We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, large Wine selection”
Review of The Cellar - CLOSED

The Cellar
Price range: $8 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good food, large Wine selection”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We arrived just as it was opening for the evening, so we had the place to ourselves for a good portion of our meal. It was nice and quiet and the waitress was very friendly and answered our questions about the island, and the life there.

Food was good, but the prices were somewhat expensive. I guess that makes sense since they have to import all their beef and stuff.

Their wine selection is gigantic. However, many of them are by the bottle, which was alittle let down. But we still managed to try 2 different ones, and they were excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lord-xeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    40
    11
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Food in Red Hook”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

I had during here with my husband while in vacation to St. Thomas. The restaurant lighting is subdued creating a relaxing environment. We ordered Cesear salad as a shared appetizer that they brought out on two plates for us. The romaine lettuce was very fresh and the dressing was nice and light. For dinner we had a stuffed Caribbean lobster and the grouper special. My husband loved the lobster and there was plenty of lobster meat. The stuffing was made with shrimp which he said was quite good. My grouper was also very good but maybe a tad overcooked...just a little too firm on the outside. The rice served with it was delicious. For dessert we shared a delicious tiramisu. Wine was nice and the restaurant donates a portion of certain wine sales to local charities so that is always a "win". Service was very good - prompt and attentive without hovering. Very pleasant experience and I highly recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timetorun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
“Do your Taste buds a favor”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Had a wonderful and tranquil meal here. Jessie (Watress) suggested I try the "insane" special-crab and shrimp stuffed lobster tail. I told her 'lets get crazy' and was very glad I did. She was also helpful with dessert and after dinner entertainment. Will be back for sure!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Simply Outstanding!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our group visited The Cellar for dinner while on our recent trip. Lindsay was wonderful. Very friendly, gave great suggestions, and was wonderful. There was also a wonderful team atmosphere, changing out silverware, bringing out the meal, and removing empty dishes as a group between courses. They definitely understand fine dining. The place is pricey and I would not recommend this place for families with small children, but WONDERFUL.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spinthis39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Must go!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Everything here was excellent! Must try truffle fries and truffle mac and cheese! Great atmosphere! Have to go!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Whitney T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cellar also viewed

 
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
 
Bolongo Bay, St. Thomas
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing