We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING views!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Marbella Suites
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 3, 2014

I liked Villa Marbella a lot - it has a cozy atmosphere that you really can't get from the big chain hotels. Leah and Gunnar picked us up from the airport and we hung around the pool with the other guests each night, sharing beer and wine. The view from the pool is amazing. Their dog is super friendly and quiet. The location is a little remote which makes it a little hard to get to, but is also really wonderful (very quiet! No kids screaming while you're trying to relax by the pool!). You can certainly rent a car from the owners - we just opted not to do so because we were a little scared about driving on the left side of the road. However, you can also walk down to the nearby resort to call a cab. We were lucky enough to develop a relationship with a cab driver, who knows where the villa is and would come pick us up directly from there. Finally, there is a really private beach that you can hike down to from the villa.

The room was extremely clean and well stocked. The air conditioning was more than adequate, and there was wifi. It was a fantastic place to stay and would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JagerSt_Thomas, Owner at Villa Marbella Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

We're glad that you had a great time! We love being in a quiet area, that is not located in town, so that our guests can experience amazing views and feeling as if they have escaped to the Caribbean. We do suggest renting a car so that you can venture out and see all of St. Thomas and St. John, and almost all of our guests have had no problems driving here! We understand that driving in St. Thomas is not for everyone, though. Taxi's are available on island and can be called to pick you up here at the Villa or at the Beach Club right down the road!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 423 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014

An Extrordinary Property with Amazing Views and Wonderful Owners.
Leah & Gunner did a wonderful job of greeting us and making us feel right at home from the very beginning. They had Water in the fridge, Beach Towels & Bag at the ready, and A Bed ready for Resting. The view from our room was magnificent and not to mention the pool was right outside, if I wanted to go take a dip.
I have to say the best part for me was the Bed (My wife and I had our best sleep of our entire 5-day trip) & the view (Incredible view of the island as the Sun was going down).
Having been in the Hotel Inustry and traveling to many myriad hotels, I plan to stay here when I travel back to St Thomas with my close friends.
My only regret was I didn't know they offered rental car service. I would have definitely rented from them.

Room Tip: The Frenchman's Bay Loft was the Best!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jcooke6922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JagerSt_Thomas, Owner at Villa Marbella Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Thanks for the great review! We would love to have you back! Yes, we are licensed to offer rental cars and we do our absolute best to offer the best prices! Our islands are beautiful and we hope that you'll venture out and see all that there is to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed 5 nights in the mountainside Loft for our Honeymoon. The view from the room was amazing. Leah, Gunnar, and their Assistant (I forgot her name I apologize) were so helpful during our stay. When I booked our lodging with Leah, she recommended the rental car and for the price you could not beat. She picked us up at the airport and showed us a little of what St. Thomas had to offer. Having the car was very convenient. It took a minute to get the hang of driving on the left side but other that that we were off to explore. The Loft was very cozy and clean. Whatever we needed we just had to ask. This was best stayed I have ever experience and I look forward to returning with friends. We defiantly will be returning. Thanks again Leah and Gunner for your outstanding customer service and hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shonda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JagerSt_Thomas, Owner at Villa Marbella Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Thank you so much for your great review! We're glad that you had a wonderful experience with all of us from making your reservation, to your complimentary pickup when renting a car, to the villa and our hospitality! Monica strives to make your stay as enjoyable as we do! We would love to have you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We had family staying at the Marriott (less than 1 minute drive by car) and we were looking for something a bit quieter. Marbella was perfect. They only have 4 rooms and we rarely saw the other guests. We stayed in the Frenchman's Bay View Loft which had a private patio that opened right up to the pool and the amazing views. Everything was really well kept and clean. It was nice to have the refrigerator in the room - had a hot plate we didn't use too plus dishes and glasses that made it convenient to have breakfast/snacks and drinks in the room. They even have a community fridge with water/beer/ice at very reasonable prices. We rented a car from Marbella - highly recommended given the location - and the owners picked us up at the ferry when we arrived and dropped us off at the airport when we left - which was even more convenient then renting a car at the airport (no lines to wait in either time). Having rented cars on the island before, it was great getting what was an almost brand new and clearly well cared for rental car too. The rates were very reasonable - much less than my family paid at the Marriott and we didn't need to fight for our place at the pool!. I would highly recommend to anyone looking to get a great value on a relaxing and quiet place with amazing views on St Thomas. If you want restaurants and shops or resorts, they are a 10 minute drive away - it was so nice to come home to our quite little place on the hill. Owners Leah and Gunnar were fantastic hosts as well.

Room Tip: Frenchman's Bay View Loft was fantastic, but note that the circular stairs to the bed in the lof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JagerSt_Thomas, Owner at Villa Marbella Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Thanks so much for the great review on both Villa Marbella and our rental cars! We hope that you visit with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Our family vacation in the Virgin Islands (U.S. and BVI) lasted over a week, but the highlight of our trip were the few days we stayed at Villa Marbella. The owners picked us up, rented us vehicles, showed us the ins and outs of driving in St. Thomas, gave great recommendations for food/activities, and treated us like long lost friends. The place itself was miraculously clean, and I was impressed with the design/décor and how it felt homey yet upscale. They definitely went the extra mile to provide luxurious perks for their guests. The view from our patios and the pool cannot be beat. I absolutely loved staying here and can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JagerSt_Thomas, Owner at Villa Marbella Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

What a compliment! I'm so glad that we provided you the best of the Virgin Islands! We look forward to having you back in the future! Thank you so much for the great review. We love where we are and what we do so it means a lot that you were so pleased!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This is our second time to Villa Marbella Suites. The Virgins Islands are spectacular. So I am sure we will be back and will stay at Villa Marbella Suites again! The rooms are quite affordable for you to use the Villa as a home base when you go island hopping. We go to St. John a lot and we return to St. Thomas for the night. St. Thomas seems to have more amenities than St. John. So it all works out. The package deal that Leah and Gunnar have is great so that you can get the room and car with them. You can then take the car barge to St. John. Overall the whole trip is affordable enough to return again and again! Moreover, you get a discount for returning! All the more reason to use the Villa again!

The location:
We don't like going to Charlotte Amalie especially when the cruise ships are in town. The location of this Villa is such that this isn't a problem at all. Bolongo Bay and Red Hook (the ferry dock) are very close. So there are many eating out options 10-15 minutes away without hitting any crazy traffic. Food Center is about 15 minutes drive, where you can pick up groceries.

The rooms:

We stayed in the Frenchman's View Loft for the first three nights and the last night we were moved to the Mango room because they did not have any other rooms available. Leah took care of the room change. We just packed most of our stuff up and when we returned in the evening everything was nicely laid out in the Mango room.

The Frenchman's View Loft is a great two story room for couples. We like to cook some nights so that we can just sit and enjoy the evening and the breeze instead of eating out. The kitchenette is sufficiently equipped for the making salsa, tacos, chicken, fish etc. We also made breakfast every morning, usually eggs and toast, which was super easy in the kitchenette. We also had access to the grill, which made cooking skewered veggies, meats and fish a lot easier. Leah cleaned our dishes and provided more if we asked her. She also provides spices from her own kitchen if you want a dash of something. There is an honor system for a larger fridge near the front entrance that is stocked with water, sodas and beer. When you return from a warm day at the beach, it is a nice refreshing treat. The room is very romantic. The views are spectacular from the private balcony and the pool area. Although you can cool the room down very well with the split AC, you can also create a cross breeze in the evenings by opening the window in the bathroom and the front sliding doors. It feels quite fresh that way and you also decrease your carbon footprint.

The Mango room is much smaller than the Frenchman's View Loft. It is ideal for singles but you can manage with two people as well much like we did. The amenities are about the same as the Frenchman's View Loft but the space is much less. It is completely doable especially for the price for those couples on a budget.

The other perks: Almost every morning we were greeted by Jager, their awesome dog. Because I am a doglover, this was a very special treat for me:) Leah provides beach towels and other beach activity things in the room. If you want fresh towels, you can always ask her. Water comes at a premium on these islands. So we try to keep our towels dry and reuse them. This is us being responsible world citizens. The Villa can provide fresh towels everyday if you really want. We try to keep the room as clean as possible, but it seemed cleaner everyday when we returned. So someone, most likely Leah cleans when you are out and about. They also have a private beach that is quite secluded. We snorkeled at the beach and it has some neat stuff there like eel grass, corals, a lot of silversides, and many common reef fish. We even spotted a Barracuda and shark once. We got the Barracuda on video!

The car rental:
The car program is pretty flawless. You rent a car of your choice from their fleet of 20 or so cars. You get a ride from the airport to the Villa, and then you get your own car. When you return the car, you can vacuum out the sand and wipe out the sunscreen. They provide the vacuum. If you don't have time to do that, you can leave some money for the car cleaning staff.

Overall, Leah and Gunnar are very gracious. They treat you like friends but also give you the privacy that you want. Above all, they know what people need by talking to them and will make your experience as memorable as possible!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doglover144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JagerSt_Thomas, Owner at Villa Marbella Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thank you so much for the great review! We are so glad that you chose to return to Villa Marbella for both the Frenchman's Bay loft and our cozy Mango room! We do try to reduce the 'carbon footprint too" by having the guests use the towels a couple times before washing, but if they want them changed every day we are more than happy to do that too!
We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

My boyfriend Jay and I came to St Thomas for 4 nights and were so happy we chose to stay at Villa Marbella.

The room: We stayed in the Mountainside View Loft and it was perfect. We loved how big it was with the two levels and the decor was charming. It was probably the cleanest hotel room I have ever stayed in, seriously the place was spotless. The kitchenette was perfect for making a quick breakfast and storing some drinks. The longer we were there the more we felt like we were coming home after a day of adventuring. We were even greeted with a bottle of rum!

The property: The villa has lots of parking so you park just steps from your room. Each room has a private entrance and private balcony with amazing views so you feel almost like you're the only ones staying there. The pool is the highlight, watch the sunsets from here. There's also an honor fridge if you need a quick water bottle or some ice, etc. They make it super easy. It's located in a pretty central area so its easy to get around the island quickly.

The people: Leah, Gunnar, Monica and Jaeger (the pooch) were such friendly, welcoming hosts. They answered all of our many questions, gave great suggestions on where to eat and where to go, and just made our trip easy. Leah even let me print my boarding pass in her office and graciously filled up our Jeep when we had forgotten to get gas before leaving. Renting a car from them was the least expensive option and included airport pickup and drop off.

Can't wait to come stay again!

Room Tip: They all have private balconies and spectacular views. Can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargoLuvsTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JagerSt_Thomas, Owner at Villa Marbella Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thank you so much for your spectacular review! We are so glad that you enjoyed the Mountainside Loft! We really do our absolute best to make sure the room is clean, reasonably priced and provide privacy for our guests. We would love to have you back and hope you'll be staying with us again soon in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Thomas hotels
3.8 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
3.5 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
3.7 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marbella Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marbella Suites

Address: 15-24 Frenchman's Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in St. Thomas
Price Range: $100 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Marbella Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing due south and looking down toward Frenchman's Bay and east to Charlotte Amalie (downtown St. Thomas), Villa Marbella Luxury Suites & BnB offers a truly unique combination of luxurious escape and the convenience of proximity to the beaches, shopping and dining offerings of St. Thomas. Situated on almost an acre of lushly landscaped mountainside, Villa Marbella offers unbeatable Caribbean sunsets, an inviting pool, and all rooms offer separate living and sleeping areas. A rental car is necessary for your stay. We have vehicles available or we can recommend other companies. If you rent from us we will pick you up from the airport and bring you back to the airport at the end of your visit! Check in is between 3:00 and 6:00 pm. We are sorry we cannot accommodate late night arrivals. Check out is 11:00am. Please note Villa Marbella is a Non-Smoking Property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Villa Marbella Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marbella Hotel St. Thomas
Villa Marbella Suites St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing