We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, but pricey”

Mim's Seaside Bistro
Ranked #27 of 263 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Mim’s Seaside Bistro is a beautiful oceanfront restaurant in St. Thomas that specializes in fresh seafood dishes. With house specialties including coconut curry lobster, baked stuffed lobster and conch fritters, Mim’s is a little slice of heaven for seafood lovers. We offer everything from king crab legs and fresh fish to chicken wings and creative pasta dishes. Our two large patios are the perfect setting for a relaxing dinner by the ocean, and our location right on the beach at Bolongo Bay gives us access to the best sunset view around.To get your appetite going, choose from our lobster and crab dip, coconut shrimp or calamari appetizers. For the main event, pick from one of our countless seafood dishes like the Grilled Mahi Mahi, King Crab Legs or Breaded Sea Scallops. For those who don’t particularly enjoy fish, we have plenty of non-seafood options to choose from. Try our stuffed artichoke hearts, fried brie, chicken alfredo pasta or one of our juicy steaks. Enjoy the island breeze while sipping a beer or one of our unique cocktails, from the always-popular Caribbean Margarita to the more daring Sex on the Beach in Winter or Beach Bar Bomber. Make sure to save room for our Key Lime Pie or Butterscotch Walnut Bread Pudding.
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Level Contributor
125 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food, but pricey”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I probably would have given them five stars, but they were out of the small lobster, so my daughter had to order one of the medium ones for $79.95. She couldn't finish it, so a lot of the food was wasted. The view was great, as are most views in St. Thomas, and the service was acceptable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharonRichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    240
    130
    69
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent pasta”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We visited Mim's on the recommendation of our hotel concierge. The seating and view directly along the waterfront was a beautiful and unique setting. Although our waitress said they are known for their lobster, I decided to order pasta. The shrimp and crab pasta with lobster sauce was wonderful and should not be missed. The shrimp were large and flavorful. There were large chunks of crab mixed throughout the sauce. Our waitress was very friendly and helpful. When finished with dinner, the staff called a taxi so it was waiting for us upon our departure. Great service and great food!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wittgrad22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Its a cool little restaurant right on the water. One of my fav's in St Thomas. If you go you must try the Coconut Curry Lobster, its insanely good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJS397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overpriced lobster”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Visited at the recommendation of a hotel employee for a romantic night. Was not impressed by the atmosphere but the view and proximity to the ocean is unique. Because it was our anniversary we decided to order the lobster which was good but so overpriced, $65- $89! Having lived in New England for the last 7 years i can't recall ever spending that much and if you do you expect five star service. Well then after we ordered our wine our glasses were wet, as if just rinsed. The waitress claimed they were chilled but they were not even cold! I would never serve someone in my home wine in those glasses so i was not pleased. The server was great at trying to get us to relax and enjoy ourselves but between the prices and the wine glasses it took awhile. The lobster was good but they did not even provide you with a lobster fork or put the vegetables in a side dish so they do not get drawn butter spilled all over them. They were nice enough to sing for our anniversary but not even the piece of cake was complimentary. Overall a a nice view and good seafood but felt like the prices were not warranted.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leslielee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Shrimp and crab pasta is a must!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This place was recommended by the owners of the condo we rented. Found it on our last night in the islands. Wish we would've found it sooner so we could have visited more than once. Be sure to try the shrimp and crab pasta with lobster sauce!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MeridianMeyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mim's Seaside Bistro also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Bolongo Bay, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Mim's Seaside Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing