We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must take taxi everywhere.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bluebeard's Beach Club and Villas
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in St. Thomas
GreenLeadersGold level
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Must take taxi everywhere.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

If you want a beautiful quiet beach this is for you. The activity director is a hoot and will bend over backwards for you as well as Mr. Nice Guy, the man you call when you need to get from point a to point b. The pool is amazing and the food and drinks at the pool bar were good. We were shocked at the price of two omelets, a cup of coffee and two momosas, $72.00 WOW! We were told it was because we ordered two meat lovers omelets with veggies on top. So they considered that 2 omelets each, (two meat lovers and two veggie) for a total of 4 omelets - that means they must have charged us about $13.00 or $14.00 an omelets. So buyer beware on the prices. We did tell the staff we were shocked by this but nobody seemed to care. We were suppose to have two condos booked from our time share as we had a couple of friends joining us the day after our arrival. I had the confirmation numbers and documentation from our Resort Company. Blue Beard Beach Club said "no they didn't have two rooms booked or available, only one." I questioned how this could happen as our friends were about to board a plane and join us, and the employee at the front desk said it was not there problem and we needed to contact our Resort company. Our friend ending up staying at another resort. It put a real damper on things. I did call our Resort Company after returning back to the states and they checked into it. The Resort Company did make the reservations, but Blue Beards dropped the ball and only reserved one of the two rooms. So, please call them before you visit to verify they are not inept in this area. The resort is safe. We did have a good time overall. The rooms are not the cleanest. The floors were sandy when we entered the condo. We did need to ask for more towels as they don't provide many. All that being said, we will go back but will make certain we talk to the manager to verify our reservations and we will stop at a grocery store on the way there. The Wyndham lost an opportunity on this one as our friends bought a time share there. We normally bring friends with us on vacation and 8 our the last 10 times our friends have purchased timeshares. The staff needs to know the Wyndham lost huge dollars because an employee did not follow through with a booking.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HADABALLINVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    256
    107
    46
    37
See reviews for
119
312
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centervill
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed at the resort the first week of February. Weather was perfect and are we glad we rented a car. Resort is isolated and if you want to explore, taxi cost would be expensive. Restaurant is under renovation and looks like months away from completion. Being on a time share exchange, the biggest surprise was a $11.00/per person/per day energy charge. Time share owners of this property do not pay this energy fee. Isn't that a double charge to guests? Beach is not a walking beach. Internet service is a pay on a weekly or daily fee. Go to Iggy's, Mim's, Secret Harbor, or into town for free wi-fi. If you are planning on cooking some meals at the facility, shopping for grocerys on your way it. Grocery stores are not convenient. Been on many time share exchanges in the past twenty years and would not stay here again. Beach towel service is refreshed each day from off property. Two days towels were delayed in arriving. If you are going to Magen Bay for the day, get your clean towels early.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

After reading an earlier review on Trip Advisor, we decided against a car and booked "Mr. Nice Guy" who provides transportation to a lot of the guests. It was a really good decision as the roads are quite hilly and curvy and the other tourists drive badly trying to figure out the left hand driving. Also the rental car rates and insurance (which you pretty much have to get unless you have a letter from your insurance company) are steep. His rates are the same as the taxis but keep in mind that the charge of $6 to go to Downtown means per person. After a stop at the grocery store (recommended), we were greeted at the resort and told we should come to the orientation the next morning - which we didn't. Therefore we didn't know about the sign up for the BBQ and some other events. Also the resorts in St. Thomas all seem to charge an energy fee - a total rip off. This resort charges $11 per person a day. This made us use all the energy we could to get our money's worth! If they charged for use, it would seem more efficient. The room was nice - we just had a "studio" but it had a full kitchen and living room. The weird thing is that the one bathroom is off the kitchen and the bedroom is on the top level
- loft style. There are 2 steps from the kitchen up to the living room which may not be easy for the elderly. All rooms at the resort face the ocean. The resort is quiet and clean and just what we wanted. A lot of people come here every year. Even though they don't have a restaurant, it works as there always seems to be some type of food and drink available at the pool bar til 7-8 pm. There are omelets for breakfast, Panini's and fries for lunch, Monday night is italian night, all day BBQ on Friday, etc.
Be sure to bring big spray! We got completely bit up our first few nights by no-see-ums.
The resident iguanas are cool. They hide in the trees during the day and all come out around midday to eat and hang around for a couple hours then disappear (they like apple, onion, and banana slices). The resort also has some resident cats but you don't see them til night. They also have a endangered crab area. The resort was "creature" friendly which we liked.
The beach is very private and pretty with accessible lounge chairs and plenty of shade.
For dinners out - go to Iggys for happy hour, then walk down their beach to Mims for all you can eat shrimp Thursday nights. Taxi fare is $24 round trip for 2 people. We used Mr Nice Guy ( you can get his # from the resort) whole time and were very pleased. He will do multiple stops-beach, shopping, dinner in one day. One day we went to St. John and he had a guy on the island who took care of us for the going rate. Great time and we don't repeat vacation locations but would come here again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RenAroundTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

My wife and I just got back from our week at Bluebeards. We desperately needed a quiet, relaxing, beach vacation. We got it! How to put this...if your looking for an all-inclusive, luxurious, resort with a nightlife then this is NOT the place for you. However, if your looking for a quiet, laid back, place to hit a great private beach, soak up some sun and read a few books then this is the place for you.

I do wish they had some type of dinner options and are currently buildilng some type of resturant/bar that will open at some point.

I found the gound to be adequate although if you take a look around you some of it could use some touching up. The staff was very friendly and the poolbar had breakfast and lunch options.

We opted to cook a few nights and took the saturday night taxi to the grocery store and stocked up for the week.

I was pleasently suprised by our room, I've read some of the reviews on here and I supposed some of the unit's might not be upgraded, but I guess we got lucky. I would complain that the bed was REALLY hard!

PROTIP: stock up on water, we found the tap to be undrinkable.

Room Tip: ask for 254!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shendela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We are here now, I'm writing this sitting on the beach. The staff is very friendly, they bring me whatever I need. When we arrived I asked to be near the beach and she gave me building B. Wonderful location about 15 ft from the sand. If you come stay on builder A or B. The problem is the location , far from everything. You need a car or taxi to get to anything else. We arrived on Saturday and they had a cab to take us to the grocery store at half price of $12.00 round trip. They do have breakfast every morning at the pool bar and sandwiches during the day, no restaurant yet. Tonight. Monday there is an Italian buffet. $25.00 per person. Tomorrow we will go to town by taxi. I choose this ace because I was using an accommodation week from my timeshare .

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank janebadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Keep in mind this is a timeshare property, not a hotel or all inclusive style resort. I traveled with my wife April 2013 and stayed 5 nights as a Wyndham owner.

The Pros: The pool area and beach. The pool was not huge but very well maintained, clean water and good temperature, and the poolside area was also clean with enough space and lounge chairs. The beach was at most 20 feet away from the pool, again very clean and plenty of room being a private location, you'll never have to fight for space. I don't recall any beach lounge chairs and on-site watersports but for lounging and swimming it's fantastic. The room was CLEAN and tidy on our arrival. Water pressure in bathroom was good, hot water was hot.

The Cons: The rooms were the weak link. It wasn't horrible, a little dated, but just OK. When we arrived the room was a little musty and stale smelling but after being in it a day and air-ing it out it was fine. We did encounter a little anole lizard in our room which was a bit troubling but we're not squeamish. There was quite a gap between the bottom of the door (nearly 2") and we realized towards the end of our stay that OUR DOOR DIDN'T LOCK. Well the knob can be locked but the door didn't latch shut, so you can just push the door open. That being said, we didn't feel unsafe at any time even after realizing this, so take that for what it's worth. There was an in-room safe, but it was useless as the keypad was broken (falling off the door broken). Again, not a deal breaker for us, we just carried our valuables with us. Our AC unit didn't work on arrival but someone came and fixed with within 30 minutes of us letting the desk know.

There is no on-site restaurant or grocery store, you'll definitely want to visit a market and bring snacks, drinks, etc. There is an on-site bar (I guess liquor > food).

There IS a tax levied upon check in which is my biggest gripe. My problem is that I was NOT told about it, it just appeared on my CC bill after arriving home (around $100 I recall). This seems to be typical in Caribbean resorts, so again I would not be as annoyed if they had simply told me about it ahead of time.

Other stuff: Fridge was fine, big enough to use (not mini-bar size), otherwise didn't use the kitchen/stove to provide useful a opinion. The property itself was nice, well maintained, plenty of parking. There are protected crabs living on site which were interesting and a lot of stray cats (the cats congregate in the "back" area of the resort, far from the people and never seemed to bother anyone) so if you hate critters you should keep that in mind. We did not have a problem with mosquitoes or other pests/biting insects.

I estimate around 30 other guests there at the same time as us, for the property's size it was the perfect balance between peace and quiet and total isolation. We didn't have a problem with noisy neighbors. The staff was friendly, not intrusive; we didn't really need them for anything during our stay other than fixing the AC. There were 2(!?) TVs in-room with cable.

Tips: Unless you plan on staying at the resort your whole trip, you will want to rent a car. The resort is not within walking distance of any attractions, restaurants, markets, and cab fare will definitely rack up. Be prepared to drive on the LEFT in a LEFT hand drive car.
The most important thing I'd tell someone who's staying here is to know that the USVI as a whole are primarily for cruise ship vacationers. Meaning, the vast majority of attractions are downtown/near the port, or designed for day tripping cruise ship excursions. You can read about the port area elsewhere. However, this means that if there are no cruise ships docking that day, MANY shops and attractions will be closed. On the flip side, if 4 ships are docked one day, everything will be PACKED. 3/5 days we were there only 1-2 ships so a good balance. On one day there were no ships docked and everything touristy was closed, couldn't even find a place to eat (drove around and found a spot for locals).

Overall, 4/5 stars for us because it was just the 2 of us 30 year olds looking for a quiet getaway. If you're more adventurous, need more stimulation, or have kids to entertain you may not have as good a trip. This also applies if you're looking for high end luxury, this is not the Ritz or even Hilton. If this were a hotel, or if I were paying ~$200/night out of pocket, would have been 2 stars. For the average person reading this, it's probably a 3/5 star as a whole, but for us on this particular trip it was very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ArtthurW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

It may be true that the rooms are not luxurious, wifi is slow, and there is no restaurant. If that is what you are looking for, go somewhere else. However, if you want to go to a beautiful, relaxing beach, pack your bags. We went for a week at the end of December which is one of the busiest times for the Caribbean, but the resort is big enough so that it did not seem full. We loved walking along the beach at night by ourselves.

Room Tip: A apartments are right next to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim161616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Thomas hotels
4.0 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
4.3 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
0.6 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebeard's Beach Club and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebeard's Beach Club and Villas

Property: Bluebeard's Beach Club and Villas
Address: 7511 Frenchman Bay # 100, 00802-2810, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in St. Thomas
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. Thomas
#6 Top resorts Hotel in St. Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluebeard's Beach Club and Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bluebeard's Beach Club and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebeard`s Beach Club And Villas Hotel St. Thomas
Bluebeards Beach Resort
Bluebeards Beach Hotel
Bluebeards Beach Club
St Thomas Bluebeard
Bluebeard's Beach Club And Villas St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing