We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a fun day going to White Bay”

B.E.A.C.H. Getaways and Charters
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: It doesn’t matter if you are looking for Multi Day Charter, Day Trip, or Sunset Sail, we have what you need to make sure that you have The Very Best Vacation Ever.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Reviewed November 5, 2018

Since the ferries were not running over to Jost Van Dyke from St. John yet, we wound up booking Second Chance with a bunch of friends. Captain John and Michelle picked us up at the National Park Dock. They were both very friendly and professional. The catamaran was very spacious so we could all find places to sit without being on top of each other. There are also bedrooms aboard the boat which they mentioned that they also do charters for several nights.

The sail over to Jost Van Dyke was wonderful. We docked in Great Harbour where John and Michelle took us on the dinghy to check into customs. We went over to Foxy's and saw the man himself. We hung out for a bit and then went back to the catamaran.

Then our next stop was White Bay. We swam over where we spent the rest of the afternoon having a few Painkillers. Eventually we had to make it back to St. John. Captain John and Michelle talked to everyone and told us some interesting facts about the neighboring small cays and other islands surrounding the area. They even provided refreshments onboard. If you are looking for a day charter with a great crew look no further then Second Chance.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank NJSusan-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainjohnhale, Owner at B.E.A.C.H. Getaways and Charters, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2018

It was a great day! Thanks for coming out with us and for the great review. Can't wait til the next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"second chance"
in 38 reviews
"captain john"
in 26 reviews
"sunset sail"
in 8 reviews
"bean bags"
in 3 reviews
"hammock chairs"
in 2 reviews
"incredible hosts"
in 2 reviews
"great harbour"
in 2 reviews
"perfect size"
in 3 reviews
"beautiful catamaran"
in 3 reviews
"great couple"
in 2 reviews
"day trip"
in 6 reviews
"comfortable ride"
in 2 reviews
"at soggy dollar bar"
in 2 reviews
"jost van dyke"
in 5 reviews
"great conversation"
in 2 reviews
"snorkeling spots"
in 3 reviews
"national park"
in 2 reviews
Filter

19 - 23 of 68 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2018 via mobile

Had an opportunity to join a group for a day out on the waters around St John and St Thomas. What a fantastic day to break up our beach days. There is something to be said for just being out on the water. John made everyone feel at home and welcomed on his boat. There was never a point in the trip where he wasnt trying to take care of you and make sure you were having a great time. Felt like we could just keep to ourselves or partake in sharing his excitement about the trip. Even with my wife not being an avid snorkeler, we still stopped at some great spots that allowed for some very scenic pictures. Cant wait to get back to the island. Give John a call if you are looking for a fun and relaxed time out on the water.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainjohnhale, Owner at B.E.A.C.H. Getaways and Charters, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2018

We are so glad that you guys had a great time. We look forward to when you get back to the island:~)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2018 via mobile

Had a great day in the waters of the USVI with John and Michelle Hale aboard Second Chance. They were very attentive and made all of us feel right at home. The hammock swing chair on the back of the boat was so much fun, it still has me smiling. When you need a day on the water, I highly recommend this excursion. It was beyond spectacular.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank pamandcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainjohnhale, Owner at B.E.A.C.H. Getaways and Charters, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2018

Beyond spectacular:~)). We are so glad that you had such a good time. It was great having you guys on board! Can't wait for the next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2018 via mobile

We had a great time spending the day aboard Second Chance!! Capt. John & Michelle were wonderful, very easy going & friendly hosts who were highly knowledgeable about the area. The boat is well equipped and they had everything we needed to make it a great day on the water. It was a very smooth ride with plenty of spacious and comfortable seating areas, accommodating our group of 12 with room to spare. They picked us up in St. John and went to several snorkeling spots including an excursion at Honeymoon Beach where there is a small bar that also serves some food. One of the best parts for me was the brief history narratives at each stop by Capt. John, as I'm always interested in learning something new about the islands. We'll definitely be back on board and we're really looking forward to booking a 3 day BVI sail with them soon.
If you're looking to spend some time aboard a sailboat during your trip to the islands, I highly recommend this one!!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Heliav8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainjohnhale, Owner at B.E.A.C.H. Getaways and Charters, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2018

Thanks for great review! We are glad you had a great day. We are looking forward to your next trip out:~)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2018 via mobile

Went for an unexpected sunset sail only to be totally amazed by the experience! We were greeted by cold beers and painkillers and lots of snacks (including my new favorite cheesy croissants). We sailed out and then moored just in time for the most beautiful sunset!

One of the best parts is when the most beautiful and talented, Erin Hart set up her guitar and started serenading us as the sun set in the background! Her music is totally pure and authentic and it set the sweetest tone for the night. She sang all her own original songs about her journeys and experiences in life and living on these beautiful islands, as we watched the sun go down and the stars come, all while drinking champagne on one of the nicest catamarans I’ve ever been on.

Thank you everybody for a wonderful experience!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Damiaaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainjohnhale, Owner at B.E.A.C.H. Getaways and Charters, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2018

We are so glad that you were able to come along and that you had such a good time. We hope you get another chance to come and enjoy another susnet concert,:~). We will for sure pass this review along to Erin!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed B.E.A.C.H. Getaways and Charters also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to B.E.A.C.H. Getaways and Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing