We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect way to begin the New Year” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sail with Captain Max

Sail with Captain Max
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Capt Max will take you on a sail that you will remember forever. Sail, swim, snorkel and laugh. A perfect day
Canton, Georgia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect way to begin the New Year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

We booked our excursion on New Years Day and had a wonderful day of sailing with Captain Max and Jordan. She picked us up at the dock and took us out to Lou where we boarded and begin our day of sailing.
Jordan was very knowledgeable about the sea creatures and where to look for them. It was a great day for snorkeling and our 9 and 12 year old loved it! Lunch was delicious, the weather was perfect and the company was great. We will definitely call Captain Max when we return to St. Thomas.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    509
    12
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just do it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Booked through emails to captain. Every thing delivered as promised and more. Will book again and recommend to others. One of the highlights of our vacation.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Spruills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We booked our day trip with Capt. Max on Monday and was on board on Friday. All 6 of us had a great day sailing with her and her first mate, Jordan. She provided lunch and was able to accommodate a delicious gluten free, soy free lunch. Something we've been struggling with this vacation. The conversation was great, snorkeling was great, lunch was great, everywhere we sailed was great! They even provided us with rain jackets when we hit a spot of rain in the beginning. There really are no complaints and I can't wait to come back and sail with her again!
If you want a day of sailing and getting away from the crowds that descend upon St. Thomas and St. John you have to book a day on the Lou.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“go see captain max”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Captain Max has great stories to tell regarding her travels around the world. Fun, nice time, worth the time and money. About 6 hours of sailing between red hook and st. johns. snorkeled at two locations around st johns, nice freshly prepared lunch by capt max herself. Her first mate Jordan was knowledgeable regarding the under sea world.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jayccash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome sailing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

If you want to have a great day sailing in and around St Thomas then look no further. Captain Max and Jordan, her energetic crew will make sure you have a great time. From the smooth saling on board Lou to the yummy lunch and rum punch life just doesn't get any better. That is, not until they pick up a buoy and Jordan leads you to some awesome snorkeling spots. We saw turtles, spotted eagle rays, southern sting rays, lots of fish and even a bristle star fish! My only regret was not booking an additional day!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sail with Captain Max also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Sail with Captain Max? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing