We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Marbella Great Choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Marbella Suites
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Villa Marbella Great Choice!”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Villa Marbella. Really can't say enought great things about the property and owners Leah and Gunner. Everything there was provided that was needed to make our stay comfortable and memorable. The view outside the Frenchman's Suite was spectacular overlooking the ocean. We personally enjoyed the personalized service over a larger resort. Also nice it is outside Charlotte Amelie, enjoyed the quietness. The beach access is great, enjoyed it being private, the walk down is also neat if you enjoy hiking some real neat atmosphere. For a first time coming to the Virgin Islands this was a great place to stay being picked up at the airport, renting the car at the Suite, and getting all information from hosts such as places where to go. It can be confusing at first coming to a new place navigating on your own. Would definitely recommend Villa Marbella to anyone looking for a great stay!

Room Tip: Would recommend the Frenchman's Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JagerSt_Thomas, Owner at Villa Marbella Suites, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for such a great review of our hospitality here at Villa Marbella and with our vehicle rentals! We truly love what we do and hope that all of our guests have an amazing vacation! Looking forward to having you stay again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    22
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
55
265
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Villa sits on mountainside overlooking the ocean and hills. absolutely beautiful. Leah and Gunnar were wonderful hosts and lots of fun! We went out snorkeling/boating with Gunnar and he is a fantastic tour guide. I would highly recommend Villa Marbella for your stay on St Thomas.
Kelly & Paul

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank km0717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JagerSt_Thomas, Owner at Villa Marbella Suites, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for the great review for Villa Marbella and Blue Paradise Boat Charters! We're so glad that you would recommend us and that you enjoyed your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2014

As noted by others Leah and Gunnar were fabulous hosts who took care of us during our wonderful St. Thomas vacation. My wife and I stayed in the Frenchman's room, which was comfortable, and the view was amazing. We walked the trail down to the beach in Frenchman's Bay on a Saturday and were the only souls there! We toured St. Thomas and St. John in the jeep rented from Leah, used their beach towels / chairs, and snorkel gear; all was blissfully hassle free. I will say the small spiral staircase in the villa which leads to the bedroom loft is only for slender people. All in all a great vacation with wonderful people assisting us with all of our needs.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike54321252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JagerSt_Thomas, Owner at Villa Marbella Suites, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you very the great review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time at Villa Marbella and that you enjoyed our service with the rental car!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Just returned from another fabulous trip to St. Thomas and Villa Marbella just gets better every year. Leah and Gunnar have really nice new cars to rent and they even pick you up at the airport which is a big plus. Besides lounging around their beautiful pool with the most unbelievable view of the Caribbean they have a boat and Captain that will take you out for a ride. It doesn't get much better that this. I would highly recommend this Villa to anyone wanting to get away from the cold winter or just any time of the year.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sal055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JagerSt_Thomas, Owner at Villa Marbella Suites, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thanks so much for the great review! We're so happy that you enjoyed the room, views and the rental car! We try to make your vacation as enjoyable as possible, so I'm happy to hear that you had a great time! Look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My wife and I are experienced travelers. We know what we like and what we don't. We have travelled every year for the past 8 years to St Thomas and each time have stayed at Villa Marbella. It provides us with exactly what we need in a vacation. Clean accommodations, close proximity to restaurants, great views, great rental cars, gas grill, friendly atmosphere, refreshments for purchase, pool, refrigerator and cook-top, access to boating excursions (Turtle Cove, Jost Van Dyke, St John, Honeymoon Bay). We simply love staying here every year and next year plan on extending our stay. The hosts have become our friends over the years. The villa location is in a quiet upscale neighborhood in the Frenchman's Bay area. Enjoy a rum punch while watching the sun set in the West. Watch the cruise ships slowly come in and leave each day. Hop in your rental car and easily reach downtown, grocery store, nightlife, etc. Need to do a little business?...enjoy reliable internet access along with print/scan capabilities. Walking trails. Generator in case power goes out. Beautiful landscaping. Knowledgeable hosts who can advise you on attractions, directions, restaurants, etc. Relax and enjoy a wonderful stay in Paradise. I guarantee you will return again and again.

Room Tip: We always try and stay in the Cruzan room. You can see St Croix, Puerto Rico, Vieques from the prop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cliffman2918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JagerSt_Thomas, Owner at Villa Marbella Suites, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thanks so much for the great review! It means a lot to us when you guests that come year after year. We can't tell you how much it means to us. Thank you for choosing us when we know there are so many places to choose from!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Villa Marbella is really a bed and breakfast (without the breakfast :)) in a beautiful spot in Frenchman's bay. The owners Leah and Gunnar are very nice and accomodating....Gunnar also has a boat and can take you on an all day boat ride. View from a couple of the rooms is amazing and you have access to an almost private beach. Note you have to drive everywhere as roads are narrow and there are no sidewalks. Also, a LOT of musquitos and noseums on the island. Came back with lots of bites.
Now for the constructive feedback: Towels smelled musty sometimes...even after getting fresh ones(wash with hotter water? dry longer) and Mango room was pretty aweful(the other two rooms Mountain and Frenchmans bay were very nice) Last but not least, I would recommend some wardrobes to store all the cooking paraphenalia in...as the rooms got cluttered very easily and there is no area to prepare food in some of the rooms. Also would recommend Gunnar and Leah perhaps get a picnic table on the property somewhere as there is nowhere to sit and eat at the table.

Overall this was a wonderful stay and we want to thank Leah and Gunnar for everything.

Room Tip: The Mountain room is the best with Frenchman's bay a good runner up. Avoid the Mango room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lidwina_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JagerSt_Thomas, Owner at Villa Marbella Suites, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Gunnar and I appreciate the 5 stars very much! We had a wonderful time meeting you, your family and friends and very much enjoyed hosting you. Your suggestions are very much appreciated and we are ALWAYS looking for ways to improve our guests’ experience. Regarding the towels, believe me: they are BAKED to perfection! While we haven’t had complaints about them being musty in the past, it’s not surprising given the humidity down here in paradise. We will address this important issue – who wants musty towels, especially on their vacation?? – by making sure that we time it so arriving guests get just-laundered towels when arriving, not clean towels that may have been sitting for days. Also, the picnic table and in room pantries are both good suggestions which we will consider carefully…but it’s always about putting more amenities and features in a finite space.

We were so surprised that you threw our cute little Mango Room under the bus! (-: Seriously: we’re hardly objective as the owners, of course, but many guests LOVE the Mango Room and we’ve had many annual re-bookings! It is indeed very tiny but comfortable, and incredibly inexpensive. But we get it: everyone has their own preferences, and we truly welcome the sincerity of your feedback as only honest feedback helps us tweak and optimize the Villa Marbella guest experience. Thank you again for the review and Gunnar and I will continue improving and refining Villa Marbella to make it the best it can be! Leah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Villa Marbella is a beautiful property to stay at. The view is unbelievably beautiful. Everything is in tiptop shape and very clean. I could spend days just lounging around the lovely pool area looking at the spectacular view. The owners could not be more helpful and gracious. You can rent a nice vehicle right from the property. I doubt that you could do better anywhere on the island.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JagerSt_Thomas, Manager at Villa Marbella Suites, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thanks for the great review and for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Thomas hotels
3.8 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
3.5 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
3.6 mi away
Paradise Cove Oceanfront Villas & Suites
3.7 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marbella Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marbella Suites

Property: Villa Marbella Suites
Address: 15-24 Frenchman's Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Specialty Lodging in St. Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Marbella Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing due south and looking down toward Frenchman's Bay and east to Charlotte Amalie (downtown St. Thomas), Villa Marbella Luxury Suites & BnB offers a truly unique combination of luxurious escape and the convenience of proximity to the beaches, shopping and dining offerings of St. Thomas. Situated on almost an acre of lushly landscaped mountainside, Villa Marbella offers unbeatable Caribbean sunsets, an inviting pool, and all rooms offer separate living and sleeping areas. A rental car is necessary for your stay. We have vehicles available or we can recommend other companies. If you rent from us we will pick you up from the airport and bring you back to the airport at the end of your visit! Check in is between 3:00 and 6:00 pm. We are sorry we cannot accommodate late night arrivals. Check out is 11:00am. Please note Villa Marbella is a Non-Smoking Property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Marbella Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marbella Hotel St. Thomas
Villa Marbella Suites St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing