We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, pricey. Be careful of additional charges or a slick waiter !!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Havana Blue

Havana Blue
Reserve with OpenTable
Havana Blue is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 259 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Our restaurant combines the warm, rustic culture and robust flavors of Latin America with the exotic spices and tangy sauces of the Pacific Rim. We also provide our guests with unmatched, ocean front views of tropical sunsets and enchanting cruise ships embarking out to the Caribbean Sea. Brace your senses as you prepare to indulge in aromas and flavors like never before. We have over 100 hand-selected premium and reserve wines.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, pricey. Be careful of additional charges or a slick waiter !!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

My friend was correct 'pricey but great so you must go'.
Great menu. Unusual items and flavors. Glad we went.
Waiter recommended I could swap out filet mignon on surf & turf for the skirt steak as he thought it was more flavorful even though a less expensive cut of meat. But failed to say would be an additional charge of $20. So I feel hoodwinked, especially since surf & turf was selling for $78. I would never have let him talk me into it, bringing that meal to $98 !

So while we loved our meal, I left with a bad taste in my mouth. :-(.

Our slickery waiter reduced my rating.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank neicey_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
neicey_girl, thank you for the kind words about our cooking. It sounds like you had a delicious meal and a wonderful experience over all, and we're glad to hear it. We understand how you would feel tricked by your server, however, and we want to apologize for the miscommunication. A $20 upcharge should have been explained clearly and openly when your server made the suggestion. There's no excuse, but please know that our team would never deliberately mislead you. We'll speak with them about communicating extra charges in the future however. Have you reached out directly to our GM to share your concerns? Please don't hesitate to contact us at your leisure!

Thank you for reaching out,
HAVANA BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,435
    492
    232
    88
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average food - overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

We were a bit disappointed with Havana blue - the setting and the service was outstanding, but the food was overpriced and average. We shared 5 appetisers, and they were all unremarkable - too many sweet flavours made them all end up tasting the same.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pipistrello808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dirka808, we appreciate you reaching out about your experience. Of course we understand that our guests tastes may vary, but we'd never want to serve a meal that was "unremarkable". We'd love to hear what you tried so that we can double check those recipes. Thank you for the kind words about staff and atmosphere though; that will not change, and if you find yourself in St. Thomas again, we'd love another chance to impress you.

Thank you,
HAVANA BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Favorite on the Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Our family came to celebrate my daughters college graduation - havana blue was perfection! The stunning view of the water just added to the fabulous drinks and meal- the girls loved the black cherry mojitos! The food was so fun an eclectic - from tapas to dessert- we were loving each bite- our waiter Max was the BEST! His momma raised him right-

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Kimberly, your recommendation is music to our ears! Thank you for choosing us to celebrate such a happy occasion. Be sure to pass along our congratulations to your daughter! We'll let Max know he was instrumental in making your visit perfect. We appreciate your kind words!

Join us again soon,
HAVANA BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

The sea bass was amazing. My husband and sister both ordered the specials. One cost $78 and the other was $98 so you may want to ask the costs ahead of time of specials. The Restaraunt has a great ocean view. The ambience is nice.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sherry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Sounds like we really nailed that sea bass, Sherry! Thank you for joining us and for sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor. There's much more to taste and enjoy, so come back and see us next time you're in St. Thomas.

Safe travels,
HAVANA BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We have had dinner here many times and its always good. Its a little pricey for the portions but the food is great. The Sea Bass, sliders and fish tacos are all good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Glad to have your stamp of approval, Matt! It's always a pleasure to welcome you when you're visiting St. Thomas. Here's to next time!

Best wishes,
HAVANA BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Blue also viewed

Frenchtown, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
East End, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to Havana Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing