We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to Find Parking near it but the Food and Ambiance are Worth It”
Review of Virgilio's

Virgilio's
Ranked #9 of 301 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Ambiance is quite unique. An old simple building in a narrow street quaint part of Charlotte Amalie. The restaurant is small and I recommend a reservation.
the Art is for sale but makes the place unique. The food is extremely delicious.
My sister and her husband heard about this restaurant on the flight on the way to St Thomas. We got there on a Wednesday night. We had lasagne, Salads, Portobello appetizer and Moniicotti. The menu states the recipes came from "Grandma" and still done in the same way. We all four were delighted and thought the quality placed this restaurant in the top two Italian restaurants that we had visited in our lives. Two voted it #1 and 2 of us had found one in Koloa, Kauai that Virgilio's was its equal.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank deslagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We truly enjoyed our final meal on St Thomas here. Was recommended by a local and also people we met while here. The service was excellent, personable & considerate and our food was delicious. I had the lasagna which was perfect and came with vegetables. My husband had the veal Marsala which was cooked perfectly and nice slices of veal - tender and juicy. We did not do appetizers or a salad as to not fill up. Regret we didn’t get the lemon palate cleanser due to this as it looked so refreshing but we had the exact amount of food thus no leftovers to waste. Our wine was very nice and they have an extensive list. Cute inside and we luckily found parking right outside.
Only comment for improvement as my husband loves his bread. Provide refills for free on the bread since the slices are small. Otherwise we couldn’t have been happier.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank DishHasPowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

When visiting St Thomas downtown after shopping we always go to Virgilio's for lunch, just cause it is so good. Before going into restaurant power downtown went out, we walked in to very dark place. Thought they would be a little more welcoming, made a comment about candles while being taken to table. He informed me that they didn't have candles only small battery operated lantern. Can't believe a Italian Restaurant doesn't have candles, what happened to romance people. I know all week St Thomas had electricity issues, so odd. Food was excellent as usual, 4 stars for not being prepared.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank AuntieDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2019 via mobile

They like their food a lot! From the price. Was good, house wine good but be prepared. $10 desserts and meals are $25-$50. Service was a lot of folks who didn’t check with each other. 3 stars because for those prices you would think they could keep it cool inside.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank CJwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019

My favorite restaurant in St.Thomas! I love this place. It's a cute little place, wait staff is wonderful. Food is exceptional.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MissJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virgilio's also viewed

Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to Virgilio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing