We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice views but I would continue on to Mountain Top” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drake's Seat

Drake's Seat
Book In Advance
More Info
$47.50*
and up
St Thomas Island Tour: Mountain Top and St. Peter's Great House
Ranked #20 of 147 things to do in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The vantage point where Sir Francis Drake was supposed to have looked for enemy ships of the Spanish fleet, this lookout includes a panoramic view of the Virgin Islands where the Atlantic Ocean joins the Caribbean Sea
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1,274 reviews
677 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 543 helpful votes
“Nice views but I would continue on to Mountain Top”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is a common stop for the tour buses and they pull unload, people pile out and take a picture, then pile back in... I rented a car while on the island and pulled in for a bit. The views are nice of Magens Bay and St Johns but the view is better from Mountain Top. Either way both views are nice but essentially the same. I would do one or the other unless you are here for a long time

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank TryppAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    104
    43
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great spot for pictures of St. John and Tortola”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Also a nice view of Magen's Bay and the Peterburg area. Be careful crossing the street though, there are blind corners in both directions and the cabs sometimes don't slow down.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great view of Magens Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Excellent view of Magens Bay and the islands and Cays beyond. Picture to frame. The view is what vacations are made for.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Herberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nothing to it.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Just a nice scenic spot to pull over and view harbor, city and surrounding islands. It is a beautiful view.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank cosmicsole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
258 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Unbelievable view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

My wife and I visted St Thomas during a cruise vacation in April. While there, we took an excursion to Maegan's Bay for the day. After a splendid day on the beach, we asked our taxi driver to stop at Drake's Seat. The views of Maegan's Bay and the landscape is absolutely fabulous. We took some pictures that were so magnificent that we had them enlarged and framed. Our dining room now has excellent reminders of the beautiful Caribbean view from Drake's Seat. Don't miss it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jmacch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drake's Seat also viewed

Magens Bay, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to Drake's Seat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing