We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is all about your expectations.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Honeymoon Beach

Honeymoon Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$135.00*
and up
St Thomas Shore Excursion: Reef and Turtle Discovery with Honeymoon Beach
Ranked #7 of 148 things to do in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It is all about your expectations.”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I read reviews about this locale before deciding to put it on my to-do list. It is a beach away from the hordes coming off the cruise ships, but it is lacking in amenities. The water is calm and splashable, but it fell short of what I was expecting.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank semiscience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    123
    33
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Great Getaway Spot”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Only accessible by water taxi (Outside Tickles Dockside Pub in the Crown Bay Marina. The beach photo says it all; but bring bug spray as the "no see-ums" are always out and hungry!
Monday night movie on the beach; Lunch daily; and candlelight dinners on Saturday (great food by Heidi).

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“level set your expectations and you'll be okay”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

we've been to honeymoon beach on water island twice. the first time we visited as part of an excursion from a cruise ship, so we were dropped off right in the water and swam to shore. it was at the end of a full day of snorkeling, and the beach itself was very calm and serene and the kids were able to fully enjoy the "cheerio" (floating tube/dock) alongside local kids from st. thomas/water island. it was definitely a highlight of the cruise for our kids - meeting locals at a very laidback location with nothing to do but swim and play. snorkeling not so great there, but the water was very calm and clear and there was not a lot of sea grass.
for our second visit, we took the ferry from crown bay marina which is $10 per adult and $5 per child, roundtrip (cash only again). this was not an easy marina to find as others have mentioned!! tell the taxi driver that it is near the restaurant Tickles and that might help. taking the ferry over was definitely different, as it's a quick 10 minute ride across the harbor and then you get dropped at the dock on the opposite side of honeymoon beach. to get to the beach you have to walk up a steep hill and down another steep hill (wear shoes!). it's less than a 10 minute walk each way, but do factor in the hills - if you're out of shape, you're going to hate the walk!!!
as far as amenities at honeymoon beach go: there is really nothing there other than a few food stands (bring cash) and a restroom facility. this is the beauty of water island and honeymoon beach -- if you are lucky enough to be there when it is empty, you're basically on your own private island. i will say this: i felt incredibly safe there and would go back again in a minute. it is absolutely one of the nicest beaches on st. thomas, but not great for snorkeling and can be crowded if too many cruise ships are excursioning (not a word, i know!) there.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank da_jm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“If you are on a cruise stop, pay attention to the ferry schedule”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were on a cruise, and we wanted to go to Water Island instead of the crowdy Magens bay. According to the guidebooks, the ferry runs frequenly, but it was not true. We just missed it, and we should have to wait 1 hour and a half hours for the next one so we cought a taxi and went to Magens...
I've attached a picture about the current (Feb 2013) schedule, please check it, before you go to the Crown bay marina. The marina itself is only a 10 min taxi ride from the cruise ship terminal and costs $5 / person.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank domhun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Beach, Water Island,USVI”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were disappointed.. It was like a cross between your local town beach and an basic island beach. We did see the grass umbrella stands but not chaise lounge chairs and being down on the sand meant sand fleas. It felt like we were in someone else's back yard.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy8_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honeymoon Beach also viewed

Magens Bay, St. Thomas
Smith Bay, East End
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
East End, St. Thomas
 

Been to Honeymoon Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing