We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and great service”

Jen's Island Cafe and Deli
Ranked #29 of 262 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Cafe, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

What a wonderful afternoon brunch we had at Jen's. The restaurant is hidden off the beaten path a bit, but certainly not too hard to find. It's right in Charlotte Amalie. We sat down and had the curry nachos as an appetizer. I missed out on these, as my friends devoured them quickly, but they were definitely a hit! The food was amazing, and I thoroughly enjoyed the Jerk chicken dish that I ordered, although if you have an aversion to spicy, you may want to stay away. The drinks were good as well. The service though, was outstanding! We were looking for a boat charter for the day, on last minutes notice. Party Marty, as they call him, spent more than a few minutes making phone calls on our behalf, and seeing what our options might be. We saw him do this for more than a few patrons. It's that extra mile that makes me rate Jen's with a 5th star. Plus, I'll definitely be dreaming of the Jerk Chicken that I had. So good!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tjhorner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    95
    16
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
117 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“So Good”
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I found this place while wandering around St. Thomas. It's downtown, close to the water front, behind the merchant tents. I got the veggie burger, which was homemade and absolutely amazing. My husband got the burger with pineapple and teriyaki sauce on it, and he enjoyed it as well. The plantain chips I got were sweet, and that's okay.... Just not what I expected. The ones I make at home taste more like potatoes, not bananas. So hard to find a place that makes their own veggie burgers... Can't believe we found this place in St. Thomas !!!!

Helpful?
Thank MinervaNichole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Absolutely fell in love with this place the minute we walked in!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Our water taxi captain recommended Jen's for lunch while in town the other day. As soon as Cyndy and I walked in, we knew we were somewhere special! Val and Party Marty welcomed us and immediately helped us navigate the menu to decide what we wanted for lunch while offering their knowledge about St. Thomas and the history to this area.

Cyndy had the conch fritters and conch chowder and thoroughly enjoyed both. I opted for a burger, which came with black rum soaked/grilled onions that gave a normal sandwich a very special taste and appeal. It was delicious!

We told everyone we saw heading to town to head straight here for lunch! Thanks guys we really enjoyed our visit in your small but amazing cafe.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just ok - nothing spectacular.”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Food: Had Lobster Quesadilla based on employee recommendation. It was good. Frozen drinks were also good, served in a fun glass.

Service: The owners/employees have a quirky sense of humor. You can tell they are used to the tourist crowd. We asked for the bill and got it 15 minutes later - slow service. They have a pamphlet of recommendations on the island which was helpful - make sure you ask for that. They have wi-fi which was a bonus.

What soured our experience was the built in gratuity. We don't agree with any restaurant making their customers leave 18%. Gratuity is optional, and we decide our tip amount based on our service experience. So, know this before dining at this cafe.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jetsetter5252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great find for lunch in St. Thomas”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Our group was very pleasantly surprised by how good this lunch place is. The grilled fish sandwich was superb. Supposedly, Jen's owner does the fishing each morning. The fries and salads were also excellent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melvyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jen's Island Cafe and Deli also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to Jen's Island Cafe and Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing