We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Meal all Week!”
Review of Havana Blue

Havana Blue
Ranked #15 of 268 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our restaurant combines the warm, rustic culture and robust flavors of Latin America with the exotic spices and tangy sauces of the Pacific Rim. We also provide our guests with unmatched, ocean front views of tropical sunsets and enchanting cruise ships embarking out to the Caribbean Sea. Brace your senses as you prepare to indulge in aromas and flavors like never before. We have over 100 hand-selected premium and reserve wines.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Havana Blue was fabulous! Great food, great service(Linsey Adams was our server and was very attentive and friendly), great atmosphere! My husband had surf and turf which was excelent and I had the best snapper I have ever had! It was cooked perfectly and the sauce was unique and delicious. A little pricey but so worth it! ! If you can go around sunset the view is gorgeous! If you can get a table over looking the ocean the view is hard to beat anytime. Great bar down stairs also! It's a don't miss!! My favorite meal of the vacation for sure!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank gailmI915XB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you to you and your husband for stopping in to HAVANA BLUE! We're flattered to hear that the snapper was the best you've ever had and that we provided your favorite meal during your vacation. We appreciate you providing some great tips for other visitors too, and we'll make sure they get just as much enjoyment out of their visit as you did. We hope to see you again sometime.

All the best,

HAVANA BLUE Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,088 - 2,092 of 2,493 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at the Marriott and checked out Havana Blue and had a great time. I ordered the special which was Yellow Snapper on a bed of rice and tomatoes and my girlfriend ordered the surf and turf. I loved mine, she enjoyed hers as well. Keep in mind Caribbean lobster differs from the Maine lobsters many folks are used to. It's pricey, but that's expected. If you go on cruise ship days you can watch them leave port at night, which is pretty spectacular. It's right on the beach so you hear waves. Great atmosphere.

The real gem was the Sandbar underneath the main restaurant. Great Happy Hour deals... 2 for 1 drinks.... liquor is generally cheap on the island and food is generally more pricey. Danielle served us two nights and she poured a great drink... They have some tapas specials there as well, we actually ended up eating downstairs one night just because. The ceviche is tasty and you can tell its fresh.

I would definitely recommend the happy hour and if you're looking for a nice dinner and don't care about price check it out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Cristian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Cristian,

We're so happy you and your girlfriend stopped in to check us out a couple times during your stay! Great choices on your dishes. We appreciate you pointing out that there's a difference between Maine lobster and Caribbean lobster, as well as mentioning the Sandbar we have here at HAVANA BLUE with great specials. We hope the rest of your trip was just as enjoyable as your experience with us, and we'd love to see you again if you return to St. Thomas.

Thanks again,

HAVANA BLUE Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had the beachside dinner last night. It was fabulous. Our waiter, Jason, was wonderful and made the evening so special for us. The food was fantastic, it was beautifully presented and was so flavorful. Unlike a lot of tasting dinners, these portions were large portions, I ate about half of all my dishes, my husband indulged more than me! We visited during the off season, if you go during the high season and do the beach dinner, I would request a table away from the bar, as it is a great bar but I'll bet it can be noisy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravelerT796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for giving us the honor of celebrating your anniversary with you! We love seeing happy couples here at HAVANA BLUE, and we're happy to hear that you had a magical evening. We'll be sure to pass your kind words on to Jason as well. Come back and see us again if you return to St. Thomas. We appreciate the excellent review. Happy Anniversary!

All the best,

HAVANA BLUE Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

On our first trip to the Virgin Islands, we were truly overwhelmed by the beauty. We were told about Havana Blue by our hotel and after checking out the website and menu decided it looked our style. We were truly blown away by it's location and amazing views. It must be experienced in person, as words can't describe it's awe. Our dinner was quite good. Being on an island, we were expecting fresh seafood and there was no shortage of it. The ceviche and tuna entrees were standouts for us. It was something else that really surprised us, however: our server. She was really engaging, entertaining and knowlegable about their menu. We had already had a few evenings out where we were not blown away with hospitality. Havana Blue provided that, but Chrsitne really took it up a notch. She allowed us to have fun and enjoy our dinner without being intrusive. Her drink and dinner suggestions were spot on. It was a breath of fresh air to experience someone in service that cared about their own service. Without a doubt in our minds, this was the night we truly remember on our trip and would love to do it all over again. Thanks Havana Blue & Christine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jamie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Fernando,

It's pretty easy to get overwhelmed by all there is to see on the islands, isn't it? We're happy to hear that your visit to HAVANA BLUE added something extra to your experience! Christine is an awesome part of our team, and we'll be sure to pass your compliment on to her for the great service she provided. We hope this first visit isn't your last to the Virgin Islands, because we'd love the opportunity to see you again. Thank you for the lovely review!

Take care,

HAVANA BLUE Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

High price tag and low in quality. That was my experience. I seriously do not mind paying the price if the food is good. I ordered a mahi mahi entree and the only thing was good about the dish was the sauce. Fish was too dry (over cooked) and lacked seasoning. Won't go there again.

1  Thank AKrulzNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

We're very sorry to hear that you weren't impressed with the food here. This is certainly not our standard here at HAVANA BLUE. Did you bring this to the attention of your server? We'd surely have taken care of it right away for you to ensure you completely enjoyed your meal. We urge you to give us another opportunity to impress you if you return to St. Thomas. We definitely have what it takes. Thank you for coming to see us, and we truly hope to hear from you again.

Sincerely,

HAVANA BLUE Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Blue also viewed

Frenchtown, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Havana Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing