We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for Jazz on Friday nights”

Tavern on the Waterfront
Ranked #75 of 262 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Caribbean, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place for Jazz on Friday nights”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We love going to Tavern on Friday nights for their live jazz. Their food is consistenly good and has an interesting mix of offerings from Polish food to Carribbean favorites. Lunch is a nice break from the heat and shopping of the streets, but they really shine at night.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bud-pony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    54
    27
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great views, staff and food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Loved the stuffed lobster. Staff was very knowledgeable about wines, the food, and the island. Try to get a seat by the window.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank dineradventurer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not worth the trip”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Most of the food here is a processed frozen product...my coconut shrimp we had was almost burned on the outside and still cold in the middle...my wife ordered almond encrusted mahi...when it arrived she told me that it was impossible to cut and chew..I tried it and thought it was chicken the owner came out and said it was overcooked...I asked the "chef" and she told us that it is fish but they get it in already cooked and frozen....I had the fresh lobster tail and had to send it back due to freezer burn....the owner is nice and the service is okay but i know they can do better

Helpful?
Thank mickyfiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millsboro, Delaware
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Food and Music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Good place with Jazz music Friday nights. We watched the holiday boat show from there. Good time and food. Theyalso have a lobster special on Wednesdays.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank keith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca,NY,
1 review
“"Looks can be deceiving"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Me and my wife where on a cruise. We where walking around and then this local boy stops us makes us laugh, we both look upstairs we can't see much but windows and a patio he insists that the place has great ambiance so we listen not only is it beautiful inside but the food is amazing. I had the snapper sandwich,my wife had the black and blue burger she said she loved it. We would comeback anytime.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern on the Waterfront also viewed

Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to Tavern on the Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing