We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, same tacky gift shop.”
Review of Mountain Top

Mountain Top
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.00*
and up
St Thomas Island Tour: Mountain Top and St. Peter's Great House
Ranked #20 of 150 things to do in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This cafeteria and bar claims not only spectacular views from its 1,500 feet perch on the summit of St. Peter Mountain, but is the inventor of the famous banana daiquiri.
Oley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Great view, same tacky gift shop.”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We were hoping with the rebuilding of Mountain Top that the large gift shop would be worth stopping in for - but we were disappointed. Same cheap tacky gifts you find in town and havensight. The one plus is the beautiful view from the lookout deck - I would skip this though the next time and stop at the Greathouse instead.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RNjen61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    338
    187
    45
    21
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Back after fire several years ago.”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Mountain Top is a tourist trap with a gorgeous view of Megan's Bay from a free observation deck. There are plenty of shopping opportunities between the entrance and that observation deck for those that love to shop. Also, the highlight of Mountain Top (besides the view) is the bar where you can get a 'World Famous' Banana Daquari. Although you can order almost any drink at this well stocked bar...the banana is their claim to fame.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bjdrn98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“awesome view”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

If you ever get a chance to go to ST Thomas go to the top of the mountain, the view is phenomenal!!!! it will take your breath away.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrscherry210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
568 reviews
213 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Great view, but just another gift shop”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This store is huge and there are tons of things to buy, but the prices weren't the best. The view was worth the trip up. We were party poopers for not getting the banana daquaris, but at $9 for a small cup we decided it was a bit high. It drizzled a bit while we were up there so we waited for some clouds to clear and you could see so many islands and get a great view. Lots of tourist busses dropping off loads of people. We drove up on our own and it worked out because we found an even better "driveway" on the way down that had a view of the downtown area. I would recommend that view too, it was just before the entrance if you go up on 40. You could see the airport and cruise ships. It's worth a look and lots of variety in the shop and since it's free to enter, why not?!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank HanKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tignish, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exquisite!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you visit St Thomas, you have to go to the Mountain Top! The view is just breathtaking, the banana daiquiri was delicious, cold and filled with Cruzan Rum! Just about any and every souvenir you could imagine is available in this shop, prices aren't too bad either.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank WendiKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Top also viewed

 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to Mountain Top? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing