We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great and easy to get to from Crown Bay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Honeymoon Beach

Honeymoon Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$135.00*
and up
St Thomas Shore Excursion: Reef and Turtle Discovery with Honeymoon Beach
Ranked #7 of 147 things to do in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great and easy to get to from Crown Bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Four of us recently came to Water Island while docked at Crown Bay on the Royal Princess. It's a great rustic beach and the water taxi is easy to use, but it appears that Water Island's Honeymoon Beach is now being visited more often by party boats making it not quite as quiet and romantic as in prior years. Snorkeling is OK but not great. Bring your own gear and swim out from the beach at the far left shore and be careful of sea urchins in the rocks. Still, a $10 water taxi ride to a nice beach beats a $50 ship excursion any day of the week!

Hint: The grocery in the marina is very well stocked and pretty reasonable for shopping on the way back to the ship. Since most ships allow passengers to bring a bottle of wine on board, stopping at the market can make the evening very relaxing and make the savings from an independent day trip even more worthwhile.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank des124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    121
    32
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“More crowded, looks like the secret is out.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

My husband and I love Water Island. It was our second time to Water Island as shopping in St. Thomas is just not our thing. This time, we hopped the ferry and instead of heading straight to the beach, we hiked to Fort Seggara and then headed to the beach. It was a lovely, slightly overcast day just perfect for a hike. The Fort was mostly underground and we were lucky enough to have a flashlight with us to head to the underneath part. Be aware, this fort has not been maintained at all. The grounds are overgrown and the underground area is not really that safe. However, it is a neat fort compared to what we usually see (civil war, spanish forts). After the fort, the short walk to the beach was nice. This is one of my favorite beaches anywhere. The water is warm, the waves are tiny and the sand is perfect between my toes. However, compared to our last visit, it seems like the beach is inundated with "party boats". Still had a blast but wish it was still off the map.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JulieBee813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“People Harassing the Wildlife”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Unfortunately, there are still people who think that it is OK to touch wildlife.

One woman grabbed onto a sea turtle, to see if it could pull her through the water. Apparently, see seemed to be oblivious to the fact that she could cause it to drown. Had we not been there, who knows how far this would have gone.

The sandy bottom and warm water was delightful for swimming, but the dead coral made for poor fish viewing while snorkeling.

Having had dived in the Virgin Islands forty years ago, the decline in the marine habitat is saddening.

It would be helpful if people would recognize the fact that the wildlife is not there for their personal entertainment. The declining eco-systems for marine life is making the existence of turtles and fish all the more challenging, thus snorkelers are seeing fewer and fewer of the fish the came to see.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BruceMoosedotCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Breathtakingly amazing place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

By boat it is easy to get to. By land I understand it is a bit of a hike. Either way it is definitely worth it! The beach, location, and views create a romantic backdrop for anyone who wants to relax and enjoy a truly beautiful place.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CallieBanana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level Contributor
412 reviews
179 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach To Spend The Day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

We took the ferry over to spend the day at Honeymoon Beach. We were one of the first ones on the beach. Even with the tour boats coming in for an hour, it was a nice relaxing day. We were able to swim with a turtle that was in the area. The walk to from the ferry and back is not bad but you do have to go up and down hills.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank vacationlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honeymoon Beach also viewed

Magens Bay, St. Thomas
Smith Bay, East End
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
East End, St. Thomas
 

Been to Honeymoon Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing