We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst "best" restaurant in st Thomas”
Review of Havana Blue

Havana Blue
Ranked #25 of 275 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our restaurant combines the warm, rustic culture and robust flavors of Latin America with the exotic spices and tangy sauces of the Pacific Rim. We also provide our guests with unmatched, ocean front views of tropical sunsets and enchanting cruise ships embarking out to the Caribbean Sea. Brace your senses as you prepare to indulge in aromas and flavors like never before. We have over 100 hand-selected premium and reserve wines.
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We went to Havana blue tonight expecting a great dinner that would be well worth the price and were extremely disappointed skin every thing from the service to the food. Our waitress was barely attentive and the wait (for food, check) was long. When we were sat at our table we then had to wait 10-15 min just for our waitress to arrive with menus. The food was not good- had a shrimp Caesar salad (with 2 shrimp and soggy lettuce) and the filet mignon. Filet was ok but wasn't a fan of the mashed potatoes or cream of spinach. Also the waitress offered us "tap, bottled, or sparking water" - we asked if the tap water was ok and she replied she wouldn't drink it. We had a bottle of water and then switched to tap and it tasted exactly the same!!! Turns out the bottle was $8.00! I do not feel that I'm a picky eater and I love trying new things and am happy to pay more for delicious meal but this was not worth half of what we paid. The manager knew we weren't really satisfied with the meal and offered to bring something else I might like but I declined- he brought me a different type of potato side dish anyway that was worse than what came with my meal. He was not very nice nor did anyone check back to see if we liked that more. Overall I was just very unimpressed after looking forward to a nice dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank monkees4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Please accept our sincerest apologies that you were so disappointed in your visit. This is very surprising to hear and very uncharacteristic of our restaurant. It sounds like the manager did the right thing by replacing the potato side you weren't enjoying, but we're sorry no one followed up to see if this actually improved the situation for you. We pride ourselves on great, attentive service and we apologize that this wasn't evident on your visit. If there's anything we can do to make this right, please don't hesitate to let us know. This is certainly not the impression we want you left with.

Sincerely,

HAVANA BLUE Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,986 - 1,990 of 2,491 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at Havana Blue which is located right at the end of Morning Star Beach.My friend and I got perfect pain killers. We started with sticky shrimp, Shrimp and sea bass for dinner. We finished off with decadent desserts. Not inexpensive but very special.

Thank KASEY3615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

It sounds like you really know how to put together an enjoyable evening! Thanks for choosing HAVANA BLUE to spend a special dinner together. We're happy to hear that you had such a wonderful time enjoying dinner and the amazing sunset view. We hope to see you again some time! Thanks for the wonderful review.

Best wishes,

HAVANA BLUE Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Fantastic - That is the easiest way to sum it up. The view is magnificent, the food is superb and the staff very friendly. I was there with my family and we were made to feel right at home. Even my eight year old was treated like a special guest. I can't recommend this restaurant high enough. This is a must whether you stay at Frenchman's Reef/ Morningstar or not. Don't miss this fine experience.

Thank madisonha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

That's a one word summary we can live with! Thanks for the fantastic review. We were happy to have the opportunity to take great care of your entire family, and it was an honor to have your little one dining with us as well. Thanks for the kind recommendation, and we hope to see you and your family again if you're ever back in St. Thomas.

Kindest regards,

HAVANA BLUE Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Beautiful restaurant and very delicious food and great service! This is privately owned restaurant what a difference! Jason our server was great! Beautiful ocean views and design!

1  Thank WorldExplorer02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

We're thrilled to hear that you had such an enjoyable time with us. Thanks for pointing out that HAVANA BLUE is a privately owned and operated restaurant, and it's great to know that it makes a difference in your dining experience. We'll pass your compliments on to Jason, and we hope to see you again any time you're back in St. Thomas!

All the best,

HAVANA BLUE Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The bar tenders here are very personable and the happy hour is a great deal. The food truly is some of the best on the island.

Thank Kristy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Kristy,

Our bartenders love mixing up great drinks and great conversation, so thanks for letting us know that you enjoyed their service! We take it as quite a compliment that you name our food some of the best on the island, too. That unique mixture of quality cuisine and great atmosphere is what we proudly call "experiential dining" here at HAVANA BLUE. Thanks for sharing your experience with everyone, and we hope to see you again!

All the best,

HAVANA BLUE Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Blue also viewed

Frenchtown, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
East End, St. Thomas
 

Been to Havana Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing