We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friends last dinner on island”
Review of Havana Blue

Havana Blue
Reserve with OpenTable
Havana Blue is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 263 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Our restaurant combines the warm, rustic culture and robust flavors of Latin America with the exotic spices and tangy sauces of the Pacific Rim. We also provide our guests with unmatched, ocean front views of tropical sunsets and enchanting cruise ships embarking out to the Caribbean Sea. Brace your senses as you prepare to indulge in aromas and flavors like never before. We have over 100 hand-selected premium and reserve wines.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friends last dinner on island”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I brought two friends to dinner tonight as one was leaving for Vegas in the morning. Wanted an excellent meal,so decided on Havana Blue. It did not disappoint. We were greeted by a friendly hostess, Christine, and sat by Jason, also very friendly. We had a beautiful table facing the water. What a view when the cruise ship left. Our server, Joey, explained the specials and took our drink orders. Drinks came out quickly and were very good. Ordered three tapas, lobster shrimp tacos,ceviche, crab cake special. The tacos were amazing, great flavor and presentation. I loved the special, crab cake, perfectly cooked and sauce excellent. Ceviche was full of flavors and very fresh. We ordered two sea bass and a mahi mahi. Sea bass was so tender and flavorful. Mahi was the best fish dish my Vegas guest has ever tasted and that says a lot since she is from Vegas. Ambiance, best on island, service first rate(Joey), food outstanding,and company the best. Will enjoy many more dinners at Havana Blue.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VegasCraig777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We're delighted and honored that you chose HAVANA BLUE to send your friend off right, Craig! It sounds like you all made the most of your visit with some exceptional choices, and we couldn't be more thrilled to know that our Mahi Mahi was voted as your friend's top dish. We'll pass your compliments on to the staff, and happily look forward to the opportunity to see you all again. Thanks so much for the delightful review!

Best regards,

HAVANA BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,475
    500
    236
    91
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crystal River, Florida
Level Contributor
294 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great Evening Out”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We attended at wedding reception at this restaurant and everything was wonderful. Primer Curso: Tuna Pacifica, Pizza las Palmas, and Tacos de Filet, Segundo Curso: Habana Esalada or Sopa Dele Dia, Terce Curso: Tuna Trinity, Mijito Skirt Stak, Spaghetti y Bolas de Vegetables, and Havana Polo. All the meals were exceptional. My Havana Polo was so large (2 chicken breasts) I could only eat half the meal. The servers were very friendly and attentive. Of course the drinks were to die for! If we came back to St. Thomas I would make it a point to go here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Florence J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We appreciate the detailed feedback on everything you all enjoyed at the wedding reception, Florence. Thanks for sharing that! Something we love at HAVANA BLUE is helping make momentous occasions even more memorable, and we're glad that you loved everything about the experience. Come back to St. Thomas so we have the chance to see you again!

Best regards,

HAVANA BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best dining experience in St. Thomas”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and teo dayghters dine here every time we are in St. Thomas. The cuisine is excellent, especially recommend the Tuna or Mahi Mahi. Service is outstanding, ask for Drew as your server as he is a consummate professional. Overall best dining experience, would recommend to couples and families alike.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RickPerrotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We're thrilled to be your family's go-to restaurant for an elegant evening out in St. Thomas together, Ric! That's a compliment we truly take to heart. Great recommendations, and we'll be sure to pass your compliments on to Drew for taking excellent care of you. We can't wait to see you all again soon. Thanks for the wonderful review!

Best regards,

HAVANA BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Way over rated!!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I decided to give this place a try even after i was warned not to. Now i will say the place is beautiful but the food way over priced for such small portions. And not that good. It's supossed to be cuban food but i don't see how. They have blackbean soup ok....but i seen tostatas which are Mexican, chimichurry which is Argentinean so i think they might be confused. The staff is very snooty just all around not worth the money. There are so many better places to eat while your here. Never again will i waste my money or ever recommend this place!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nikki0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
There does seem to be a bit of confusion here, Nikki. We don't label ourselves as a Cuban restaurant at all. Our aim is "Latin America meets the Pacific Rim." This allows us to blend the unique flavors of different areas into inspired dishes that we're very proud of, and often complimented on. Many times our serving staff are commended as some of the friendliest on the island, as well. It seems as though your experience was very out of character for us, and for that we truly apologize. If there's anything we can do to make this right for you, please don't hesitate to let us know.

Take care,

HAVANA BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walworth
Level Contributor
188 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Excellent Establishment”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We went here to celebrate our birthdays and anniversary and were very pleased with the establishment, cuisine and server-Jason.

This is the islands, so prices will be higher than your normal no matter where you go. Being on an island raises costs, so higher prices should not be a surprise. That being said, a group dinner can be very expensive. There were only two of us so it wasn't that bad.

Ambiance is excellent, you feel like you are on the balcony of a large estate overlooking the ocean. There was no music playing but we were serenaded by the waves washing up on the beach. It was very relaxing!

Jason did a fine job of listing the specials, along with prices, within five minutes of greeting us. How was attentive and friendly. He shared some of his favorites and helped my wife select a fish entree that she really enjoyed. I had a beef dish that was excellent. I enjoyed both the traditional chimichura dip as well as the coconut, that was very interesting and tasty.

We did note that there was a difference in strength of our Mojitos. The first round was normal but the second was extra strength at no added cost. When quizzed about the difference, Jason postulated that the second round was probably an island pour rather than a normal pour. Ok, I'll buy it.

I'd recommend the place to any interested foody.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Walmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
It truly sounds like you received the full experience of dining here at HAVANA BLUE. We couldn't be happier to hear it! Thank you for letting us know how much the two of you loved your visit, and we'll be sure to pass your compliments on to Jason for making you feel so welcome. We'd be happy to see you two back for another romantic evening any time you return to St. Thomas.

Best regards,

HAVANA BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Blue also viewed

Frenchtown, St. Thomas
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to Havana Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing