We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only one block away ("Back Street") ...”

Cuzzin's Caribbean Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #13 of 267 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Only one block away ("Back Street") ...”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

A local police officer recommended eating at Cuzzin's. It was very convenient, one block from the busy shopping street. We took the cab downtown and walked around the area before eating. I had the jerk chicken plate with fried plantains and cole slaw ($13). My friend had the chicken salad sandwich ($10.75). Servings were generous and my meal hit the spot!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frida_Cu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    230
    50
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good place to try local food”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

This is a cozy restaurant, clean and fairly small. I had conch in butter sauce, fried plantain, and fungi. Delicious! Try the rum cake too. Yum! Pleasant atmosphere. The only drawback is that they are only open until 4:30 PM on weekdays and closed on Sunday.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Selena43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Caribbean food”
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

Our taxi cab driver had recommended cuzzin's to us as we were looking for more authentic food around the island. We went inside and the decor is pretty outdated, it was empty, only another table was occupied. We ordered the house special which was conch and shrimp in creole or curry sauce. We ordered it both ways and both were pretty flavorful. But felt the portions were on the small side. The potato salad, peas and rice and okra and corn meal side were pretty good. It was a bit pricey, over $20 per plate, but it's pretty average for st. Thomas. Overall, we enjoyed our food, just wished there were more shrimp and conch in our order. Oh, we also ordered the conch fritters, and could barely taste the conch, wouldn't order again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenz_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloxom, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Lunch/Cute Place”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Eight of us had lunch at Cuzzin's on Wednesday and enjoyed a variety of items; however, we believe the jerk chicken wrap was THE best! Even the hamburgers and club sandwiches were absolutely fantastic! The restaurant is very cute on the inside and very clean. Staff was very friendly. Would definitely go back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KHall62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good eats”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Staff is nice my waitress was very pleasant. Good foods authentic jerk chicken is great feels good to be in another country and people treat you nice. Will be back again one day

Helpful?
Thank Jordan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuzzin's Caribbean Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to Cuzzin's Caribbean Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing