We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy local food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gladys' Cafe

Gladys' Cafe
Ranked #12 of 262 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $18
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cafe, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Try authentic Creole Caribbean and Continental dishes at breakfast and lunch in a colonial warehouse in downtown Charlotte Amalie. Sample all three varieties of Gladys' world famous homemade Hot Sauce - it makes great gifts for your spicy-food-loving friends.
San Diego
2 reviews
“Yummy local food”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Fresh caught fish, homemade rubs and sauces, and great service. Plus it is cool inside (air conditioned and cool stone walls from original warehouse).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ABurcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    987
    489
    158
    47
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Food with flavor, a STT rarity”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

One of two 'authentic' restaurant on the island, its famous for its hot sauce and its namesake who was behind the bar when we visited. Vibe and dining room was more casual than Cuzzins but the service was really good. We shared two dishes for lunch; one great, one not-so-much. I almost hate slighting the restaurant because it was our own mistake in ordering, but still it was on the 'special menu' after all. The Spicy Wings were really, really good, especially after adding some of her homemade hot sauce. We also ordered a pretty poor version of what was what North easterners would call a Lobster Roll, it just wasn't all that great. Again, it was our own fault for expecting anything better than an above average lobster salad.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BBVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We tried the local cuisine while at Glady's. With no cruise ships in town, we were quickly served, and Miss Paulina was wonderful. Good place to try the local dishes - we liked the stewed chicken and fungi.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AB N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Get away from Ordinary to Extraordinary”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Last day of the trip....we had wined and dined all week....and how wonderful to top off the trip with the last stop before the airport - lunch with Gladys! The jerk mahi was awesome....as was the chicken stew. Beware, however, of the hot sauce - there are many flavorings but only one temperature - hot, hot, hot! This was a delightful lunch with a friendly staff....we'll be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MindyGreenville_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Food at good value”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stopped the shopping to have a quiet lunch at Glady's. Reception warm & friendly. Seating prompt. Waiter knowledgable and helpful. Daily made plentiful chunky white tuna on fresh whole wheat; still sizzling grilled Mahi-Mahi on whole wheat bun; chicken stew with generous portion of rice & peas, slice of yam, carrots, potatoes, plantains and a flavorful brown pan-sauce over baked chicken. While waiting for food our ever gracious waiter told us about the history of the building's walls, probably dating to the 17th century.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FRD24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gladys' Cafe also viewed

Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
 

Been to Gladys' Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing