We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Experience . . After Owner Intervention” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Havana Blue

Havana Blue
Reserve with OpenTable
Havana Blue is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 259 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Our restaurant combines the warm, rustic culture and robust flavors of Latin America with the exotic spices and tangy sauces of the Pacific Rim. We also provide our guests with unmatched, ocean front views of tropical sunsets and enchanting cruise ships embarking out to the Caribbean Sea. Brace your senses as you prepare to indulge in aromas and flavors like never before. We have over 100 hand-selected premium and reserve wines.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience . . After Owner Intervention”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

The circumstances that evolved into our dining at Havana Blue were unique. We heard from many locals that Havana Blue was a "must do" on our trip. One day we decided to stop in and check out the menu. We were told that the Sand Bar lounge served the same food as Havana Blue. We decided to try it since we were in beach attire and it would be a chance to sample some of the menu offerings.

Surprisingly, we were quite disappointed. The bar drinks were very average, and the three items we tried from the menu were not impressive. On top of that, the barmaid was snooty or had some sort of attitude. She certainly wasn't happy about being there and serving us. We left the Sand Bar displeased to say the least. We spent the better part of $100 and felt like we got very little for it. We decided then that we would not be dining at Havana Blue. We had seen enough.

A couple of days later, we got back from St. John on the late ferry and were looking for somewhere to eat in Red Hook. We walked into Coco Blue and they had seating so we had dinner there without knowing anything about the place. The food, drinks, and service were fantastic. Speaking with the waitress, we asked for suggestions of where else we should eat on the island and she suggested Havana Blue. We told her no way, and shared our experience with her. It turns out that Havana Blue and Coco Blue have the same owners. I guess we should have put that together by the naming, but we had been out in the sun all day . . . .

Our waitress shared our story with Steve, one of the owners, who happened to be at Coco Blue that evening. He came over to our table to learn more and promised us a better experience if we would try Havana Blue. We thanked him, but we really didn't want to go because of our unpleasant experience. Besides, you hear lip service all the time. But we did appreciate his concern about our experience and his offer to make it right.

A couple of days later, we tried to return to Coco Blue for another fine dinner, only to discover that it was closed for a private event. But Steve was there and he insisted we go to Havana Blue. So we did.

We were welcomed warmly, seated at a table with a great view, and treated supremely well. This may or may not be how all customers are treated. We very much enjoyed our meal. We tried a variety of drinks from the bar, and they were all tasty.

For appetizers, we had the lettuce wraps and the shiitake spring rolls. For entrees, we had the sea bass and the ancho filet. Both entrees were very good and I would definitely get the ancho filet again. It was very unique with the ancho chile/espresso rub and the side dishes. I did have to send the steak back to the kitchen though to have the preparation repaired. It was not cooked as requested. Happily, they brought it back with fresh, hot side dishes. The steak was very tender and delicious. I cleaned my plate and so did my husband. We also enjoyed desserts of ice cream and creme brulee. It was a very nice meal. The Havana Blue management took care of a considerable portion of our bill.

We sincerely appreciate the effort that Steve put into repairing our opinion of Havana Blue. He is a good manager and really cares about his restaurants and his customers. That's a fine thing to see. He even stopped by the restaurant while we were dining to see how we were doing! He also let us know that he had a meeting with his other owners and had already taken steps to correct some of the issues that we had experienced. We think that's great leadership and we hope that both restaurants continue to flourish and serve great food.

We look forward to returning to both restaurants next time we're in St. Thomas. Thanks for everything Steve!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ljk73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
We truly appreciate you sharing this experience, as this really illustrates our approach to customer service. We take all feedback very seriously and do whatever we can to make a situation right for our guests at both HAVANA BLUE and COCO BLUE. We're glad the server informed Steve of your initial experience so that we could ensure you had an excellent dinner when COCO BLUE was closed for a private party. Thank you so much for sharing your story here. We'd absolutely love to see you again when you return to St. Thomas.

Take care,

HAVANA BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,436
    492
    232
    89
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winterville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great view, ok food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We ate here for a group function. The sunset view was outstanding, offering photo ops for everyone. I thought the food was average, not bad, just not great, but this was a group of about 100. THe atmosphere and service were superb. In fairness to the chef, I would recommend trying this again on a typical night when the premium was not on serving a large group at once.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bigdumbandugly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We appreciate you coming to see us with such a large group! It's great to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere and that our servers took excellent care of you. We apologize that the food seemed just average. Though we pride ourselves on catering well to large groups, we'd love for you to stop in to see us here at HAVANA BLUE on a normal night and let us know what you think about our food. Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We look forward to the opportunity to see you again.

Take care,

HAVANA BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“"Great Experience"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I hosted a rehearsal dinner for our son and now daughter-in-law at Havana Blue earlier this month. I started planning this dinner in March of this year with Lauren, the Event Coordinator for the restaurant. Lauren was extremely easy to work with and always answered my emails in a very timely matter.

The day before the dinner I met with Lauren to look at the space and again she was very accommodating. She assured me she had everything under control and if I needed anything to contact her.

On the evening of the rehearsal dinner and cocktail hour, Lauren was there to make sure everything went smoothly from beginning to end. I cannot thank her enough for all her help and effort. She is such an asset to this organization.

The dinner and serving staff was exceptional. And, the setting was just beautiful!

Thank you to everyone at Havana Blue for making this special occasion so memorable.

The Bermel Family

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KNBDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We're so glad to hear that you loved working with Lauren and that she made the planning process a pleasant experience! We want to make sure that everything is as stress-free as possible here at HAVANA BLUE. We're honored that you chose us as the venue to celebrate such a momentous occasion, and we truly appreciate you sharing your experience here. Come see us again if you ever return to the islands!

All the best,

HAVANA BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
134 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“excellent fine dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Exquisite location overlooking the water. Great menu and well executed dishes. Priced quite high but well worth it. I will come back definitely. Great service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank doctipen17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
We really appreciate you coming to see us while you were visiting! It's great to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of what we do here at HAVANA BLUE. We'd love to see you again any time you return to the islands. Thank you for taking the time to let us know what we're doing it right here.

All the best,

HAVANA BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast USA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Our favorite spot on the island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was our third trip to St. Thomas and every time we make sure to have at least one (usually more) dinner at Havana Blue! The atmosphere is lovely (overlooking the water), the drinks are wonderful and the food, melts in your mouth!

We've loved everything we've eaten at Havana Blue! We ate here twice while on this trip and one time we shared the surf and turf (delicious lobster and an amazingly tender filet!) Desserts are also, of course, divine. Save room!

The servers know their stuff and are very good at recommending what works well with your preferences!

If you have the opportunity, don't miss this spot! We will absolutely return when we visit the island!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sunnyweather25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We couldn't be happier to hear that every trip to St. Thomas brings you back to see us as well. We'll always be thrilled to welcome you back to HAVANA BLUE whenever you visit. Great choice on the classic Surf and Turf, and we're glad that the servers took excellent care of you as well. We appreciate your kind review, and we'll see you next time.

Take care,

HAVANA BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Blue also viewed

Frenchtown, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Havana Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing