. Toilets are flush and hold the button down so it actually flushes. Furnishings were all old. The range still had pilot lights glowing. Signs everywhere to conserve water but they have 5 gallon tank toilets. No contact information once we arrived. You're on your own. We had every-other day towel service and they did very minor cleanup (dishes, swept floor) but i would not call it cleaning. We asked around and were able to go and view 3 different rooms that were on vrbo (or homeaway) and they were all hands down superior rooms. All 3 had nice king beds, decorated nicely and had a new feeling not a worn out feeling. You know who to contact if there's a problem and you have all the befefits of the complex which is basically easy access to the beach and use of the beach furniture. All beaches on St Thomas are public but access to them is a challenge. Parking is challenge all over the island so we liked not having a car. Ironically, we have 3 vrbos ourselves but didn't know to book one here at a "resort". If you want further info, you can always find us with the oldest vrbo in Evergreen, Colorado. There is no restaurant in the area because the neighboring complex is in chaos (nice because its quiet). Red Hook is a 1 dollar safari ride and we walked back (precarious but doable). We like fish tails and the Chinese place the best. Plaza xtra and k-mart on the same dollar loop (1 dollar there, dollar back). Cheapest stuff was there. That's also where you get off the country safari and get on the city (west) safari. Essentially, its a free stop if you're going to Charlotte Amalie. PS you cant take the safari with luggage - they will just drive by. 15 cab rid two from the airport. BTW, we went to the Elysian and viewed a room. Small but nice as the nicer rooms at Cove. Big complex, not condo's wyndom resort. average beach, congested and busy views. More likely need a car there but hard to take it anywhere. Also visited Point pleasant and they are condos so again, lots of variety. We views one vrbo there - beautiful but very tiny studio. Not as nice an area because adjacent complex is abandoned and its a getto across water bay (next to coki) beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
27 Thank KB80439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    71
    17
    16
    14
See reviews for
96
142
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edgerton, WI
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

After searching on TripAdvisor we booked B-11 for Nov 29- Dec 8, 2012. We just got back and found it to be the *PERFECT* location from which to explore all of St. Thomas and other islands (we took the ferry to St. John, Virgin Gorda and Jost Van Dyke - all very highly recommended). You are literally a 3 minute drive into Red Hook (lots of bars & restaurants), probably 10 minutes to Food Center for groceries.

The condo is *really* well furnished: full kitchen, tons of beach towels, HE Washer & Dryer, 2 bathrooms, cable TV, movies, books, snorkel gear and floaties. The bedding and pillows were decent, and there were plenty of extras.

As some have referenced the entire Crystal Cove property isn't brand new, more from the 50s/60s, but it really doesn't matter because the condo is in good shape itself and most importantly the beach is literally one of the *best on the island* (we explored nearly all of them -and Sapphire wins for water color, beach size and the crowd). We did not even visit the pool once.

You are a 2 minute walk from the front door of the condo to your beach chair (there are plenty of chairs). There are 2 places to get drinks on the beach, one a local lady selling goodies out of a cooler and one about a 5 minute walk down to the next resort. The one at the resort has the BEST Lime in de Coconut drinks. Plus they have waitresses that come all the way down to where the Sapphire chairs are - which is really nice.

If you have realistic expectations for the condo, that the condo isn't going to be the Ritz (because you're not paying Ritz prices), then you'll be really happy at B-11 as we were. Is everything brand new and perfectly pristine? Nope. But we didn't expect it to be and were VERY happy with our stay. ***We would absolutely recommend and stay at B-11 again.***

Working with Steve was extremely easy and he was very responsive. We had a little issue with the AC and he immediately responded and got it taken care of.

One other note: I would recommend renting a car - it was the first time we'd done so on a tropical vacation - and found it really well worth the money. We got a great deal and had a great experience with Dependable Car rental. It made it really easy to explore the entire island and St. John.


VRBO number (168746) or the HomeAway number number (245229).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank LolaBully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, NJ
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My family - 3 adults, two children - stayed at Crystal Cove C-14 from November 8-12, 2012. We found it on VRBO.

Prior to booking, I did extensive research on various places to stay in St. Thomas and determined that Crystal Cove on Sapphire Beach fit our needs. I then reviewed numerous condo units and concluded that C-14 had what we needed. Well, I don't regret one second of the research because our short vacation was perfect. I would strongly recommend this condo unit.

Crystal Cove is a collection of four buildings on Sapphire Beach, which is about a half mile from Red Hook near the St. John Ferry.

Why Sapphire Beach? Because it is as beautiful of a beach as you'll find on St. Thomas. Nice crescent shape which was never crowded when we were there - even when cruise ships were in port. Water was beautiful shades of blue, warm and calm. Great snorkeling right off the shoreline. You have seagrape trees for shade - or can find ample sunshine throughout the day. Did I mention the view? You don't look out on a blank horizon. Sapphire has views of neighboring St. John, Tortola and Jost Van Dyke. Trust me - the view will take your breath away. If you have kids, they'll love the wildlife on the beach and at Crystal Cove. Iguanas. Ducks. Various species of birds. My daughter was just as excited about tracking the virtual zoo as she was about the beach. The beach attendant, Diane, is an absolute pleasure to speak with and quite helpful. There is a small beach bar with potent rum drinks - and I saw attendants walking the beach taking drink orders. My vacations are almost always centered on beaches - and I try to find the nicest beaches on a given island. Sapphire did not disappoint. It compares favorably with the nicest Caribbean beaches.

Why C-14? Spacious. Modern. Amenities galore. Accommodating and responsive owners. I could go on - and I will! C-14 is a one-bedroom, two-bathroom condo on the second floor. The C building is smack in the middle of Crystal Cove. When you open the blinds on the windows in the front, you have a million dollar view. Don't take my word for it - look at the photos on the VRBO page. Some people have to spend hundreds of dollars extra per night for a great view. Not with C-14.

We had five people - three adults, one large teen and a younger pre-teen. Had no problem with space - sleeping, bathrooms, dining - none whatsoever. Don't feel you need a two-bedroom unit. This one-bedroom condo was plenty big. The kitchen was very modern and stocked with every appliance you could need. Unit had snorkel equipment, floats, a cooler for the beach, towels, two flat screen tvs with cable - the list goes on. When the owners described their unit as a piece of paradise, they were not exaggerating.

Crystal Cove is a 3-minute drive to Red Hook - where you'll find many good choices for dining and the St. John ferry. You are close enough for take out or to pick up something at a grocery store without missing a lot of beach time.

My advice - do your own research. Look at the units on VRBO. And then look for C-14. We had a great time - and hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
13 Thank tfinchler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

HomeAway number 245229

This was an amazing and beautiful place to stay. VERY clean, spacious, plenty of room and all the amenities. Steve was easy to work with and very helpful. It only took about 90 seconds to walk to the beach and sit in the chairs provided. The beach is the best that I visited, and that includes Trunk Bay.

I can't wait to go back, and will probably spend even longer. It is quiet, you can't hear the neighbors, but there is enough going on that it seems safe.

Having two bathrooms was nice, along with the kitchen having everything you could possibly need. Plus, the bed was amazingly comfortable. I can't say enough good things about this experience.

Room Tip: Only need to choose one - B-11
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed here on my last business trip. These are rented condos that I chose because they advertised wi-fi and cable tv. The unit had no Internet access of any kind and cable consisted of 12 channels -- 8 were local access or shopping. Even worse than this was the service. I checked in just before 5. No one to help with luggage and as soon as I checked in, the office closed. I was pointed to my room and given a cell phone number to call if any issues. Upon arriving at my room -- which was unlocked with the key inside, I immediately called about the issues above. The "manager" was completely unsympathetic and offered exactly zero assistance. I'll never stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank MidwestSailor83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Perhaps one of the best places on the island. Not the fanciest, however,the location is one of the best with views of St. John's and the British VI from our porch. Reasonably priced and well located less than 1 mile from Red Hook with let's of restaurants, shops and the ferry to St.John. We stayed at C-6 for many years, liked it and will return.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank perlfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed in B-11 (Home Away 245229 in August 2012. We have been on St. Thomas many times in the last 30 years. We are living in Switzerland and finding a nice place was not always easy. To stay in B-11 was wonderful. The location is awesome and Honey and Steve provided us with everything we needed and made it really easy (payment, contact, information about the house etc.) We are looking forward to go back soon and would like to thank Honey and Steve very much.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank rovati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Thomas hotels
1.2 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
5.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#2 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 stars 491 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 stars 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 stars 494 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
4.0 of 5 stars 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay

Property: Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
Address: Estate Smith Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St. Thomas
#11 On the Beach Hotel in St. Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Cove Beach Resort On Sapphire Bay Hotel St. Thomas
Crystal Cove Beach St Thomas
Crystal Cove Condominiums
Crystal Cove Condos St Thomas
Crystal Cove Beach Resort On Sapphire Bay St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing