We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food! Nice local 'flavor' and ambiance.”
Review of Gladys' Cafe

Gladys' Cafe
Ranked #13 of 263 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $18
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cafe, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Try authentic Creole Caribbean and Continental dishes at breakfast and lunch in a colonial warehouse in downtown Charlotte Amalie. Sample all three varieties of Gladys' world famous homemade Hot Sauce - it makes great gifts for your spicy-food-loving friends.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food! Nice local 'flavor' and ambiance.”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We had breakfast here. The French Toast was very yummy. This restaurant is located down a quaint and picturesque alleyway. The atmosphere is lovely with exposed brick and local pictures on the walls. The bar area is beautiful with polished wood and bowls or trays of fruit and peppers and vases of local flowers. Staff were very friendly - especially Pauline! The prices were reasonable for the island.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amomofone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,002
    496
    160
    47
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food, great staff”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We came here on a recommendation from our local taxi driver. When we arrived we noticed the prices were a little high but decided to stay as we wanted something local. Any concerns about the price were set aside after trying the food. We had conch fritters along with wonderful chicken curry. The hot sauce is a must try! in fact we bought some to take home with us!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oostevey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US Virgin Islands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Island specialties and more.”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

On a busy cruise ship day you will be lucky to get a seat! Family owned and run, you'll likely hear Gladys herself belting out a show tune or popular song as she works in the kitchen or serving up her island favorites. Locals and visitors enjoy everything from cheeseburgers to conch and my favorite, chicken Roti. This could be the happiest place on St. Thomas.

Helpful?
Thank PivoRox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central coast california
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Costco food, strong bloody marys”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Went here for brunch looking for some local food. This was not it. Had a salmon sandwhich much the same as the costco salmon patties you find in the frozen section. Supposedly famous bloody marys, had no fantastic flavor just a lot of vodka. Skip this place if you can. Service was great though, very good people working there.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deana c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Illinois
Level Contributor
163 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Well recommended”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Excellent food, quaint surroundings, friendly staff - great vibe and value!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank funfamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gladys' Cafe also viewed

Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to Gladys' Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing