We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian in St. Thomas”
Review of Virgilio's

Virgilio's
Ranked #37 of 267 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
249 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Best Italian in St. Thomas”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were directed here, off the Main Road, by a local, when we wanted a quiet lunch. Wow! We were impressed. Very good. Great service (remember everything is on lsland time anyway). Fine homemade pasta. Do yourself a favor!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lncclc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    61
    22
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Dinner”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Virgilio's is in Charlotte Amalle and if you are looking for good Italian food this is the place! The neighborhood borders a somewhat questionable area but once inside all is good (except for some of the art - depending on your tastes). Food was excellent and the server was knowledgeable and attentive. This is not an inexpensive stop; so, be prepared for prices at the higher end... We found the food and service at Virgilio's worthy of another visit!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve60845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delizioso”
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Having Italian fare on an island sounds counterintuitive but we highly recommend this restaurant. The food was good and the service was superb. We especially liked the garlic bread, Bananas Foster, and cappuccino. One of the owners was so kind, he walked us to our car. What more can one ask for? S/O to Mathew & Tyrone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaFemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Return Visit- as good as the first time”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife and I revisited Virgilio's in February, 2013, after dining there in April, 2012. It was as great as our first dinner there. Service is polished, attenmtive and first class. The food was superb. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal, and hope to be back for a third time on our next visit to St. Thomas. .

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SKAY18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, MA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant delicious meal”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We had grown tired of island fare so we decided to go for some Italian food. We were the only people in the restaurant at first and only 6 other diners arrived while we were there but our server assured us that on other nights they are filled, even having to turn people away. The food was superb and I highly recommend trying the stracciatella soup which is homemade and delicious. I had the osso bucco which was exceptionally tender and not fatty at all. My husband had the veal saltimboca which he liked but says it's not as good as mine. We had bananas Foster for dessert, which was great and afterwards they brought us complimentary cappucino and that was very yummy topped with whipped cream and a sweet way to top off our meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Ama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virgilio's also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
East End, St. Thomas
 
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to Virgilio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing