We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing View, Amazing Service, Amazing Location”
Review of Havana Blue

Havana Blue
Ranked #15 of 269 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our restaurant combines the warm, rustic culture and robust flavors of Latin America with the exotic spices and tangy sauces of the Pacific Rim. We also provide our guests with unmatched, ocean front views of tropical sunsets and enchanting cruise ships embarking out to the Caribbean Sea. Brace your senses as you prepare to indulge in aromas and flavors like never before. We have over 100 hand-selected premium and reserve wines.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wow, if you have not been to Havana Blue in St. Thomas, you have not been to St. Thomas. Every time I travel to the Marriott or Ritz, I always make it a point to eat here at the beginning of my trip and at the end of my trip, I made the mistake the first time and saved it for the last night of my vacation. If there is nothing worthwhile in-between your stay, you will at least be satisfied that your first and last meal saved your vacation.

My boyfriend and I travel to St. Thomas quite often, we have also experienced the SandBar, located directly below Havana Blue, also run by the same ownership. Both Havana Blue and SandBar provide the upscale, perfect food quality, and great service we have grown accustomed to while living in Las Vegas, at half the price and without the pretentious attitude. Our favorite dishes, are many, but we love the Surf and Turf, which comes with an espresso rubbed Filet, to die for, and the Sea Bass, which will melt in your mouth.

For those of you that say, "service was slower than anywhere else on the Island", where have you been eating? The service certainly matches the price, which is quite a deal compared to other so called "upscale" dining establishments.

I look forward to our next visit, if there is only one thing you do while in St. Thomas, Havana Blue is it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VegasCraig777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Our goal at HAVANA BLUE is to always wow our guests and have them leave with a lasting memory of their visit here. It sounds like we made that happen for you and your boyfriend, and we appreciate you sharing that! We can't wait until the next time you two make it back down here so we can provide another lovely evening for you. Thanks again for the amazing review!

All the best,

HAVANA BLUE Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,005 - 2,009 of 2,493 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

A great unique restaurant with a Blue Martini and some excellent tapas and full menu items get there before sunset and ask for a table near the open window area. They have a nice bar and a great atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Frank O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Frank,

It sounds like you know how to plan a perfect evening here at HAVANA BLUE. We're sure others will thank you for the recommendation! Thanks for taking the time to write a great review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit with us, and we hope you'll stop in to see us again if you're ever back in St. Thomas again. It was great to hear from you.

Best regards,

HAVANA BLUE Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Havana Blue is at the Marriott Morning Star Resort, but IS NOT part of that property. It has great service, great food and a magnificent view. Go, GO, GO!!

Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

We appreciate you pointing out that distinction, Patricia! Even more than that, we appreciate your recommendation for others to go go go visit us here at HAVANA BLUE. We're glad to have been able to see you during your visit, and we hope to have the opportunity to provide another great experience again in the future. Thanks for the very kind review, and for naming us one of your favorite places in the world. What an honor!

All the best,

HAVANA BLUE Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We knew from previous reviews that this restaurant was going to be on the expensive side, but it is right on the beach and the view is to die for if you get there around sunset. The restaurant itself is quite beautiful with lots of white lacy curtains and, of course, lots of blue lighting accents. It makes quite an impression.

Does the service and food measure up to the price? Our party of four feels it does.

Our waiter was very attentive without being too overbearing. The cocktails are pricey (around $12), but good-sized and quite tasty. They have quite a selection of mojitos, daiquiris, and margaritas.

My wife decided to have two tapas for dinner and enjoyed her Sticky Shrimp and delicious soup of the day. I had the Mojito Skirt Steak and this was a great taste experience.

Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Brian,

Thanks for coming to give us a try after doing your research. We're happy to hear that we didn't disappoint! We strive for every aspect of your visit to add to the experience of dining at HAVANA BLUE, something we call "experiential dining." We're happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself. Stop in to see us again any time you're back in St. Thomas. We'd love to see you again!

Best regards,

HAVANA BLUE Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Everything here is delicious and up scale. It was kind of pricey and the service was slower than everywhere else on the island. All in all I'd give it an 8 out of 10.

Thank JaKeBrOwN_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the food and atmosphere here! Please accept our apologies if the service was a little slow, though. We take pride in top notch service, so this is definitely rare for us and something we will address straight away. If you're ever back in St. Thomas, we hope to see you again. We'll make sure the service is more prompt.

Kindest regards,

HAVANA BLUE Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Blue also viewed

Frenchtown, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Havana Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing