We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay on the island!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Marbella Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Marbella Suites
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best place to stay on the island!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

My two sisters and I just spent an amazing week at Villa Marabella and we had the most incredible experience! Leah and Gunner (and Yager!) were the most gracious, helpful hosts and made us feel so at home. The pool was clean and refreshing and the view of the ocean from our room was breathtaking. We also rented a Jeep from them and it was in perfect condition, well priced and made getting around the island a breeze. We can't wait to go back - we can't say enough about how wonderful our experience was there! :)

Jen, Jessie and Justine

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    21
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
52
259
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
vancouver b.c.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We just spent two awesome weeks at Villa Marbella in the Frenchman’s View Loft. Could not have asked for anything better! Breathtaking views, super hosts, everything we needed for our stay was available to us. Very private with a beautiful pool, easy access to a private beach, that we only ever saw two people on in two weeks we were there. Loved it so much we are already booked to go back again Feb 2014. Also a bonus that Leah will pick you up from the airport and drop you off when you have to go home. Made everything super easy and stress free. They also have vehicles that you can rent which saves the hassle of using a rental car company at the airport. St Thomas is a beautiful island with lots to do and see. Leah and Gunnar are really helpful with any questions about restaurants, siteseeing etc. It’s like having a personal concierge at your fingertips. Fun watching the cruise ships come and go every day. The spectacular sunsets prompted us to try and be back there after our daily adventures to take in the sunset. The mini kitchen is perfect for breakfast and if you want to prepare light meals. We haven’t done a repeat location for our vacations in many years, (since Hawaii) so for us to be returning to the same locale next year, is truly a testament to how great it is. Thanks again Leah and Gunnar for a wonderful stay at your villa.

Room Tip: Frenchmans View Loft faces the pool. Our favorite of the suites available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viv N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherokee Village, Arkansas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We first stayed with Leah at Villa Marbella in Feb of 2011, at that time we said after staying on St. Thomas for over 20 years we had finally found our final vacation home. We stay for two weeks when were on island and enjoy the "Mountaintop Loft" as our base. We are able to use
kitchenette for breakfast and making lunch before we head out for the day. We have always rented a car at the airport but Leah now has at least three car which she has available for rental. Leah travels herself and has taken from those experiences to provide quality accomadations for her guests. Before we left this year we booked for 3 weeks with a car next year.
If you are considering Villa Marbella for your vacation read the other reviews they are right
on point. Enjoy !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stt0720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wautoma, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. The views are incredible and the room more than met our needs The room was spotless and very comfortable. Our room had an efficiency kitchen so that we could enjoy breakfast before leaving for the day. Leah is the perfect host. She is always there if you need her but not intrusive. We used the pool every night to relax from our day's adventures and then asked Leah for recommendations for dinners. The atmosphere is quiet which was perfect for us. After a day of zip lining or shopping, it was a pleasure to come back and just relax. The transportation to and from the airport was one of the highlights for a stress free visit. We definitely would go back and stay again!!!! (Especially to see Jaeger the perfect host dog.)

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cruzan room and our view looked like it came from a post card.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Villa Marbella in February 2013 on our first trip to the USVI. Our stay could not have been better.

Here's Villa Marbella in a nutshell (in no particular order):

1) Private beach - not small, seriously private (never saw anyone else on it), see photo. This should immediately make this a contender with any luxury villas in the USVI.

2) Incredible views - the house is perched on the top of a hill at the end of a peninsula with incredible views of the south side of the island, water island, etc.

3) Quiet - we were coming from Manhattan. I wanted quiet, and it was. I loved it.

4) Great pool - The pool was a perfect size and a great place to watch the sunset

5) Kitchenettes - it is so nice to have a keurig, refrigerator, toaster, etc. for simple breakfasts in the morning on the beach or snacks at night.

6) Clean - Each room was spotless, sheets/towels were perfect, etc.

6) Owners - we never met Gunner, but Leah could not have been better. She loves this island and it shows. Her excitement and enthusiasm is infectious and makes it really easy to get excited about the USVI for more than just the beach.

All and all, we had a great time, and owe much of that to Leah and Villa Marbella.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yurgosky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Newbury, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Futon! That was in the back of my mind!
But being experienced travelers, Villa Marabella's sterling reputation, spectacular views and location and tempting pool outweighed any concerns. I'd checked out the photos...lovely decor, efficient use of space, with every imaginable need met, even pick up at the airport and car rental available! No small bonus with expensive taxis and unpredictable availability for a car.( and believe me, you do need a car to explore!) Most importantly, Leah and Gunnar are superb hosts and good people! Welcoming, considerate, knowledgeable and fascinating travelers themselves, their top priority is their guests satisfaction. So back to the spotless Mango room's futon. It was so comfortable, that we got an outstanding night's sleep. The mattress is the equivalent of a full size bed and the view through the door of the villas sprinkling the hillsides is mesmerizing. It is quite amazing the value provided by this choice! And you will feel like a pampered guest!

Room Tip: The Mango room is an excellent choice for the budget traveler. Although small, it is efficient. Ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pattyw78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We love this venue! We stayed in the mango room for a few nights - it was quaint, clean and ideal because we spent the daylight hours around the island. We then spent a few nights in the Frenchmans View room...and WOW - it was a wonderful upgrade! There is more room in the suite and it has its own covered patio with comfy chairs. Leah and Gunnar also rent cars for a very reasonable price. As others have stated, you do need a rental car if staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kate l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Thomas hotels
4.1 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
0.7 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
4.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
3.5 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
3.6 mi away
Paradise Cove Oceanfront Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marbella Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marbella Suites

Property: Villa Marbella Suites
Address: 15-24 Frenchman's Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Specialty Lodging in St. Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Marbella Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing due south and looking down toward Frenchman's Bay and east to Charlotte Amalie (downtown St. Thomas), Villa Marbella Luxury Suites & BnB offers a truly unique combination of luxurious escape and the convenience of proximity to the beaches, shopping and dining offerings of St. Thomas. Situated on almost an acre of lushly landscaped mountainside, Villa Marbella offers unbeatable Caribbean sunsets, an inviting pool, and all rooms offer separate living and sleeping areas. A rental car is necessary for your stay. We have vehicles available or we can recommend other companies. If you rent from us we will pick you up from the airport and bring you back to the airport at the end of your visit! Check in is between 3:00 and 6:00 pm. We are sorry we cannot accommodate late night arrivals. Check out is 11:00am. Please note Villa Marbella is a Non-Smoking Property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villa Marbella Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marbella Hotel St. Thomas
Villa Marbella Suites St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing