We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant experience on the island, absolutely delicious and ambience is incredible!”
Review of Havana Blue

Havana Blue
Reserve with OpenTable
Havana Blue is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 267 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our restaurant combines the warm, rustic culture and robust flavors of Latin America with the exotic spices and tangy sauces of the Pacific Rim. We also provide our guests with unmatched, ocean front views of tropical sunsets and enchanting cruise ships embarking out to the Caribbean Sea. Brace your senses as you prepare to indulge in aromas and flavors like never before. We have over 100 hand-selected premium and reserve wines.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Best restaurant experience on the island, absolutely delicious and ambience is incredible!”
Reviewed March 22, 2011

As a friend of the owners, I vacationed in St. John and made sure I got to St. Thomas to visit Havana Blue. The restaurant is absolutely incredible. The food, service, and ambience is one in a million. Beautiful views from the restaurant deck both day and night, hip/sleek atmosphere, comfortable dining room and bar, and the decor is simply stunning. Food is flavorful and delicious (Cuban sliders & mojito skirt steak are a must!!), and dessert choco fondante) and drinks are to die for. Nothing disappointing about dining at this restaurant. If you travel to St. Thomas don't miss out on this gem!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brittanyjade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,509
    510
    237
    92
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Choice for Beachfront Dining”
Reviewed March 15, 2011

We dined as part of a party of 14. Service was exceptional. Food was very good, particulary the appetizers. Wine list was good and I liked they had the appropriate glass for each varietal we ordered. Dessert list was a difficult decision but everyone at our table ended up satisfied. Ambiance is nice with deep blue lighting (go figure) featured. The bar scene looked like it could be fun, depending on the night. Definitely a must visit if you are staying at the Marriott properties.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HStyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
250 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Ranks as one of the finest meals ever”
Reviewed March 10, 2011

This was truly a fabulous dining experience in all ways. The ambiance is wonderful as we were seated with a lovely view of the beach and harbor and dined with a gentle off-shore breeze blowing softly all evening. Our favorite cocktail is the Ruby Roja-a mixture of grapefruit juice, lime, fresh ginger and rum. It was refreshing and delicious! My husband ordered the snapper and I had the mojito soaked skirt steak. Both were fantastic! A real island find!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoAnnW57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okeechobee, Florida
2 reviews
“Great restaurant and beautiful atmosphere!”
Reviewed February 27, 2011

My husband and I ate here a couple of times on our honeymoon. The first night I called and made a reservation telling them that we just got married and wanted a good table. They were very nice and sat us right by the water. Service was great and the view was beautiful. Prices are high like other restaurants, but this restaurant was a lot nicer and food was good. The second night it was different staff and waitor was unattentive, but I would still recommend.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IslandBride11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Total Disappointment!”
Reviewed February 24, 2011

I read all of the great reviews and was excited for a great meal. I have a family of 4. We are used to fine restuarants in NYC and northern NJ in both the moderate and high-end price range. Havana Blue was far below what we are used to. We had an 8 o'clock reservation and even though the restaurant was half empty, we waited more than 20 minutes after our reservation for our table. My civiche appetizer was so smothered in sauce that you could not taste the tuna and shrimp. the lobster tail was cold and when the bill came there was sticker shock - $78 with no warning that this was the "market price." The hanger steak was so steeped in an overly salty marinate that you could not taste the meat. Among the four of us, the only good entre was the stuffed red snapper, which was very good. The atmosphere was also very nice. My recommendation - skip the food and go for drinks to enjoy the ambience, but make sure you dine somewhere else!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NYC-Roc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Blue also viewed

Frenchtown, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to Havana Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing