We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,106)
Filter reviews
1,106 results
Traveler rating
676
268
101
33
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
676
268
101
33
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club level lady lynsey sails restaurant water sports coconut cove beautiful property golf cart paddle boards nespresso machine hobie cats turn down service blue water bottle of champagne st john virgin gorda infinity pool resort fee
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,106 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The booking will simply state that there are some repairs happening during off hours due to the hurricane damage. However, this is major renovation and Marriott should have closed down this property and noted that it was inoperable until renovations were completed. I definitely understand the need to keep the people of St Thomas employed & continue to acquire revenue from the property as these renovations are underway but the customer's comfort is not considered at all. Please note that you will be staying on an active construction site that begins work early in the morning and ends in the evening. The deception is that it is marketed as 5 star resort but not providing the luxury experience worth the 5 star price point you will pay. The staff is friendly and will do their best to accommodate customers but I do not believe that the support is there from Ritz Carlton/Marriott. Marriott should close this property down and allocate resources to expedite and complete the renovations. People spend hard earned money to vacation and should be pleased with the experience.

Room tip: Choose a different hotel
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea B, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Helen,

Thank you for your review. We are highly disappointed that we were not able to meet your expectations. The property is currently operating with limited services as we renovate to re-open as a luxury resort in 2019. We hope to have another opportunity to provide you with a memorable experience once we complete our property enhancement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2018

They are still charging Ritz prices for basically a place to crash.

We paid $369/night before tax.

We got to the hotel and wandered around with our luggage for like 10 minutes because the signs to find check in were weird and confusing.

Check-in was pleasant and the receptionist was friendly and fast.
They called the golf cart to take us/luggage to our room

Room was nice inside with comfy beds and super nice bathroom. We had an oceanview with balcony and the views were nice.

This is where the GOOD ends.

BAD:
*AC in room barely worked. Would never get below 75 even though we set it low.
*Thin rooms! We heard the construction and people and barely slept.
*Construction started at 6AM- oi!
*NO amenities- no where on beach/pool to get a drink
*Had to get our own towels from behind the area and many times there were NONE
*Beach- had to drag our own (HEAVY!) chairs down every day!
*Beach- Bobcat was cleaning up seaweed in front of us daily- ugh!
*Had to leave every day for lunch and dinner- $$$$$

The worse for us is the first night we were there- I have never felt so UNSAFE in my entire travels (and I travel a ton!)
The man next to us in our CONNECTING room was beating the crap out of his wife. Like violent and yelling and breaking stuff and she was screaming he was trying to kill her! We were SO scared and I called security and they took 45 MINUTES to come!
I had to prop chairs under the doors handles because we were afraid he would come attack us since we were the only people there and he had to know it was us who called.

Overall, the money for what you get was NOT good. They should not be charging these prices for basically no amenities

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TravellingGirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea B, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2018

Dear Travelling Girl 55,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. We will review the details of your stay with our operations team for improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2018

Room was okay view not that great for how many people were staying at the hotel. I am a platinum member and was not given an option for a room upgrade or to a better view room. Place was under construction and more workers then guests. Breakfast buffet was a joke, self serve everything,bacon and sausage was sitting in grease eggs were sitting in water bottom of the tray. potatoes and french toast were cold along with the eggs and sausage and bacon. You had a 8 oz fruit cup covered with plastic.should I go on. And the worst part was when the waitress finally did come over it was to give us our bill at $40.00 per person. WHAT A RIP OFF AND THEN TO HAVE TO TIP 18 PERCENT BECAUSE THERE WERE 4 PEOPLE AT THE TABLE.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank kraftyone001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea B, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2018

Dear Kraftyone,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. At this time we are unable to provide the standard benefits associated with your membership level. This information will be reviewed as we look to improve the quality of our guests experiences during our renovation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile

This review was supposed to be entitled, Don’t Come They aren’t Ready. And in some ways they aren’t. There are three uninhabitable buildings, one restaurant, no concierge, more workmen than employees but...the employees are amazing. Our first room was not great, the “ocean view” wasn’t, the bathroom door didn’t really close. But the second room was great. Staff moved our stuff and even found the food we had in the fridge we had forgotten. Charles, a bartender, is engaging and makes a superb rum punch. (It’s not on the menu, ask him for his drink)

Bottom line, I probably would not return, but because it just wasn’t my type of resort, fully functioning or not.

Should you come? Have you rented a car? Are you trapped here or just using this as a base? This place is barebones and it is an active construction site, but the staff is fantastic and the view, once you get it, is beautiful. Only you know what amenities you want. In our time here it seems that every place on the island is recovering.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
8  Thank wmsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STTRZGM, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2018

Dear WMSC,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations. As you mentioned certain areas of the resort are under renovation. We look forward to the completion of the renovation as we further enhance our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2018

Warning - The hotel is under total renovation - some rooms are open during the construction. Construction lasts from 6:00 am - 6:00 pm - everyday!!!!! There is no elevator - lots and lots of stairs. Not good with luggage and no help and the heat. The rooms are comfortable though - except for bug and refrigerator freezing all the food.

Date of stay: September 2018
7  Thank CareBarelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea B, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2018

DearCareBarec,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We apologize for not meeting your expectations. Perhaps you would consider returning when we complete our renovation and re-open next year as a premier resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews