We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food for reasonable prices on the island...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Green House

The Green House
Ranked #28 of 262 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $35
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food for reasonable prices on the island...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Good food...prices are reasonable, service was good and the view of the bay across the street is beautiful!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharito_Smiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    388
    155
    29
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This place was one of the most reasonably priced places to eat that we found in St. Thomas. What lured us there was the free wi-fi, but it would have been worth it without having it. The food wasnt too bad, me and my husband both got cheeseburgers and fries. Free refills on our drinks was nice. We got a table by the outside so we had a view of the water. It was a really nice dinner

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank beckalaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not terrible, but not memorable.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We came here on our first night. We were hungry and our meals weren't terrible, but the selection was not that great. It is nice that it is across from the waterfront, but nothing stood out. The portion sizes were small. They were running 2 for 1 happy hour- I would suggest coming here for drinks and maybe appetizers.
My wrap was just okay and my mojito had very brown mint leaves in it. My side of plantains was good. Like the title says, nothing memorable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Who Bushwhacked the Bushwhackers?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

After years of coming here, we won't be back. Our customary, celebratory Bushwhacker has been reduced to a Bailey's flavored milkshake. The food is still good although the portions are shrinking and the prices are creeping up. It's become strictly a tourist Mecca, fun but not special.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sugarbirdflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Normal pub food with a view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Ended up here for dinner because most places were closed either for dinner or ran out of food because of the cruise ship tourists. It wasn't a complete disaster.
Waitress was nice and attentive. Probably because we were only one of maybe 10 tables total. It wasn't busy at all.
It has a great view of the waterfront and watching ships deport was amazing with all its lights.

Menu large but not impressive. Didn't try the bang bang shrimp people rave about.
Calamari appetizer is fried to perfection, but its your average calamari. $8 (but -$2 during HH)
I ordered $13 fish tacos: good but not extraordinary.
King crab legs were the Wednesday special $27/lb and actually it was good and meaty.
Disappointed with $23 salmon and the tiny portions of rice and veggies chosen as sides.
Do not order the $30 ribeye. It's actually a size able cut and cooked to order but it not worth it. (But my husband only eats steak anywhere we go.)
2 for 1 drink specials between 4-7pm is a huge plus.
Would I come here again? No, unless its the only place open, but I'd make more of effort to go someplace else.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank chocokat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green House also viewed

Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to The Green House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing