We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pass on this place” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Molly Molone's

Molly Molone's
Ranked #55 of 259 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Fredericksburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pass on this place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Went to dinner last night. Food is just average-or below average. I did hear the cheese steak was good but I ordered the fish sandwich and it was really bad.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    204
    99
    38
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dahlonega, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Desperate”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We visited the Island in the off season and were looking for a place near Red Hook to eat at. We decided to try this place and what a mistake. We were promptly seated then wated for our server, after about 25 minutesI went back to the hostess and asked could we get something to eat and she said she was so sorry for the lack of service, she bought over our linen at which we asked her, 'what was good to eat" she replied, (to our shock) that she would not eat much here. Finnally our server showed up 45 minutes later. she stated to us that she just did not see us she looked at me several times as she walked by taking care of the2 only other tables in the place. We ordered bugers very terrible matched the service. Right on the money with the Scull and Cross bones flags, stay away!!!
I know what you thinking, I should have gotten up but we were tired from swimming all day.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MollyMolones, Owner at Molly Molone's, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Larry,

We greatly apologize for your experience at Molly's. Being open for 15 years, the last thing we want is an unhappy guest. We can assure you that this behavior by the staff has been addressed and corrected. In regards to the food, our burgers use top quality Certified Angus Beef and we have been famous for them since we opened. We understand after such an incident you would be angry and put off. Please, in the future, ask to see a manager or an owner so they could hear from you the guest directly, and correct the problem on the spot. Thank you again for your opinion and safe travels.

Thank you,
Molly Molone's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnville, Maine
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Cheese Steaks with an Ocean View!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

OMG - You have to check this place out! Phormer Philly Phanatic Pushes Perfect Phillys Phor Phun Phrom Portside - Seriously. Get there. Order a beer and a cheese steak with grilled onions and watch beautiful sailing and fishing vessels come and go at your feet. This place has a great feel to it and good people. Fair prices and full plates. DO IT!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank F Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MollyMolones, Owner at Molly Molone's, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Tom,

Thank you so much for your extremely kind and honest review!! So glad you enjoyed our Philly Cheesesteaks & Philly Sports atmosphere! Go Eagles!!!

-Molly Molone's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't do it--overpriced for average quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Our first night by Red Hook, we thought, Molly Malone's looked decent enough and good ok reviews, and we were going to be there for 5 days, so why not? We experienced average to slightly below average food that cost way too much. The food was not terrible, but imagine going to Chili's, order a couple drinks, a dinner salad, and fried shrimp and then having an $80+ bill. We just expected much more for the prices that were listed. True, pretty much everything has to be imported to the USVI--meaning higher prices--but go to neighboring Fish Tail and you get much better quality food and better prices. As a plus the servers at Molly Malone's were very nice. We would not return though.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DT_in_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MollyMolones, Owner at Molly Molone's, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear "DT_in_VA",

Thank you for your personal and candid review. We are truly sorry you didn't enjoy your experience at Molly's. Our goal is to have every guest leave with a bigger smile than they came in with!! Unfortunately you left with a frown. :( As a family owned business, we don't like to hear this. We have addressed the problems you presented and appreciate your review! Thank you again "DT_in_VA".

-Molly Molone's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
135 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stumbled upon this restaurant in Red Hook, and ate at the bar during happy hour. Traci was our server. The rum puch was delicious, and I have to admit, the corned beef sandwich was probably on of the best corned beef sandwiches I've ever had. The owner sat down at the bar and talked with us for a bit. He was very personable and answered a lot of our questions about the island. We enjoyed Molly's and would definitely return on our next trip.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MnTLuv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MollyMolones, Owner at Molly Molone's, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear MnTLuv2Travel,

Thank you so much for your nice review!! We do have the Longest & Best Happy Hour in the VI, glad you could take advantage!! We are very famous for our Corned Beef - wether it be a Rueben - with Cabbage - or between two slices of rye bread! Yum!! Happy to hear you got to sit down and talk to one of St. Thomas' famous characters, Frank Brittingham (owner). Not to often, in any business, do you get to interact and chat with the owner of the business. At Molly's this is a daily occurance, we are family-owned and family-proud!!! Thanks again! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molly Molone's also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
East End, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Molly Molone's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing