We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Selection is everything”

Mim's Seaside Bistro
Ranked #26 of 269 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Mim’s Seaside Bistro is a beautiful oceanfront restaurant in St. Thomas that specializes in fresh seafood dishes. With house specialties including coconut curry lobster, baked stuffed lobster and conch fritters, Mim’s is a little slice of heaven for seafood lovers. We offer everything from king crab legs and fresh fish to chicken wings and creative pasta dishes. Our two large patios are the perfect setting for a relaxing dinner by the ocean, and our location right on the beach at Bolongo Bay gives us access to the best sunset view around.To get your appetite going, choose from our lobster and crab dip, coconut shrimp or calamari appetizers. For the main event, pick from one of our countless seafood dishes like the Grilled Mahi Mahi, King Crab Legs or Breaded Sea Scallops. For those who don’t particularly enjoy fish, we have plenty of non-seafood options to choose from. Try our stuffed artichoke hearts, fried brie, chicken alfredo pasta or one of our juicy steaks. Enjoy the island breeze while sipping a beer or one of our unique cocktails, from the always-popular Caribbean Margarita to the more daring Sex on the Beach in Winter or Beach Bar Bomber. Make sure to save room for our Key Lime Pie or Butterscotch Walnut Bread Pudding.
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Selection is everything”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Well, I guess a filet mignon wasn't the best choice at this restaurant despite the waitress's affirmation that it would be "perfect.", Far from it. Three of us had steak (tired of fish). One of the three was tender. The others had gristle and were very difficult to eat, much less enjoy. The restaurant does sit right on the water, but the lack of sufficient light and ambiance takes this place off my "do-over" list. Others say they've experienced good meals, but I've visited twice and won't try again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susierailroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mimdefreitas, Owner at Mim's Seaside Bistro, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hi Susie,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm truly sorry you didn't enjoy your meal here. While we're known for our lobster and seafood, we try to make sure our filet mignon is just as tender and delicious. Accordingly, I'm disappointed to hear yours was tough. I'll be sure to pass along your feedback to the chef so that we can improve going forward.

Thanks,
Mim, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    521
    252
    132
    70
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mim's Seaside Bistro”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Food is always excellent and the atmorsphere is enjoyable. This time the service was a bit slow, but otherwise we had a great time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Krefty_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mimdefreitas, Owner at Mim's Seaside Bistro, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thanks! I'm pleased to hear you had a great time. We try to embody the best of what St. Thomas has to offer, serving fresh seafood in a relaxed and comfortable environment. Looking forward to your next visit!

Take care,
Mim, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful location.”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We enjoyed our dinner here because the view was so fantastic! THe food was average, but there were a lot of mosquitos.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank KevCher2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mimdefreitas, Owner at Mim's Seaside Bistro, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thanks for your review. While I'm glad you loved our beautiful view, I'm disappointed to hear you thought our food was just average. We definitely try to do better than that! How can we improve? Customer ratings directly affect our business, so we want to do what we can to make sure our guests have a great experience.

Hope to hear from you soon,
Mim, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Wonderful sea side restaurant. Great menu. Can eat expensive or cheap. Something for everyone. Great staff, friendly and helpful.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tinatucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mimdefreitas, Owner at Mim's Seaside Bistro, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed our food and appreciated our warm and helpful service. That's the goal! Thank you for your kind review. I hope you get a chance to dine with us again soon.

Best,
Mim, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great staff!”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The place is a must see! The water was at our feet, Very Romantic
with the sound of the waves and the warm tropical breeze. The staff was very good! They sang happy anniversary to us!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mimdefreitas, Owner at Mim's Seaside Bistro, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thanks Kelly! I'm so glad you decided to celebrate your anniversary with us. Hope to see you back the next time you're in St. Thomas!

Take care,
Mim, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mim's Seaside Bistro also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Bolongo Bay, St. Thomas
 

Been to Mim's Seaside Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing