We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Havana Blue/Sand Bar Fantastic Experience!! Chelsea Rocks!!!”
Review of Havana Blue

Havana Blue
Ranked #15 of 268 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our restaurant combines the warm, rustic culture and robust flavors of Latin America with the exotic spices and tangy sauces of the Pacific Rim. We also provide our guests with unmatched, ocean front views of tropical sunsets and enchanting cruise ships embarking out to the Caribbean Sea. Brace your senses as you prepare to indulge in aromas and flavors like never before. We have over 100 hand-selected premium and reserve wines.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I recently vacationed for the second time in St Thomas and decided to go back to Havana Blue where we had a wonderful experience three years ago. The atmosphere and decor of this place is one of a kind and one of the best I have ever experienced.

Our server Drew was excellent and we enjoyed the Sea Bass lettuce wraps as a starter. Three years ago we had the Sea Bass entree and it absolutely melted in your mouth!! My Ancho Filet was perfect and my wife decided to go with the Mahi Mahi which was excellent as well.

After dinner we decided to have drinks at the Sand Bar. Chelsea our bartender, was very attentive, informative, and fun making our time there one of the best we experienced while on island. She went out of her way to make sure each and every customer was taken care of and was very helpful with sharing information on where to go and some "must see" things to take in while in St Thomas!!!

This restaurant is a a five star experience in my opinion...don't miss it!!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ToddT707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

ToddT707, your review is such a treat; thank you for letting us know we showed you a "wonderful experience" not just once but twice. It's a testament to how much you enjoyed dining with us to make time to come back again, and we want you to know how much we appreciate it. Drew and Chelsea are both consummate pros; we'll make sure they know you shared some kind words about them on TripAdvisor.

Do you have any plans to make another visit? Here's hoping we'll be on your itinerary when you do.

Best wishes,

HAVANA BLUE Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,742 - 1,746 of 2,493 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Back again this time on business. And Havana Blue never fails to deliver with great food. As usual at the bar, Lindsay recommend another great wine and spectacular tapas. Happy Hour is a must and the sun is setting early. Early birds catch the 1/2 price mojitos!!!
See you again soon. A can't miss on St. Thomas!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amberfish31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Amberfish31, it's always a pleasure to see you! Thank you for making time to come see us and mix a little pleasure into your business trip. We'll pass along the kind words to Lindsay! We appreciate you spreading the word about our happy hour specials as well. Here's to your next visit!

Safe travels,

HAVANA BLUE Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I had the opportunity to have 4 course dinner and it was AWESOME!! Highly recommend! I had the Sea Bass and it was one of the best meals I ever had.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MHobday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

MHobday, there's nothing quite like a four-course dinner at HAVANA BLUE; thank you for taking the opportunity to dine with us and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor! We're thrilled that your meal was "one of the best" you've had, and we'll be sure to pass along those kind words to the whole team. Join us again on your next visit to St. Thomas!

Safe travels,

HAVANA BLUE Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner at Havanah Blue, and suprisingly not as expensive as you would think. There are ony 2 little details that were not so great: 1-There is no a/c so it can get a little warm. 2-Though the service was great staring from the host to the bar and even the server, I did feel a little uncomfortable with server at times, especially because there was physical contact with me when speaking(hand on back or shoulders) which I found inappropriate, especially because I was there with my fiancee. Otherwise everything was wonderful!

Thank NoliM B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

NoliM, it sounds like you and your fiancee enjoyed your evening at HAVANA BLUE overall, but we're disappointed to hear our service made you uncomfortable. Of course, we're sure your server meant well, but we understand that physical contact is an important line we shouldn't cross. Thank you for reaching out about it; we'll make sure our staff maintains proper decorum with our guests at all times from here on. Hopefully this experience won't keep you from visiting us again.

All the best,

HAVANA BLUE Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Definitely a must try place!!! The food was incredible from appetizers to the delicious desserts! My hubby and I ordered tons of food and I couldn't stop eating. Loaded mashed potatoes are absolutely amazing. The service was good. Our waitress was very knowledgeable which you don't get too often anymore. Also it was just nice to see a well put together server cause most of the casual places on the island definitely come with a rough service. The manager was also very attentive helping to pack up the leftovers and checking on us frequently. The prices are on the higher end but we enjoyed every meal we ordered so it was well worth it.
It is an outside restaurant though so the only problem you might have is hot weather but the night we went was very comfortable. Just make sure to wear something very lite.
If we ever go back to VI, we will eat there again....maybe even twice :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MoreKisses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

AminaSansotta, thank you so much for the lovely recommendation. Our goal is to give every guest who dines with us a truly memorable experience, and it sounds like we're hitting the mark. We'll pass along your kind words to the kitchen and waitstaff; they'll be pleased to hear they made your night so special. Should you find your way back to St. Thomas again, we hope you'll make time for another meal with us.

Safe travels,

HAVANA BLUE Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Blue also viewed

Frenchtown, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Havana Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing