We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and desert”
Review of Havana Blue

Havana Blue
Ranked #14 of 271 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our restaurant combines the warm, rustic culture and robust flavors of Latin America with the exotic spices and tangy sauces of the Pacific Rim. We also provide our guests with unmatched, ocean front views of tropical sunsets and enchanting cruise ships embarking out to the Caribbean Sea. Brace your senses as you prepare to indulge in aromas and flavors like never before. We have over 100 hand-selected premium and reserve wines.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife and I are from Boston and love great seafood and know it when we taste it. The Mahi Tuna was cooked to perfection (medium rare), and my Sea bass was garnished in a Chilean salsa, and both were simply fantastic. The wasabi mash potato's were something to remember, and our strawberry shortcake desert was to die for. I also want to send a shout out to our waiter Joey! He killed it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank PhilTymps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

We're proud to have impressed a couple of seafood aficionados like yourselves! You really dug into a couple of our best-known seafood entrees and we appreciate the excellent feedback on everything. We'll pass your compliments on to Joey for taking great care of you guys, and we hope to see you again next time you're escaping those cold Bostonian winters!

Best regards,

HAVANA BLUE Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,962 - 1,966 of 2,493 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

Definitely the best restaurant within walking distance of Frenchman's Cove or Frenchman's Reef. We did not have a reservation, but they found a table for us right away. We particularly enjoyed the filet ancho filet. The blend of flavors and presentation was perfect. Wonderful ambience and service. We would go back. As they say on their menu, "you only live once, but if you dine well, once is all you need."

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank soxfan1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

What a compliment! Thanks for naming us the best around. It's great to hear that we could find you a seat without a reservation and that you fully enjoyed yourself. Excellent choice on our Ancho Filet (which was actually featured in Gourmet Magazine!). We're glad we lived up to our motto, and we can't wait to have you back again.

Take care,

HAVANA BLUE Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Eveything was beyond amazing, the atomosphere, the view, I had the pleasure of being right by the window and the sound of the waves was just perfect. The apple martini was a great refresher considering there was no airconditioning, but the fans and openness suited us just fine. Mom and dad got the lobster which they said just melted in their mouths. I could have had the appetizer taco de filet as my meal, it was soo tasty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank tenabeana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

This kind of perfect experience is exactly what we strive for here at HAVANA BLUE! We're thrilled to have you saying "WOW" on your way out, and we really appreciate the excellent feedback. Thanks for spending some quality family time with us, and we hope to see you all again if you ever come back to St. Thomas.

Best regards,

HAVANA BLUE Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This place had some very creative dishes, great atmosphere and good service. And hey... In the Caribbean, good service is great service.

Can't get reservations? The bar and seats behind the bar were almost always empty... So no reservations required.

Did I mention that it's directly on the waterfront? (at Morningstar Beach... great for a walk after dinner or for drinks at SandBar after dinner)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 36RedSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

What a helpful and informative review! Thanks for sharing some information that we're sure others will appreciate just as much as we do. Our focus here at HAVANA BLUE is on making sure the entire dining experience is enjoyable and memorable, so it's great to hear that it shows. We hope to see you again sometime for another memorable meal. Thanks again!

Best regards,

HAVANA BLUE Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Havana Blue at Morning Star Beach: loved the atmosphere and large menu with great selection including tapas, best wait staff on the island (American college students, not the locals that act like Jamaicans quick service, dark and romantic, their sandbar downstairs is great for sunsets. The only thing I didn't like was the obnoxious techno music (trying a little too hard to be cool).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OceanCityLocal01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

We're glad you loved the atmosphere and cuisine, as well as the service you received from our staff! Thanks for taking the time to provide some feedback. The atmosphere we go for here at HAVANA BLUE is one of chic, upscale dining, but we do apologize if the music selection didn't suit your tastes and will take this into consideration. We hope that won't stop you from coming to see us again any time you're back in St. Thomas, though. Thanks again for sharing your input.

Best regards,

HAVANA BLUE Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Blue also viewed

Frenchtown, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Havana Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing