We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Can't wait to come back...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Havana Blue

Havana Blue
Reserve with OpenTable
Havana Blue is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 238 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, Spanish, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Our restaurant combines the warm, rustic culture and robust flavors of Latin America with the exotic spices and tangy sauces of the Pacific Rim. We also provide our guests with unmatched, ocean front views of tropical sunsets and enchanting cruise ships embarking out to the Caribbean Sea. Brace your senses as you prepare to indulge in aromas and flavors like never before. We have over 100 hand-selected premium and reserve wines.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing! Can't wait to come back...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Great place for food, drinks and lively atmosphere! Even in the "off season" Havana Blue did not disappoint.
Jeff and Oz were personable and great hosts. Mahi dish is delicious. The Pollo dish is even better.
The best part? The desserts. Great selection and taste. This is my first stop my next trip down.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Algoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We're thrilled to hear that you had such a delightful time with us. The Mahi Maho Mahi and HAVANA Pollo are definitely a couple customer favorites. We'll be sure to pass your compliments on to Jeff and Oz for making sure you received the full HAVANA BLUE dining experience. We're already looking forward to your next visit. See you then!

Best regards,

HAVANA BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,068 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,275
    444
    204
    82
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“EXOTIC CUISINE, EXCELLENT SERVICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I am living in St. Thomas currently, and my mom and sister came for a visit. We wanted a special dinner out together and settled on Havana Blue. Our server, Angel, was awesome. She had incredible descriptions of the food and made us feel welcome. She really knew her stuff!! I have to return with my boyfriend because he missed out on the exotic drink selection, delicious food, and wonderful desserts. We watched the sun go down and a cruise ship take off. The atmosphere was great, as well as the menu, and most importantly, the service. I would recommend this place to anyone visiting for a great meal!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blitzkriegbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
It's an honor that you chose HAVANA BLUE for your special family evening out! We love to see locals bringing out of town guests here, and couldn't be happier to hear that you all enjoyed yourselves. We'll be sure to let Angel know that you appreciated her service, too. Here's to a romantic date night for you and your boyfriend soon! We can't wait.

Best regards,

HAVANA BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Captiva Island, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly Outstanding Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My daughter and I recently stayed at the Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morningstar Resort on St.Thomas. Considering all of our dining experiences in Charlotte Amalie, this was the best. Yes, the food is excellent, and the view of the Caribbean Sea spectacular. But it is the staff that makes this place truly special. Our bartender and our waitress were seasoned professionals, both with a great sense of humor and warm personalities that made us feel like we were regulars instead of tourists. Christine even scared up a pair of reading glasses for me to check the menu after I left mine behind in the hotel! Savanna handled every customer with grace and efficiency on scorchingly hot days in the open-air bar. This place is a must-visit. Go see Savanna at the bar downstairs on the beach and ask for Christine in the restaurant upstairs and tip them well. These are the sort of Islanders Jimmy Buffett writes about, lol...and they will make you feel right at home.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We appreciate you spending some quality time with your daughter at HAVANA BLUE, Sam! It's great to hear that two of you had such an exceptional experience, and we'll pass your kind words on to Christine and Savanna for ensuring that. We're definitely proud of the staff we have here, and we think Jimmy Buffet would enjoy himself, too! Thanks for the delightful review, and we hope to see you back again some time.

Best regards,

HAVANA BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

After eating dinner at a restaurant called CoCoBlue on St. Thomas's East End, we were told the sister restaurant is located at the Marriott in Charlotte Amalie. We so enjoyed the food and our waiter Lee, who was totally helpful and informative, that we immediately reserved a table at Havana Blue. On the beach, blue lit gossamer drapes, and a view to die for.

And, as an added extra, our bartender at Havana Blue was Lindsey. Smart, sassy, skilled and made the evening "pop". This is a must see and must dine restaurant. A bit pricey, but in line with any high end restaurant in New York or other cities.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anniesez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We're thrilled to know that you visited both of our restaurants while in St. Thomas! HAVANA BLUE certainly offers guests a unique experience, and we're glad you had such a delightful time. We'll be sure to let Lee and Lindsey know how much their service was appreciated, and we hope you'll visit us again next time you come to the island. We look forward to it. Thanks for the review!

Best regards,

HAVANA BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danvers, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great for drinks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Great place for happy hour and tapas snacks. We did not eat here, only had drinks. Limited menu served at the bar after 5:00pm the night we were hoping to have snacks there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank rssqr15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
It's great to hear that you enjoyed our Happy Hour at the SandBar! Our apologies if the limited menu wasn't quite to your liking, though. We try to offer an enjoyable selection to snack on while allowing the kitchen to keep up with the orders coming in from tables starting at 5pm. Your feedback is helpful though, and we hope you'll stop by again should you return to St. Thomas.

Best regards,

HAVANA BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Blue also viewed

Frenchtown, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to Havana Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing