We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great history hike!”
Review of Hassel Island

Hassel Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$88.99*
and up
Hassel Island Kayak, Hike and Snorkel Tour
Ranked #45 of 149 things to do in St. Thomas
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A haven for hikers, more than 135 acres of this island located in Charlotte Amalie harbor is part of the Virgin Islands National Park.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great history hike!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is a great way to learn about the history of st thomas and it's importance and impact on the history of the USA and the world. Doc, first of all, thank you for your service. Second, thank you for a great tour! Your expertise and passion for the island made for a great experience.
The hike is focused on the history of the area, but the views of St Thomas during the hike are unique and great photo ops.
As to the hike, the terrain is very easy, but several uphill sections
might have you panting.
Highly recommend if you like to know more about where you are.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank fred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Average hike , awesome guide”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Doc is awesome very friendly and knowledgeable . Hike is moderate and at places slippery due to loose soil and difficult to tread .very few part is pretty . Go only if really interested in the hassle island history and not expecting a beautiful hike .

Helpful?
1 Thank Gapluching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do not miss while in St. Thomas!”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Hassel Island tours are run by the St. Thomas Historical Trust. Doc & his assistant are outstanding guides. We arranged our tour in advance, everyone was very helpful. http://stthomashistoricaltrust.org Our cruise ship stopped in St. Thomas & we were looking for something different to do besides shopping & beach while there. Definitely bring water & hiking shoes/sandals. We are relatively fit people & would consider this hike moderately challenging. They provided walking sticks which were helpful. This was our 3rd trip to St. Thomas, hiking Hassel Island was our favorite activity there. LOVED THIS!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

I loved this hike. But....be aware that this is a moderate hike with over 1000 feet elevation change....multiple times. I wore dock shoes and was ok but wish I had at least sneakers or hiking shoes. The hike is self explanatory but finding the correct path wasnt always easy. Just look for the widest most obvious way. You cant get too lost. We went over with Sea Tow out of Frenchtown Bay Harbor. The Captain lives there at the harbor and only charged $6 each roundtrip. Call him at 3407774869. He will drop you off at start of hike and pick you up 3 hours later. He provided a hiking NPS map and tips. Bring water. There are no facilities other than mother nature. I recommend first part of day or last 4 hrs of sunlight. Avoid peak sun hours because it is good exercise and you will sweat on this hike. Totally worth it though...enjoy.

Helpful?
2 Thank Smash38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't Miss Doc!”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We toured Hassel Island with Doc as an excursion when our cruise ship stopped in St. Thomas. This is the tour run by the St. Thomas Historical Trust. Priced at just $40/person, this is without question the best money you will spend on the island. The tour is informative but more importantly, we were all absolutely impressed by the passion that Doc brings to the tours and the work that he and the other volunteers are doing on the island. He and the others involved with the trust are discovering new things about the island all the time, acting as historical sleuths to put clues together from things like tariff records or serial numbers taken from tools or machinery. It is all incredibly fascinating. The hike is great. The island impressive. Doc is just an amazing person. All in all a great afternoon for our family of 5 (2 adults and kids aged 19, 18 and 16).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2traveltheparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hassel Island also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to Hassel Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing