We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stars and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Marbella Suites
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stars and quiet”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a great place to view the stars from as a Northerner you get very far South and are able to see the Southern cross from the driveway. A great added bonus is there are very few surrounding yard lights to contend with. As the reviews have echoed the hosts are great whatever you are hoping to do.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gotwinsgoMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JagerSt_Thomas, Owner at Villa Marbella Suites, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Although we can't predict the weather, we must say we are really lucky to have such a beautiful and quiet location for our guests to enjoy. I'm so happy that you had a great time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    21
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
52
260
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a great time staying at Villa Marbella. Leah and Gunnar were amazing hosts and were always available if we had any questions about places to visit or restaurants to go to. The 2- door Jeep we rented from them was perfect to drive around and explore the island. We stayed in both the Mango Room and the Frenchman's View Loft. Both rooms were immaculate and had everything we needed during our stay. The pool area is gorgeous and their dog Jager is a sweetheart. We look forward to coming back again!

Cheers,

Sonia and Brian

Room Tip: The Mango Room is the smallest of all the rooms available, but it is cozy and very comfortable. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JagerSt_Thomas, Owner at Villa Marbella Suites, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
thank you for the review on two of our rooms! While it is cozy, you can't beat the price for our Mango Room. Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to having you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Villa Marbella is right in the the middle of things, centrally located on the island, and is a comfortable and very hospitable stay. Leah and Gunnar are very welcoming, giving recommendations to all the great local spots. The beach is a small hike away and snorkel gear is provided. Plus, car rental is right on location. I'm so glad I stayed at Villa Marbella. Made my stay on St. Thomas even better.

Room Tip: The lofts both have slightly challenging stairs, so if mobility is an issue, stay in one of the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JagerSt_Thomas, Owner at Villa Marbella Suites, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review! We absolutely love our central location with amazing views and we're glad that you did too! Since we're a small island, most everything is just a short drive away. Having a rental car is a great way to see our paradise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We just returned from or trip & our fabulous stay @ Villa Marbella Suites. Hands down one of our best trips ever! We found our accomadations most pleasant. Leah & Gunnar were absolutely the best hosts we could have not been more pleased. From pick up @ the airport to the rental car and all of the free advce and suggestions ! WE fell in love w/ their adorable dog Jeager. He seemed to add such coziness to the whole place running to greet you whenever you came back from your day. Loved our view from the Cruzan room. Would hands down be back! This truly a rare find!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 458laurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JagerSt_Thomas, Owner at Villa Marbella Suites, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank you for the great review. I'm so glad that you love Jager as much as we do. The love you get from a dog is compared to no other! He is a gem and is wonderful with people as we have so many guests over the years. We look forward to having you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I had a great stay at Villa Marbella Suites. Traveling alone, I was a bit nervous about getting out and about, finding my way around the island. Leah and Gunnar went above an beyond to help me get around with maps and recommending the best beaches, restaurants and markets. The room itself was very clean and had everything I could need, including a mini fridge, microwave toaster, hot plate, etc. With the Villa being located up on a hill, the views were amazing and it was so quiet and peaceful. This was definitely a factor in making my St. Thomas vacation so wonderful.

Room Tip: I had the Mango Room, which I believe is the smallest, but as a solo traveler it was just right. A c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatchMeIfYouCan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JagerSt_Thomas, Owner at Villa Marbella Suites, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thanks for the great review! While perfect for couples, Villa Marbella is also wonderful for those traveling on their own. It is our pleasure to provide guests with recommendations and suggestions. Although the Mango room is small and cozy, it is very affordable for anyone who wants to visit St. Thomas and is perfect for people "on the go!" Yes, St. Thomas as is so beautiful, we love that you had so many wonderful experiences!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Just returned from a wonderful experience at Villa Marbella Suites. Traveled with a group of friends and we had the entire Villa to ourselves. Leah and Gunnar are the most accommodating people I have ever met. They have the most beautiful location inside and out. All the photos you see are exactly what the Villa looks like. The rooms are modern, clean and very comfortable. Whatever we needed - beach towels, coolers, directions, gas grill - Leah and Gunnar were able to help us out. All the rooms are nicely stocked with everything you could think of. The views are amazing. We had 5 days of 82 degrees and sunshine! As you can see from all the other reviews, this is THE place to stay when traveling to St. Thomas. We were welcomed like family and hated to leave. I still can't believe we found such an awesome place to stay. So if you are traveling to St. Thomas in the future, please be sure to stay at Villa Marbella Suites. It will be the best decision you ever made! Can't wait to go back.....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canandaiguaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JagerSt_Thomas, Owner at Villa Marbella Suites, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review and we are so happy that you had the best vacation! Please come back and stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2014

You know when you book a place online...and then it doesn't quite match the pictures?

Well, no worries here. First, the pictures don't do this property justice. It's beautiful, the views are amazing, and that pool is pretty much the best thing ever at the end of the day. Especially with a cold beer in your hand.

There's also an awesome beach just a short walk away. All you have to do is follow the trail from the driveway and boom...a deserted crescent-shape white sand beach, all yours. I felt like I was living in a postcard.

And Leah and Gunnar are great hosts. My fiancee and I were only staying for a couple of days before heading home. And for some reason, we decided not to rent a car.

Well, we realized our mistake within an hour or so of getting settled. And Leah was right there with a car for us--even with our last-second notice. She and Gunnar also gave us a ton of recommendations for stuff to check out on the island.

All in all, I'd happily give them six (stars? dots?). Or more.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JagerSt_Thomas, Owner at Villa Marbella Suites, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
What an awesome review, thank you so much! I am so glad that found we represent what we have, nothing that we don't! Yes, when you book with us, we suggest renting a car as it is the best way to see our beautiful island. We really try hard to keep visiting the Caribbean affordable, and our rental car prices are very competitive! We can't always garuntee that we will have a car available if you don't reserve early, as we are a small company, but we do our absolute best to make something available for you! Our rentals are 2012, 2013 and 2014 models!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Thomas hotels
3.8 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
4.1 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
0.8 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
979 reviews
3.5 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
665 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marbella Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marbella Suites

Property: Villa Marbella Suites
Address: 15-24 Frenchman's Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Specialty Lodging in St. Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Marbella Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing due south and looking down toward Frenchman's Bay and east to Charlotte Amalie (downtown St. Thomas), Villa Marbella Luxury Suites & BnB offers a truly unique combination of luxurious escape and the convenience of proximity to the beaches, shopping and dining offerings of St. Thomas. Situated on almost an acre of lushly landscaped mountainside, Villa Marbella offers unbeatable Caribbean sunsets, an inviting pool, and all rooms offer separate living and sleeping areas. A rental car is necessary for your stay. We have vehicles available or we can recommend other companies. If you rent from us we will pick you up from the airport and bring you back to the airport at the end of your visit! Check in is between 3:00 and 6:00 pm. We are sorry we cannot accommodate late night arrivals. Check out is 11:00am. Please note Villa Marbella is a Non-Smoking Property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Marbella Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marbella Hotel St. Thomas
Villa Marbella Suites St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing