We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Simple, isolated beach club”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bluebeard's Beach Club and Villas
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 25, 2012

If you are looking for a great isolated location this works. The beach was beautiful and uncrowded. There is no restaurant other than the pool bar, so unless you are planning on cooking you have to leave the property. Mr. Nice Guy provides great cab service for the resort. Expect to spend an average of $25.00 round trip fare for 2 to most restaurants. Our room was recently renovated. It was clean and had a nice view. The iguanas are quite entertaining.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Iceh2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (634)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 634 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

This was my third time to this resort. I stayed in unit 250 bldg E. It was obvious we were the first people to use this room after being renovated. I guess inspecting the room prior to renting the room is not done with this crew. The upgrades are nice, but the workmanship is sloppy and rushed. The shower tiles had writing on them, and the grout had not been cleaned properly. The remote to the AC was missing and the TV in the bedroom had not been programed. There were other things that were not done correctly. I eventually got what I could by calling the front desk. I think they got sick of me because I had to call them so many times. Despite the upgrades, granite counter tops, tiled shower, stainless steel appliances, new furniture, etc, it is too bad the quality of work was horrible.
I will say, this visit was nicer than the last two times, 2010 & 2008. I am glad they are making an attempt to improve the conditions at the resort.

Room Tip: I like the top floor lofts, they are more private and the view is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MsSoniaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Location, location, location...you're steps away from the water and can hear the waves crashing on the beach from your room. The beach, although not private, is quiet and clean. The locals that do frequent the stretch of beach (and pool) are friendly. The hotel staff, especially Victoria, is accommodating and pleasant. The rooms, even those that have been renovated, still need some work. The "fit and finish" or quality of the workmanship is terrible. Gaps under front doors and around windows allow mosquitos to come in and nibble on you while you sleep. Closet doors are only half installed. Shower curtains are moldy, shower curtain rods/rings are rusted, and hot water pressure is non-existent. We saw the construction crew at the pool bar more than we noticed them working on the renovations of the remaining rooms. Come here for the location on the water and quick car/taxi trip either way to Red Hook or Charlotte Amalie. Just don't plan to spend much time 'relaxing' in your room.

Room Tip: Renovations in Buildings A & B were (mostly) completed; 3rd floor rooms in bldg A had a nice lof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed 11/4 - 11/10/2012. Booked with our Wyndham points - this is not our home resort. Normally, we stay on the East End, in another Wyndham affiliated property - but this time, we had to stay here. Initially I was hesitant about the location and the resorts condition....BUT -
I absolutely LOVED this resort! Will definitely be returning.

We were in building A - Room #208. The room was newly rennovated - complete with pull out sofa, small dining table, flat screen TV, King Size Bed and a kitchenette. Kitchenette has small cook top, microwave and fridge. Updated furnishings lend a contemporary feel, but maintain the island vibe. Grounds and pool both maintained very well.

Upon checkin found the staff to be both friendly and informative. Found our room to be cleaned satisfactory. Beach was great for sunbathing - never struggled to find a chair. Hammocks and shaded areas are also available for guest use. Water entry is a bit rocky - and a little tricky to get out of when the surf is high - otherwise the beach is perfect! If you're up early enough and late enough you can watch the ships come and go - which is pretty breathtaking when some of those large ones come in!

There is no restaurant on site - but overall, we didn't find that to be an issue. We did enjoy a BBQ lunch one day, supplied by the owners of the bar. Found that meal to be both reasonable in price and very tasty!

I imagine construction will wrap up in a few months - seems they are over 50% complete. So, if you're traveling soon - you may be bothered by some construction noise through the day - but we didn't find it too disturbing.

A few problems:
First, as others have mentioned - the wifi. We arrived on Sunday, and I immediately signed up, created an account and paid for a week of internet. I couldn't get connected. It took 4 days, 2 phone calls and 3 trips to the front desk to find an associate who was willing to address the problem instead of just "email Alex." Once I was finally connected - the internet worked like a charm! During this struggle with my wifi I attempted to use the lobby internet - not only is the internet a joke, but that PC is so jacked up - it's painful to use! Second, parking. Not only are they short on spots (IMO), but meeting another car while coming or going is impossible. One person has to back up so the other person can get through. Finally, while the rennovations were probably an improvement - don't expect to go and find the Ritz! Much of what was done was done so by repurposing. I happen to be a huge fan of this - but it does show in the work that was done. Many of the doors and woodwork were repainted - but not cleaned up or sanded first. While something like that doesn't ruin a trip - it is one of the reasons I can't give the resort a higher overall rating.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LivandMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We love coming to this resort! The rooms are being updated and the changes made were wonderful. Our room was clean and ready on time and the bed was very comfortable. The grounds are beautiful and lush with lots of iguanas to watch. The beach is amazing and never too crowded, the water is clear and the sea life for snorkeling is great. Lots of fish, a couple of turtles, and a lobster this year! The pool bar is separate from the resort but the staff is great. Variety of breakfast items, paninis and drinks all day. They served dinner twice during the week of our stay. It was nice not to have to go anywhere or cook. Victoria did a great job at making sure people had options for activities to do. Quiet location, with a great view! We will be going back again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SunBeachVacaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Beautiful resort grounds. Great views and pool area. Room was very comfortable. Great pillows and mattress. Victoria great asset and helpful with all your needs. Bar is not part of resort and can use some help. Better food and drinks would be much appreciated by guests. Iguanas everywhere. Quite entertaining to watch. Very enjoyable. Quiet, great for couples and older folks.

Room Tip: 225. Very good view of ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MG5507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed in a remodled unit is was very nice they only strange thing I think was they didn't paint the bathroom it had mold on the door and corners of room with a moldy liner in the shower? The rest was fine.
The view of the ocean from the balcony was so nice to have.
We loved having the kitchen to make some meals in.
The crew at the beach bar was fantasic from Bob & Gina in the mornings making those yum rum pancakes to Vince, Bo and Danny the bartenders who are friendly and give out great recommendations for places to go. From the cornholes games to grilled sandwiches they are a great bunch! Love the new signs Kelsey made expesically watching four bartenders tryin to hang them LOL

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ISLANDGIRL3013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Thomas hotels
4.0 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
4.6 mi away
Elysian Beach Resort
Elysian Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in East End
608 reviews
0.6 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
731 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
3.8 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebeard's Beach Club and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebeard's Beach Club and Villas

Address: 7511 Frenchman Bay # 100, 00802-2810, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in St. Thomas
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. Thomas
#7 Top resorts Hotel in St. Thomas
Price Range: $200 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluebeard's Beach Club and Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Bluebeard's Beach Club and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebeard`s Beach Club And Villas Hotel St. Thomas
Bluebeards Beach Resort
Bluebeards Beach Hotel
Bluebeards Beach Club
St Thomas Bluebeard
Bluebeard's Beach Club And Villas St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing