We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, great views, Close...yet far enough away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Marbella Suites
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Just a note to say thanks, we had a wonderful time staying in the Cruzan suite at your place in St. Thomas. Alex was an AWESOME host and tended to our every need. We loved having Jaeger (the dog) around too!

Each evening we loved coming back to enjoy a relaxing cocktail on the veranda, looking out onto the ocean--fantastic views.

Thanks again for accommodating our scheduling needs. Everything worked out
great. We hope to return to the islands very soon.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m1stoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 423 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2011

The reviews that I read before I came lived up to its reputation. Hosts: Leah and Gunnar were, well, the perfect hosts! The accomodations all fit my specfic needs: private, beautiful, quaint, clean, island decor throughout, styled very tastefully. You can tell it had a woman's touch by the minor details.

The location is remote enough to be quiet yet convenient to downtown, stores and nightlife. I highly recommend Villa Marbella Suites - has it all minus room service :)

It is advisable to have sturdy transportation for these parts - jeep is ideal.

Thanks Leah & Gunnnar (and their doggie)!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frisky26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Villa Mirabella was a dream come true. A beautiful house sitting atop the hillside. Quiet, spotless, accomodating....pool, wonderful view. The inn keepers Leah and Gunner were there to help us with excursion plans, places to eat, how to rent a car, make a reservation. WE LOVED IT> We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljones63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Villa Marbella for 7 nights in March 2011. Leah was so accomodating and pleasant, her and Gunnar made our stay so enjoyable. We stayed in the Frenchman's Loft for 5 night and the Mountainside Loft for 2 nights. They were both very clean, well prepared, cooking utensils, hot plates, extra linens, everything you need for the beach, etc. They went above and beyond to make out stay the best ever. They offered great recommendations for dining out and they also have a grill for the meals that we wanted to stay and hang out by the pool. The view is extraordinary. One of our favorites was the dog, Jager....we miss you already Jag. We would HIGHLY recommend Villa Marbella to anyone and we can't wait to return! Thanks Gunnar and Leah for a trip we'll never forget.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 728ambera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

What a view! I stayed in the cruzan room which overlooks St. Croix and Puerto Rico! Perched above a private beach it is a sight to behold! The room was spotless, and had all of the comforts of home included! The beach chairs, umbrella, and portable cooler saved me money at the beach!! The shower was hot and the bed was cozy, but the difference maker for me were the owners. I felt like a relative not a traveler, they are warm and friendly. I felt like I could borrow a cup of sugar like a good neighbor or just smile on my way to my room. Simply perfect and for a fraction of a corporate conglomerate. I will be back and suggest you try this place out if you want a great stay!!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBoothLINY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

The owners’ hospitality went way above and beyond my expectations. I definitely need to rave about their attitude toward excellent service and willingness to make my stay very enjoyable, providing any extra things or services I might need. They even invited me in their home several evenings to chat, watch a movie, have a drink, etc.

The property is situated with excellent, expansive views of the ocean and great viewing of cruise ships coming and going. The sunsets were very beautiful and relaxing to watch from the pool deck or each room’s own patio. The room was very nice, comfortable, quaint, nicely decorated, had pretty much everything I could need, and it was easy to feel like home away from home. I also liked that I could prepare simple meals in the kitchenette in my room when I wanted.

Since I didn’t want to rent a car, I was able to get taxis to drop me off at the nearby beach club down the hill as right now most taxis aren’t familiar with the location of the Villa or are not willing to go up the hill, though that may hopefully change as time goes on. Most people will probably want to rent a car and the owners do give you excellent directions with landmarks. A big thank you to Leah and Gunnar for taking time to give me a ride to the ferry, while pointing out places of note along the way, and mailing a package for me. You wouldn’t get service like that at many places.

I had a very enjoyable stay at Villa Marbella and would definitely recommend it to anyone, especially for people wanting a more private, quiet, out-of-the-way location with great views, easier on the budget, and excellent service and on-site owners. The personal service and attention was among the best I have experienced anywhere! Thanks Leah and Gunnar!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunnyN80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

The location of the villa is very private with fantasitc views. I would higly recommend the villa to lodge and hang out. The small beach down the hill from the villa is very nice and private. Provides for some interesting snorkeling.
Leah is exceptional in pointing out local hangouts.
Provided during our stay was a cooler, beach chairs, snorkeling gear. I appreciated these small amenities very much.
You must rent a car in St. Thomas. Easy to get to the ferry at Red Hook and go to St. John's.
I will return to this villa in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimee017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Thomas
3.8 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
4.1 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
2.6 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
733 reviews
7.4 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
858 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#4 of 5 in East End
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marbella Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marbella Suites

Address: 15-24 Frenchman's Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in St. Thomas
Price Range: $100 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Marbella Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing due south and looking down toward Frenchman's Bay and east to Charlotte Amalie (downtown St. Thomas), Villa Marbella Luxury Suites & BnB offers a truly unique combination of luxurious escape and the convenience of proximity to the beaches, shopping and dining offerings of St. Thomas. Situated on almost an acre of lushly landscaped mountainside, Villa Marbella offers unbeatable Caribbean sunsets, an inviting pool, and all rooms offer separate living and sleeping areas. A rental car is necessary for your stay. We have vehicles available or we can recommend other companies. If you rent from us we will pick you up from the airport and bring you back to the airport at the end of your visit! Check in is between 3:00 and 6:00 pm. We are sorry we cannot accommodate late night arrivals. Check out is 11:00am. Please note Villa Marbella is a Non-Smoking Property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Marbella Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marbella Hotel St. Thomas
Villa Marbella Suites St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing